It's the new lingo for an outside block. 2nd herd or 3rd herd of cows.
surprised you’re paying to listen to Aidan tbh
That's just your own head telling you that crap. I've great time for Aidan on a personal level. But sure, you keep on believing whatever you want to believe.
That's What I was going to ask, not much being said about those already incalf
I was listening to her yesterday evening and I found it a breath of fresh air. No nonsense talking and simple pointers for farmers. The podcast before that one had 2 advisors and a farmer on, with the opposite advice of keeping the barrier nearly empty infront of the cows, put them out and bring them back in at 9pm
I probably listen to enough shite without subscribing to more, is that podcast worth listening to?
Ya, some lads love being led by the nose. I dont think they'll be having the vet back. 🤣
I listen to some amount of sh1t too. IMO its worth listening to. You would never know what you might pick up. Probably alot of heros and satellite farmers, etc. That can be quite amusing at times too I think.
You came off the fence
And he put me over the fence..
I think I'll chance not vaccinating. I'm in ground zero anyway and there's a possibility they could have picked it up from september last year here on. I'll just make sure their mineral status is as good as it can be (boluses) and get the maidens out as soon as the weather calms a bit. I have their grass grown. Cows are out anyway since start of february and are bulling strong (calved ones).
For anyone vaccinating. Just be aware of the lameness coming from the vaccine. That's been reported here from a poster who has dealt with it last year. But the decision has obviously been taken the vaccine is safer than the virus.
I think we'll all need luck. Hope that transfers to our animals.
Can you give the vaccine with another vaccine, like ibr or lepto?
Yes, did with ibr on Saturday, will do booster with lepto in 3 weeks, only one vet not recommended was rotavac and crypto vax
interesting on the lameness …I have Smaxtec and was expecting it to light up sat night /Sunday with high temp alerts ….virtually none …..but def noticed lots of cows tender on there feet and walking gingerly on way from parlour …..and cow calved Sunday evening ,no issues reallycstriggles to get up and when dose really bad on her feet and can’t walk too far ….milking cows are ok now …but don’t know how this cow will fair out
don’t know wether wrong/right to vaccinate but slightly on right side after talking to 2 vets …stock too valueable now and too much time and money gone into breeding
Should Ireland be preparing for Bluetongue (BTV-3)?
Join our upcoming webinar with Dr René van den Brom to hear insights from the Netherlands outbreak.
This session will be particularly relevant for veterinary practitioners, farmers, and those involved in livestock health planning.
Please sign up here to register https://events.teams.microsoft.com/event/13d31e11-15c8-4bac-a2d9-3b6585947dc6@8e1cdc89-ce53-4a44-b81b-fd7533b6e09c
Might be a chance to get the opinion from those gone through the issue. Not selling anything...but maybe wrong.
HHad To turn off the notifications in our vet's gtoup, he was really pushing the vaccine without backing up stuff. Girls in the office were saying lads ringing up asking them about it and they don't know anything
How many vaccines are lads giving scour,,crypto,ibr,bvd,salmobella, lepto,pnuemonia,blackleg now blue tounge
calves get bovipast ..and black leg pre turnout …ibr live September
Maidens get lepto in Jan ,ibr booster in march ,salmonella early dept and booster October
Cows get lepto booster Jan ..ibr booster march …yearly salmonella in October ….bluetounge added this year
Dropped bvd 5 years ago ….wont drop lepto ,ibr or salmonella as had previous issues ….bluetounge could become part of yearly booster see how it plans out
Part of herd health plan ,its a cost but the cost of not vaccinating for above is small compared to the shot storm that would hit if any of above took hold
I see Iran hit a few oil tankers last night, hard to stop a few drones nowadays. Need to get 1000-2000l green before summer. Would ye bite the bullet now or wait? In Donald we trust?!!
For me expensive diesel would be better than no diesel.
Id fill up asap, Trump has bitten of more than he can chew this time around, alot of manipulation re oil prices on the stock market it should be alot higher given whats happened overnight
Was actually talking to a vet yesterday he said that the danger from the virus for calve issues is in the first trimester.
If you can get it you'll be doing well, I've green ordered this 3 weeks as I had filled the teleporter and the tractor and it was nearly empty, still waiting for my man to deliver
I think you are right with the oil price going up, I can't see many boat insurers covering them going up the Suez.
I didn't realise it was a hassle already getting it, I'll get cracking ordering ta
Bluetongue. Vets selling hard here. Temps from 16*C kicks it off and flies etc spread it. Doesn’t have to be biting insects. They deny that the vaccine causes calf deformities etc.
I’m still not convinced about anything to do with the virus. We will probably vaccinate any cows that are freshly calved/empty. We won’t vaccinate anything that’s in-calf. Then what strains do we vaccinate against? A lot more questions than solutions.
Clear as mud.
what price are you paying for green diesel now
A farmer with a nice bb calf for sale
What are the new zealand friesian cows like?
I think they tend to be black.in colour
paid €1.40 yesterday including vat
Be hardy animals but probably not going to give v high milk solids
What type of a cow /herd/system are you aiming for ? That would dictate what cow type you should be looking for