If you see a job that needs doing..
Don't think that's an accurate assessment, in the 1960s farmers were jailed for illegal acts during a campaign of blockages, where roads and bridges and other places were blocked, but eventually the farmers were freed and the minister replaced and dialogue opened with protesters. Mm is sailing very close to the wind having lost some support in the party from a fumbled presidential election campaign, really showing his calibre in how he is/has dealt with these issues.
No roads or bridges were blocked in the 1960s. People walked to Dublin from different parts of the country. Some of the leaders sat on the steps of the Dept of Ag. That was the nature of the blockade.
That us complete bullsh1t. I witnessed it myself. Away with the lies.
all the bridges over the shannon were blocked here.
https://r.search.yahoo.com/_ylt=AwrkLfoG6dhpu80ZKuBB4iA5;_ylu=Y29sbwNpcjIEcG9zAzcEdnRpZAMEc2VjA3Ny/RV=2/RE=1775851910/RO=10/RU=https%3a%2f%2fwww.irishtimes.com%2fnews%2ffarmers-militancy-reached-peak-after-haughey-became-minister-1.120278%3fmode%3damp/RK=2/RS=0bh4RlWL2Rk1u5UFkPkzuwF7Z9w-
Came in for dinner and there's 100 new posts on the protest thread...
Totally highjacked by unknowns.
Last word on this.
I've been a poster on this thread and forum for several years. Im a farmer and bus driver who depends on fuel as much as any of Ye.
I believe i have previously posted about my daughter who came within hours of death from sepsis in 2024.
She is due an operation in Crumlin Hospital early next week. An operation we have been waiting for since she was 4.
If she misses this over this blockade that most of you here seem to be supporting, I'll curse every single one of you the rest of my days.
I'm 273 km from Crumlin and no filling station within 2 hours of me has fuel.
Fcuk ye. Ye utter cnuts. Ye have fcuked us all with yere stupidity.
Pain In my head reading it earlier. Same shite being spouted about grants etc
If you’re travelling the N21 to Dublin for your daughters appointment don’t be stuck for diesel, send me a message on this before you leave and I’ll sell you a tank of diesel to make the journey, you can have it for what I bought it for it a month ago which is a hell of a lot cheaper than it is at any pump in the country right now, don’t be stuck
Likewise, if yer on the Limerick/Portlaoise road I can top ya up too
Alan Gillis was jailed for blocking the road with his combine, not saying he is an idol to aspire to
2 questions I have as the other thread is a bit high jacked at the minute.
We have 1.68millon tonnes of refined oil in storage with NORA in various locations throughoutvtje country from Derry to Shannon to as far away as Sweden.
How come there is nobody asking why this isn't being moved through Dublin port or northern ports?
Secondly...listening to MMartin on Radio 1 earlier he said what's going on at the minute & in particular at Whitegate we are on a precipus re oil distribution.
Outside of protests if there was a major functional issue at Whitegate & it lasted 4 days would we be in a similar position(taking into account the galway/foynes blockade as well??
Something not adding up here
If this was me I'd check in to a local hotel the night before the operation I am sure there are trains available,I would do this even if there was no fule shortage it just makes it so much less stressful on every involved.I hope it goes well for ye.
I’d be thinking the very same as yourself. And the same with the likes of Roches feeds, at dinner time Wednesday they had no feed left for their customers because of a protest that only started 30 hours before that. Surely they can’t be operating a business with only 1 days stock in front of them? Ships get delayed all the time with storms and could be delayed by weeks sometimes, surely Roches aren’t closing their mill any time a ship would be a day late? If so I certainly wouldn’t be using them for feed if I was in that area, shur you couldn’t depend on them.
there are 560 new texts on protest thread since I last looked at it probably Wednesday evening. I'm just leaving it to see how many more go up
Safest opinion by far
Your Not too bad as I have to look through it. 😅
Thank god its a wet day
You'd want a box of panadol when going on that thread
Ahh having Cork, Limerick and Galway all closed at the same isn’t something that could have been foreseen. I wonder is there much Garda presence in Dublin port to protect it from being blocked ?
I take that but it doesnt answer either of my questions
Thinking of opening a bottle of wine later and bracing myself for reading it
A great spokesman to help the cause;
Fùcking cowboy
sstick to the protest thread thanks.
Why would you bother your head reading mindless drivel from nutcases. One clocked in yesterday morning hammering away at a keyboard all day long into night like an angry lunatic, still there today, clocked in a bit later exhausted from all that effort yesterday.
I only read posts from our own crowd, disregard the rest.
I think the mods wouldn't go amiss on some bans there. Agitators calling all farmers everything from scum to c*nts and wishing death. You can't debate with that attitude
If oh was alive he'd be loving the protest, The traffic groups on his WhatsApp would be hopping.
Am on a traffic group that is combined with 14 others, once you post it's copied to the other groups, not a peep from anyone against the protest, plenty of townies on them.
Was in the sauna just there now on the way home from work there was two women from the town there and they were commenting on the stupidity of some of the comments from the people against the protests and farmers. Heading for a walk now to loosen out and and im parked up in a small carpark thats usually full of cars from people only within walking distance who come here with the dogs for a walk.
If anyone listened to that podcast I suggested in the last few days about the canadian trucker protest well there's another big similarity drawn here today. The Canadians had a go fund me set up to feed the protesters at the time too and it got frozen back then too the same is happening here now too.
What go fund me account has been frozen?