If you see a job that needs doing..
it’s a mansion and would cost well over 1million to build these days.
Feel no sympathy for them. They did it all by design through pure hubris.
Unlikely if the only grievance is starting 4 weeks early, I'm sure there are much better examples around the country you could pick from.
The couple in question knew the land in question would never get planning permission, yet still applied and failed several times and then went ahead anyway.
yes not the same and like i said the couple have not covered themselves in glory… the wife has said too much and would be better to keep her big mouth shut…
but there are plenty of buildings across the country built without any planning and there are buildings not being used what they are supposed to be used for according planning permission when are they going to be knocked down… why is this house the only one being knocked…
again can anyone tell me was the conference centre in citywest demolished…???
According to the article he was granted planning though, just started building too soon…
The owners of the house in Bohermeen were refused permission several times and were aware they were going to be before they purchased the land but built anyway, it's not exactly the same is it?
big difference between getting planning permission but not waiting the full 4 weeks afterwards and being denied planning and building a house twice as big anyways on land with a sterilisation order on it
one is wrong but the other is much worse
@awaywithyou there has to be some form of law and order. I am involved in planning applications on a regular enough basis & I know how silly the process can be, pre planning meeting telling you all is lovely, then when you apply, you need to better prove your local needs, the house now doesn't meet the rural housing design guidelines, they require a flood risk assessment even though its on the side of a hill, they are also afraid it could impact some senic views so can you submit a number of photo montages to show how it will sit into the landscape & finially they might also look for an impact assessment on the local river that is miles away from the site, it seems Council can put you to endless expenses just on the whim of a planner.
But everyone who builds a new house has to go through this process. So there cant be any ruling that says this poor family decided to build a house 3 times the size of a normal house so we will tell them they were bold and let them away with it. It would create mayhem.
They also disobeyed a court order, similar to the Burkes, weather you agree or not, court orders are to be respected, like whats is the difference between these court orders and one that maybe in place to bar an abusive partner from a house.
The second thing regarding this house is it probably cost the best part of €1M to build.. what bank or institution funded that without planning permission been in place.
can you tell me cos i cant find it anywhere that he did.. did jim mansfield actually ever flatten his conference centre?
https://www.irishexaminer.com/news/arid-10058808.html
https://www.irishtimes.com/news/partly-built-citywest-centre-to-be-demolished-1.1009584
But They had no permission to build there, doesn'tmatter where it is, if it was let stand everyone would be building what they like where they like....
now i dont have much sympathy for the couple as they havent covered themselves in glory.. but i think a couple years in jail would be better.. this house is way off the beaten track… down a side road in bohermeen which is a very rural area.. i remember trying to find the GAA pitch in bohermeen many moons ago and got lost numerous times..! if this was built on the Trim Navan road then yes tear it down but i think where it is leave it standing…
have to say we live in a very very strange country.. you really have to be very unlucky for something like this to happen you.. we all watched how Larry Goodman who got into debt to the tune of 460million quid got bailed out by the govt of the day… 460m was some amount of money in 1989.. fast forward to 2008/2009 and Sean Quinn was thrown under a bus.. i hope SEan wasnt watching the programmes bout Larry and see how he was saved from going under..
there is a farmer near me who is farming on the wild atlantic way here in north kerry that has buit several sheds over the last 20yrs and he has zero planning permission for any of them… and im sure there are plenty more like him across the country.. there are people using houses for air b'n'b without planning permission to do so.. the list goes on and on…
why have this couple who have a house built in the backarse of no place become the fall guys??
The garage and carport by themselves could be a large dwelling!
An iconic Irish TV moment 🤣, right up there "try it some time" and the lad falling on the ice.
Believe it or not for most in Ireland the equinox fell on St Patricks day
It’s the likes of him and the minister telling lies to get planning that make it hard on the rest of us if we ever need a bit of leeway.
Where’s the like of Sweetman and his planning objections when this type of messing is going on?
"House isn't really that big"
That reminds me of the Gorse Hill mansion in Killiney that someone called a "bog standard house" on the V Browne show years ago. Oh, how I miss VB. His show was brilliant.
The meath house has going by media reports, 5 bedrooms, 4 bathrooms, 2 living rooms, kitchen, dining room, office, playroom, utility room....
Happy spring/vernal equinox to everyone on F&F.
Husband is from down around Kilkenny. Story I heard is he is a carpenter by trade and thought he pulled a quick one buying the bit of ground and paid in cash for it.
Daffodil day today. Every family will have been touched by cancer at some stage , please donate if you can www.cancer.ie
And then fecked off and left the kids there to deal with it as she doesn't want to go to jail.…
It’ll be grand they said……
I think you need to do a bit more research into it. Absolutely nobody should have sympathy for them.
They bought land that they knew had a sterilisation order and couldn’t be used for development. They then applied for planning a couple of times for 3,000ish sq foot houses and were refused every time due to the sterilisation order. Thats a far cry from getting nowhere with the council, it’s the council implementing the conditions that were known before the land was bought.
They then decided f**k that and built a house twice the size with no planning thinking they could get retention.
When that was refused they spent 20 years delaying the inevitable through numerous court cases which have cost the taxpayer hundreds of thousands. They’re now on numerous radio and tv interviews today and each one is a contradiction of what they’ve said in the previous one. I’d say they couldn’t lie straight in a bed and thought that because they were well off they could do what they like and bully everyone else into accepting it.
As I said at the start, there should be zero sympathy for them and hopefully there will be some method of retrieving some of the cost of it all back out of them as soon as the house is knocked.
Not far from me but know nothing about it. You would wonder how they could afford to build it without planning though. It appears to be well finished off so no money was spared doing it.
As someone who spent a few years trying to get planning in Meath I know how frustrating it can be... but the process is there for a reason & it should be followed. Once built without planning it was never going to get retention. You ll get retention for an extension or alterations but not a full new build.
The former minister one is different in that planning was granted for his house, he just ticked the box on the planning application to say he didn't own any other house. Its one of them stupid things in Meath Development plan that anyone who owns a house isn't entitled to build a house in a rural area, its part of the local needs requirement...
she was talking sh*te on the radio, lies and contradicting rubbish, Claire Byrne should have been much better prepared to challenge her BS. Arrogance and bully boy tactics from the start with them. The notion of the council taking a house and giving it to a homeless charity after they battling for 20 years saying that it shouldn’t be there, no doubt their next ploy was to stay in the house and then pay “rent” to the charity as they would deem themselves homeless. Usually I love it to see someone beat the system but on this occasion I’m delighted they lost.
She was on spewing some rubbish about hope the house goes to charity...talk about deflection.
No sympathy based on the bit I know of the situation.
Agree or disagree there is a reason we have planning laws...far from perfect & plenty of us have had to jump through hoops & deal with refusals.
It smacks of wealthy bully boy tactics, 2 fingers I'm building it anyway.
Its shameful in one way to tear it down considering the condition it is in
I think the land was sterilised by the planning authority prior to they buying it. Thus, they knew they couldn't get planning.
I have sympathy for them myself. Heard her kn the radio today. Tried for years to get planning and got nowhere with the council. Built out of frustration eventually. House isn't really that big. They are counting a car port and a double garage I think.
It's one rule for one and another rule for friends with the planning crowd. Once they get a set on you, that's it. I had my own issues with planning down a tiny back road in my own farm yard. A weedy English prick came out to meet me on site. I'm still glad I was able to control my temper that day with the nonsense he was spewing.
Went ahead and built the house i wanted in the end. Didn't need a mortgage or a thumbs up from that crowd to build in my own yard.
Aw suppose, but if your working at a job you shouldn't need to hide you face, get a different job if you can't handle it. Bad precident to be encouraging Balaclavas for any reason.
probably don’t want their faces all over social media, understandable too.
Why had the security men Balaclavas on them? Swear it was the IRA
I think the bank looking for planning is a relatively new thing? Aib asked me 3 years ago when looking for loan for milking parlour, it was one of the last things they asked for .
himself is a plumber. Don’t know what she does but they must have payed cash because what bank would have given out a mortgage without planning?