Threadbanned Posters:
Hamsterchops
take everything
road_high
FixdePitchmark
gk5000
“for publicity and donations.”
What donations?
There has been a very very clear differentiation in their behaviour in this ongoing saga and their behaviour in other court cases where they had a viable legal argument.
When they sued about the Covid ERA "calculated grades" for the leaving cert in relation to how that was applied to one of their home-schooled kids at the time , they used a solicitor/barrister and followed the process and won.
Similarly in relation to delays relating to another child and their masters (or maybe PhD) certification - Again , used a proper legal team and won a favourable ruling.
However in the Enoch saga , they've just gone down the screaming and roaring pathway as I firmly believe that they know full well haven't a legal leg to stand on , so they are just milking it for publicity and donations.
Was he barred from attending or was it that Judge Cregan is not letting him speak on behalf of Enoch when Enoch hadn't informed the court of his representation?
Can't believe the Burkes have an issue with kids dancing but are fine with Simeon deviling Complete hypocrites
Simeon is the trainee barrister? hard to keep track of them all. As he is still devilling i would think not. He is under the instruction of his master who, i imagine would not want to get involved with the burke carry on. also, I believe a barrister needs to be instructed by a solicitor. Maybe ammi can instruct if she still has a practicing cert.
I feel that the Burke's obnoxiousness, arrogance and sheer utter weirdness can't be denied if you watch any of their content. I have more sympathy for the guards in the videos than anyone else. They display incredible patience at times.
Though I feel this could go on for a while, as it suits everyone to an extent. Burke's get to post videos and feel persecuted, and no-one has to put up with Martina in court. Win, win.
Is Isaac the trainee barrister?
i missed that. Thanks. It’ll get to the point where they’ll all be barred. Will Simeon be allowed represent his family? I presume so
I now have an image of a Garda armoured vehicle smashing through thecfront of their house, Waco style.
I would worry the two women would go even more stir crazy if they are trapped in the house together for a long period.
Well unfortunately, they are, currently. The guards are afraid of the social media content Burkes will generate, but they need to arrest those who have a warrant for their arrest.
All true- but Gardai hate bad publicity and if the burkes are looking like they’re running rings around them, even though they’re not, the optics won’t sit well with the Gardai
Isaac was barred from attending court in person in last weeks ruling.
So Issac and Jemima will be turning up for court to represent the family for now I suppose
Wonder how long Ammi and Martina will be on the run for? Most likely they’re inside their house
Enoch was easy to pick up as he turned up at school as expected but where will these two venture out to? I presume they are preparing for a Waco style showdown whereas the last thing the Gardaí will do is that. The Gardaí will just wait and wait and wait until they can pick them up easily. There are serious criminals in the run, the Burkes aren’t a high priority.
Maybe charges against the other family members for obstructing gardai, harbouring a fugitive etc.
Yep. And for all we know, he might be the ring leader. He's been out in public but not as much as the others. So he could be the cult leader.
I assume Gardai with a court order can enter a private premises if they believe the person concerned is residing within there? But considering they didn’t appear to enter the family home the other day, maybe I’m mistaken and that they’ve had to go get authority to do so. Gardai have said that they don’t believe there’s a network of support for the Burkes in Mayo- leading me to believe that the two lassies are hiding out in either the home or the place they use as a tutor school.
They’re only delaying the inevitable - they will certainly be caught soon-mobile phone records will likely pinpoint their location but I don’t think even that will be necessary- as long as Gardai have authority to search the relevant premises they’ll be found
if she is hiding in the house he is getting it worse than ever.
daddy Burke must be enjoying the silence.
I have never heard of the phrase "cleft stick " before. Originated with Jonathan Swift apparently.
At the moment it looks like the Burkes are in a cleft stick of their own making. If they show up in public to voice their opinions of the judges and justice system, they are liable to prompt arrest and detention behind bars muffling their voices on the contempt order. The Gardai are probably happy that Justice Cregans' order is keeping things quiet for the rest of the nation. The sound of silence is quite nice.
The burkes are really giving the two fingers to the establishment. The longer mammy and amii are fugitives the more the guards look like a laughing stock that they can't apprehend the pair of them. I hope the Guards raid the house and have their body cams on. If the pair resist arrest that's another offence they are committing.
It has been closed before and I made that exact point to a mod a few months ago, since when it's been fine and rightly so.
There are points of law being judged, not balance of guilt.
Would work out the best for everyone if they would continue to hide at home. They wouldn't be able to go near the courts and disrupt the court hearings.
They are just a bunch of scumbags in suits, who think the law and the rules don't apply to them.
I'd change that to say that they are more than happy for the laws to be applied if they are in favour of the Burkes. If a legal outcome doesn't suit their nonsense agenda then they'll shout and throw childish tantrums. They clearly dont stand for anything. They are just massive hypocrites!
It also shows them up for the charlatans they are, some gobshites on social media still supporting them, calling them "principled" and they "stand by their beliefs".
Well this shows that they don't. They are just a bunch of scumbags in suits, who think the law and the rules don't apply to them.
Hard to see them staying in hiding long term unless they are willing to stay housebound elsewhere with a willing support system outside the family. That in itself would be a form of prison although Martina might smugly see it as getting one over the authorities.
the father is equally as culpable. He’s not the caricature of the poor, put upon husband. He and his wife have run that family as a cult.
Neither been a criminal or a jury case at any stage. Nothing discussed here is going to influence a judge.
This looks like a win win
We are avoiding the cost of putting them in prison and they are out of the way.
If they stay in hiding and stay away from courthouses it takes away a lot of their oxygen.
I meant in general.
@Hibernicis I don't recall it being closed as many times as these clowns have been before the courts. Could be wrong, though.