New thread as the last thread seems to be broken.
a glib comment. “Master plan”.
Things happen in the game. Parrott might have picked up an injury and had to come off and hence be unavailable for the shootout. This is about preparation for the penalty shootout to minimise luck and nerves affecting the shootout as much as possible.
I don’t think we were as well prepared as possible for that penalty shootout and my point really is about those who claim that practising for penalties wouldn’t have made any difference is completely wrong.
No you missed my point.
Joe Brolly was a spoofer when talking about his own sport never mind other stuff. I would have about as much interest in the opinion of someone quoting a tabloid. Just another say whatever for the clicks chancer like Keane.
So you're dismissing the argument because it came from Joe Brolly? Well Dion Fanning was in agreement with him on the point in question if that makes any difference to you.
You do know that sometimes someone you normally disagree with can make a point that is valid and you might actually agree with?
Stuart Pearce was on talkSPORT the other day talking about Englands prep for penalties . Basically they’d have an order from one to 23 (ish) of penalty takers for a knockout match so none of this decided minutes before the shootout. He also stated that the first and fourth penalties are where you put your strongest takers
People can have whatever opinions they like and disagree if they like because they don't like Joe Brolly or something etc etc.
In my view we weren't applying best practice here in preparation for the potential penalty shootout that may have been required to decide the outcome of the tie. Most people that I spoke to before the game were predicting the likelihood of a penalty shootout. I was one of them and was hopeful that in that scenario we had a goalkeeper with a strong record in penalty shootouts and that would be pivotal. He did perform well in the shootout but unfortunately not enough of the other players were adequately prepared.
By all accounts from what was said before the game when questions were asked about preparing for potential penalty shootouts, it was a clear failure in my opinion to adequately prepare for the potential penalty shootout.
I'm hoping lessons will be learned about it and the press need to question the manager about it as the Euros approach in the event we are likely to be playing ties that could result in penalty shootouts.
Not good enough these days to come out with stuff like; "we asked the lads who fancied taking one …and off we go.."
Kelleher saved 1 of 6 penalties and it was a poor enough one. It wasn't great by his standards.
He obviously didn't practice as much as the Czech keeper who saved 2.
He saved 1 of 5. He got close to saving another one at least. He played well in that shootout, he was our biggest asset going into it and he put us in the driving position.
Taking penalty advice from the England national team would be like asking the Irish rugby team for advice on how to prepare for a WC semi final match.
As things stands at half time the U17s will top their group and qualify for the Euros and WC I believe. They're 4-0 up against Slovakia and Poland are currently beating Croatia 1-0. If Croatia avoid losing the 4-0 win could be enough for Ireland to make the WC as one of the best runners up in qualifying.
On a different topic, in case its his last game we really need to raise the roof for Seamus Coleman tonight. What a player and what might have been for him.
U17s are 7-0 up but it's 1-1 in the Poland Croatia game.
Looks like we are going to world cup after all....
that’s a fair point given their record 😆.
Still I think it’s important to try to modernise and keep up to date with how teams prepare for all eventualities including penalty shootouts which are common place occurrences in knockout games in tournaments and play offs which we hope to be involved in.
Agreed he’s been a great player though I imagine there will be a send off appearance for him if there’s any friendly matches scheduled soon?
Yeah finished this way in the end. Was hoping for a late Poland winner. Qualification for the Euros is tough now that they made the tournament smaller.
Limerick lad Cillian Murphy with a hat trick in the big win. Highly rated midfielder whose starting for Cork City. Fingers crossed he adds himself to the list of Limerick lads to make a senior appearance with the national team.
I think its the 4 best runners up so if thats true we have made it. Dont want get hopes up though. I wait till I see it confirmed officially.
Yup it's the 7 group winners and 4 best runners up so we've qualifed again for it.
Surely if Coleman was retiring he would have announced it before the game. There'd be no empty seats if he did announce it.
Never wanted to go to USA anyway.
Qatar is where its really at.
Team named
Would have liked to have seen a couple of debutant starters but decent team all the same.
U21s won 1-0. Oisin Gallagher scored a last minute winner for the U21s in Kazakhstan
Looks like they won 7-0. Gerrup.
Cause the other 4 Czech pens were of a much higher standard so of course he wasn't going to save them. He saved the one that was as **** as Browne's pen and Azaz's pen
Which was the one Kelleher got very near to saving? He went the right way. Anyway as far as I am concerned he did his bit saving one. Giving Ireland the advantage and psychological advantage until it was squandered.
I don’t think it’s any harm naming a strong side. Try and get last match out of system. I believe HH said it is like after a car crash. It is best to get back driving as soon as possible.
Everyone else just getting Aslan on the TV ?
Very cheap shot, how has the football team got on at WC, making it to the finals any time soon.
Can't take Kenny Cunningham already…
Teams allowed to make 11 subs.