Violent assualt on a pensioner and he gets a suspended sentence
I know they don't have the prison spaces but this is out of order
yes.. missed that.. pity the female judge wasn’t as concerned for the victim of a truly horrific crime… 9 years is disgusting..
Similarly today we have this case
https://www.thejournal.ie/man-who-sexually-assaulted-vulnerable-woman-in-swimming-pool-steam-room-jailed-6972144-Mar2026/
Raped a disabled woman, got a year suspended and then another year off for being foreign
“The judge set a headline sentence of eight years, which he reduced to seven years to take into account the difficulties for a foreign national serving a sentence in this jurisdiction.”
That’s pretty clear evidence of a two tier justice system - why the hell they should be any less deserving of receiving justice for their crimes is beyond me
Rotten stuff….and same as the case I listed…..more bloody concern for these animals that are committing these horrific crimes than the victims.
https://www.breakingnews.ie/ireland/tourist-followed-woman-around-dublin-airport-and-sexually-assaulted-her-court-hears-1870917.html
Entire sentence suspended
At the very least he’s been ordered to leave the country, but assuming he doesn’t return to Ireland in the next year he’s effectively gotten away with it
he’s effectively gotten away with it
He handed down a sentence of 12 months but said he was willing to suspend it in full, given that Afonso has spent seven months in custody.
7 months inside with an order to leave isn't getting away with it.
The crime although distressing for the young lady was at the lower end of the scale.
I don't see the outrage here.
bi-polar is a bit of a conviction in itself, we commonly dont provide the supports needed to such people, which can lead to crime, in some cases!
Kind of agree….very low end scale…..albeit not nice for the woman.
a dreadful experience for her, even traumatic, but you d have to ask, is the legal system the best system to address these issues!
He came into the country without having taken his medication, but somehow that's the Irish health system's fault. I really have heard it all now.
or maybe its more so the Brazilian health care system, and possible partly ours to! its well known that hyper sexuality is commonly a part of a bipolar manic phase, if a person comes off their meds, best of luck with all of that!
https://www.irishtimes.com/crime-law/courts/2026/03/03/high-court-cancels-nurses-registration-convicted-of-secretly-filming-child-in-changing-room/
Another light touch sentence for a paedophile…only 1.5 year with 1 suspended
Why are we so consistently lenient on this kind of crime?
https://www.thejournal.ie/man-suspended-sentence-threatening-partner-not-childs-father-6975204-Mar2026/
Headline is misleading.
3 years fully suspended, for threats to kill, criminal damage and assaulting a guard.
Suspended seems reasonable in this case - he’d genuinely turned his life around only to have it utterly upended in an instant in one of the keenest forms of betrayal, obviously lost the rag in the moment, this wasn’t some extended campaign of threats etc
The injury to the Garda is unfortunate of course but the judge accepted it was accidental. The overall behaviour is unacceptable however and if he puts a toe out of line he should get the full weight of the sentence.
An appropriate sentence for this man would be to fully serve the 'headline' (what nonsense) sentence applied to Tiago Sousa.
An appropriate sentence for Tiago Sousa would be the death penalty.
https://www.thejournal.ie/suspended-sentence-for-man-who-followed-social-media-influencer-into-dublin-hotel-6976127-Mar2026/?utm_source=thejournal&utm_content=top-stories
The influencer who was stalked in a Dublin hotel.
Dangerous situation she found herself in and was likely lucky she wasn’t staying in the hotel by herself.
Is there any reason why in court she could not be named for legal reasons and she did not wish to waive her anonymity but on her public instagram is posting her statement etc?
Wouldn’t want my name coming up on Google with no right to remove it. Doesn’t want to be defined by this one incident especially when her income is from the online world.
IIRC, other presenters etc have availed of anonymity in court cases where they can and I can’t say I blame them. I’d do the same in their position
Suspended sentence was, as the thread title says, ridiculous here.
Mod - from the article about the influencer:
The social media personality cannot be named for legal reasons and did not wish to waive her anonymity, prosecutor Sharon Rossiter informed the court.
Do not name or post photos here.
Has already been named by RTÉ.
fair play to RTE. Bang up job at usual
https://m.independent.ie/irish-news/courts/creepy-looking-software-developer-spared-jail-for-groping-woman-on-bus/a438611686.html
Another creep getting away with nothing
If He wasnt born in Ireland then he should be immediately deported back to his homeland.
This should be standard procedure for all violent and sexual crimes world wide
If you're non-EU and get anything worse than a parking fine, deport deport deport. We don't want or need you here.
Actually we can, and should (but don't) deport jailed EU nationals too, after they've served their sentence.
We also seem to have forgotten that EU freedom of movement is for workers, not inter-generational welfare claimants. Most other EU countries give you 90 days to get a job or get out.
https://www.rte.ie/news/courts/2026/0310/1562649-tache-carr-courts/
Orla crowe again, only 54 convictions between them
Associates it would seem of the guy who recently got a suspended sentence for punching a child on the DART, Bakuani Diavisi.
i.e. they were all involved in a fight with another group in South Anne street, one of whom was stabbed to death - Nigerian asylum seeker Quham Babatunde (who had fled Italy after being accused of rape).
Are we back to the issue of no prison spaces? But "prison doesn't work" we are told anyway, by SocDems, Greens, Labour etc.
Surely, there's less violent prisoners with less convictions who could be let out to keep these 2 in?
Tache should have his citizenship revoked and deported once his sentence has been served.
More "Money for the poor box" as well. FFS, this is not a serious country when it comes to crime.
This is a bad one.
Gardaí pursued him. However, over the next five minutes, he led them on a high-speed chase, breaking red traffic lights, mounting a footpath and driving the wrong way down the N7 dual carriageway on several occasions.A Garda helicopter was involved, along with patrol cars. However, the cars had to stand down their chase more than once when he did handbrake turns and began driving against the flow of traffic.The court heard that he had 22 previous convictions, including four for dangerous driving, along with several for having no licence and insurance. He was disqualified from driving at the time, having received a lengthy disqualification previously.Judge Orla Crowe noted the amount of Garda resources used on the night and that he had pleaded guilty only on his trial date.She imposed an 18-month sentence and suspended the final six for two years. She also disqualified him from driving for a further four years.
Gardaí pursued him. However, over the next five minutes, he led them on a high-speed chase, breaking red traffic lights, mounting a footpath and driving the wrong way down the N7 dual carriageway on several occasions.
A Garda helicopter was involved, along with patrol cars. However, the cars had to stand down their chase more than once when he did handbrake turns and began driving against the flow of traffic.
The court heard that he had 22 previous convictions, including four for dangerous driving, along with several for having no licence and insurance. He was disqualified from driving at the time, having received a lengthy disqualification previously.
Judge Orla Crowe noted the amount of Garda resources used on the night and that he had pleaded guilty only on his trial date.
She imposed an 18-month sentence and suspended the final six for two years. She also disqualified him from driving for a further four years.
A joke. Yet again it's sheer luck that this sort of asshóle didn't wipe out a whole family, and yet again he gets the merest of slaps on the wrist despite a string of convictions already.
Driving while disqualified - well disqualify him again, that'll learn him 🙄
Just looking at the disqualified driving part of the sentence, 4 years. You can only laugh at this stage. Is 4 years an upper limit a judge can apply at this juncture? It makes zero sense otherwise, surely you'd be looking at a 10 year driving ban minimum on top of a much much longer custodial sentence.
https://www.irishtimes.com/crime-law/courts/2026/03/20/forklift-driver-jailed-for-frenzied-assault-on-a-teleporter-operator/
A few months for smashing someone’s teeth out
We are far far too soft on violent crime in this country
Sheer luck he and some other poor innocent didn’t end up burnt to a crisp like happened previously on the N7
https://www.limerickleader.ie/news/crime-and-courts/2043386/barrister-argues-limerick-mans-constitutional-right-to-swear-at-garda.html
A barrister saying people are entitled to fcuk guards out of it …. Is it any wonder there is so much crime these days ??