New thread as the last thread seems to be broken.
Thought we looked dodgy anytime they got a decent cross in especially from a dead ball, good few times we let the ball bounce around the box and it broke our way, we were completely at sea for the final passage of the 90 minutes and should have conceded there. The goal was coming, we came out flat in the second half.
I thought Parrott was poor. I know he scored the two penalties but he seemed well off where he was the last too games.
Going a little far cheering on England there
He made us equals of the Czechs and Hungary. Despite what many stuck in the past think we were way behind them the last 10 years.
He beat Portugal when before we got moral victories.
36 years later Dave O'Leary penalty was the greatest , pens are a lottery , but that night was also one of the greatest .I'm old now, but great memory, tonight is the other side.
I was talking about his interview and how he conducts himself.
I agree he Didn’t have his best game but he scored both penalties.
A good question
A tough night for everyone. I have to say though those Czech lads are a textbook example of everything that’s wrong with soccer….corrupting and cheating….what a bunch of pr2cks. The ref was a waste of space.
Wasn't he the ref we had vs Portugal?
Zero service. Up front on his own
How so? Would Roy Keane accept a performance like that? Football is about winning.
He's actually missed more than he's scored, 2/5. 4 of themwere 8/9 years ago. I would have had Jamie McGrath in the squad. Probably one of only two players that actually takes penalties at club level and has a very good record.
He never got a chance he is an forward that was back defending at times. He also nearly scored if it went in people would be shouting about him from the rooftops.
I know he scored most of the goals in the last matches but he was well defended too because of that.
Did you see that ludicrous display last night..
father teds team would have done better,
Never mind add. He should be near top of that list. He is sk important for us.
And tbh I'd say Roy Keane would have been a lot happier with that performance than quite a few over the past decade or so. Was a good physical all effort showing.
Why would you care about what Roy Keane accepts or doesn’t accept? He’s the first and last man to walk away from a World Cup with Ireland.
The ref was really poor.
1 yellow card for Czechia, they should have had at least 6 or 7. They were overly physical and persistently fouling.
Stop would ya
Its about getting young lads proud to wear the jersey again. To even dream we could go to a big one.
Stop comparing our sport against a sport that has to change the rules to make people watch it again
Em 😆
I will say Coleman, O'Shea, Ogbene and Molumby were all excellent tonight, and gave everything.
Anyone giving out about the ref needs to look at our peno.
Felt the exact same.. minutes before he was taken off Molumby burst down the left past a few players, he had plenty left in the tank. I thought it an odd substitution.
Ultimately, the cold hard truth is that we were 2-0 up and couldn't see it home. We were the better team but they were better at the dark arts. It's a hard one to take.
exactly. And the reality is while we don’t have the most technically gifted players they will always give their best. They will go down fighting. people calling out certain players is pointless, all the players tonight wanted to win more then anything. The Czechs were just better then us and we have to accept that.
Ok maybe I’m hard on the ref…but lads flaking down and rolling around when they have not been touched. Have they no pride? Thank god we have our own national sport in this country. I feel sorry for our lads tonight but we are a small cog in a corrupt machine.
Roy Keane talks bollix
Yes he would because Roy Keane lost out on qualification in 96, 98, 00 and some of them with worse loses and worse performances.
He accepted an awful lot of utter shte performances in his brief and mostly failed attempts at management too.
I think it was soft and would be disgusted if it was given against us, but it was a penalty in this weird “change the rules every few weeks” sport.
VAR felt it was worth a review and ref agreed , I’m not sure why some of you think it was such a questionable decision, it was a penalty , it shouldn’t be but that’s a penalty in modern game.
I get the frustration, but not the negativity.
First 25 minutes we were immense. Stupid penalty to concede thereafter but held out well for the remainder of the half.
Second half, we sat back a little too deep, very little outlet when in possession, but coped well with any of the Czech attacks. We hit the bar, the post, and ultimately a poorly defended corner costs us the win.
We had so little options off the bench to turn the game in our favour. Coleman looked absolutely exhausted but continued to defend well but didn't have the legs to help out with any counter attacks so we were left bringing on centre back to replace him. I would have gone with Knight on for Taylor, and Szmodics or Vale for Ogbene but I doubt it would have made too much of a difference. Asides from that there wasn't many options left to choose from.
We where away from home against a team very much similar to ourselves in quality, in a stadium that was electric with home support. We did ourselves proud, could have done things slightly different in terms of subs, but ultimately it was a fair result combined with the coin toss of a penalty shootout. We will approach the Euro qualifiers in a much better spirit and confidence that what we started this campaign with.
I hate those pens, but in the modern game with VAR they are pens. Andy Robertson gave away an identical one against Brighton, just clipped the underside of Welbeck's foot. He actually gave away a somewhat similar one on the ground against Southampton as well (Dibling i think it was). If you kick out for the ball but don't get it and clip the man, they tend to be given these days.