Talking to a man this evening, he has cattle to go so the procruitment manager came out to him with the agent, 3 weeks before they can take his cattle, he asked what the price was, he was told you will get the price that’s on offer the morning your selling
Nobody should be under a the spell of a factory. A farmer works hard to get his animals to slaughter to be told that with a dog ignorant manner.
Id be telling the procurement manager where to go. Life too short for that craic.
Cheap New Zealand beef is flooding the UK market at present, its the 'new Irish' of the European trade and its being driven from Ireland. They using it as the engine room to drive down the price of European beef.
Was this always a danger of brexit?
This SHOULD be a temporary reprieve.
Last weeks 31000 cattle kill dropped 1k from the week before the week before had dropped 1k from the previous week is this a true reflection of what cattle are available ?, last week had a bank Holiday but should not affect kill figures as several factories only doing 2 or max 3 days anyway these are very small numbers for March. Better weather for next week will create more competition for forward cattle in marts and lads will get far more in marts for not fully finished cattle than factory option
last 2 of my heifers went yesterday, U=2+ @ 7.10 and R+4= @ 7.00 flat priced…disappointing is 1 word but no point dewelling on it
See the thing is the weekly kill figures are no longer a viable barometer, its whats they are importing in carcass form is extremely important and we need to get those figures.
TThey controlled the lamb price by importing too until recent years.
That's what the farm orgs and media need to dig into and a properly worded dail question for the minister might get us somewhere but we need the names and location of the factories involved
Under 30?
Exactly. I'd have little interest in them number unless they drastically either side of 30000
yup
Plus we need information on labels after all these are Bord Bia approved plants.
See 10c being shaved off the hereford bonus in a sly guise by the factories same as the aa bonus.Will be a handy average €30 per head saved for the factories.
And the society will still take there levy for every carcass. Not going to end well a lot of money tied up in cattle in lads sheds for the sky high prices last year.
Its not going to end well 😕
One would be tempted to just carry the minimum stock to get the farm payment.
& still its not having a negative impact on He/aa out of dairy stock at mart trade.
I'm looking at suckler bred weanlings making the same as 300 kg HE/AA dairy cross
From what im seeing at sales alot of farmers are more focused on getting the stock bought than worried about the profit margin they will leave.
No other business would operate like that.
The societies may reduce their levies or people stop giving permission to the factories to take them. The societies would be only a small parish fund without those levies and they must not be let forget that. There's huge ammunition out there to put pressure on this massive raid we just need to be imaginative.
Recently yes re the grass men..but Im watching this since start of year
Its across the board from the calf ring to the regulator sales.
I bought calves off a dairy farmer a while ago who had a farmer ring him enquiring about his calves after we had done a deal.After it was explained to him during the phone call that a deal was done with myself for the calves and none were available after which a text was sent to the dairy farmer 10 minute later stating that "im off work for the week,Ill give you 50 a head more than that other man on whatever you delt on if you can put him off,Want calves sorted before i go back monday week"..thankfully the dairy farmer was a straight lad and didn't entertain it.
Bad enough battling the factories without other farmers
Good to hear he kept his word
Tis many a fook that would have taken the 50 extra
How could the buyer be that desperate. Fair play to the seller. He would never make it it as a house Auctioneer !!!!! ( thankfully)
The whole good is gone out of it. Factories are a shower of cùnts. Interest is waning
got to say I’m losing interest fast also. Working non stop for the last few years for no return first spring due a return don’t get the full benefits and of it. And all money was to be reinvested. Will be aiming all suckler calves going forward for the export market. Not interested in Irish market anymore. Exports go so will I
Yerra I stick at it, I think I will stay away from sucklers for another while. System working away ok, lots telling me I am a soft seller or I am at nothing. However it seems to work ok for me
Ill stick with mine too but foreign beef processed in irish factories to displace Irish beef in the same market would make anyone sick. They are ruthless, they wouldn’t have their fancy houses, big cars and endless investments without us the Irish farmers.