From a Christmas Pudding to a Christmas Cracker - Weight Loss Motivation

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,837 ✭✭✭CheerLouth

This was me - I was training regularly & still putting on weight - because my diet was terrible. I was snacking my way through the day, no proper meals, then sit down in the evening starving & go crazy. Now, I'm in a calorie-deficit & tracking everything in MyFitnessPal. Deficit for another two weeks, then I'll go into maintenance for a few weeks, then go into a deficit again.

My meals look something like:

Brekkie: one egg, two turkey rashers, couple of tablespoons of beans or bowl of porridge

Lunch: GF Protein Wrap, Chicken breast, bit of mayo

Dinner: Salmon Fillets, half a packet of microwave rice, veg

Supper: Bowl of Skyr, crushed meringue nest, handful of berries

Depending on my training for the day, I might have a protein shake with the clear whey in the afternoon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,549 ✭✭✭✭leahyl

Wow fair play Loughc! Yeah I do know all about the protein but lately nothing seems to satisfy me enough 😋 I always have this fear that I won't be satisfied if I start cutting down cos I'm so used to eating comfort food over the last few months. Sigh, I know I have to just bite the bullet and cop on!

Thanks CheerLouth, is this keeping you satisfied? Do you mind me asking how many calories roughly are you talking with that?

Yeah, it does tbh. I do be hungry coming up to lunchtime for sure but that's more because I have my breakfast at 7 and am probably not having lunch until after 1:30 as I normally train at lunchtime. Sometimes, I have a banana or a rice cake with peanut butter at 11ish.

That's about 1500 cals a day - which has been pretty manageable tbh. I was dreading it when I started but I got used to it fairly quickly. And I'm the type of person who is thinking about their next meal while eating their current meal 🤣

Brilliant, you're exactly like me so 😂 I really have to get into the zone soon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,045 ✭✭✭Jude13

Bastar…..I mean well done. I had a exec health check, free with my health insurance. They are concerned about my visceral fat and that I can't run/walk distance. Still at 98kg.

Gym this am, shoulder/neck is improving and my dumbbells for shoulder press for example I am finishing on the weight I used to warm up with, which is a big step up since last July.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,710 ✭✭✭tscul32

I need to join ye all. Serial yoyoer here. Im back doing my masters course on top of work and family and am eating all round me. However, last assignments are due 17th April so the plan is not to think about it until then and then I'll have 3 mths until my 50th birthday to make things right. OH needs to fo it too so we have a pact to look and feel good for the summer. When I'm motivated and engaged I'm actually quite disciplined and any plan will work for me. Just know I won't get there until college is over for the year.

But the looming 50th is a great motivator, I NEED to be in better shape by then.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 27,331 Mod ✭✭✭✭Loughc

My week off is over so back on the calorie count this week. I reckon I have just over a stone left to lose. The last stone is always the hardest for me.

But I’ll do my hardest. I need to be nimble to keep up with these elves of mine!

The lifeboat has set sail

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 27,331 Mod ✭✭✭✭Loughc

Has/is anyone using the Nutracheck app to log their calories, I used to use My Fitness Paul, using Nutracheck today, I really like the layout of it.

You reminded me about this - I downloaded it last year with plans to lose some weight but sure forgot all about it - just logged back in now and it is very attractive the way it's laid out, especially the photos of the food 😀

Now realising why I stopped using it…..it's subscription!!

Post edited by leahyl on

Never heard of Nutracheck I will give it a look. Ive said this a few times, 'Wolf!!!', 99.7kg on Sunday, this is officially week 1. And ironically that's what they call me in the gym…..

Calorie counting, gym, swimming. Running is gone, walking is too sore.

I went out for a walk just now for the first time in weeks - I need to get back into it….oh my God my right hip was so sore by the time I got back, I've had a twinge in it before and just wondering what the hell it is. I was thinking this time it might be because I've been so inactive for a long time.

Maybe a few stretches before and after might help?

Yeah, I know, I'm desperate for that kind of thing! I was thinking I should get an xray and all lol

We all are! I'd say give the stretches a go and if it's still paining you after that, maybe get the physio to have a look at it.

I'm awful at stretching. I was literally told by a physio once, you know if you stretch more you wouldn't need to come to me….

Did I take his advise, nope.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,404 ✭✭✭kitten_k

Was down 2.5lb this week - not the big weight loss I usually get on week 1 but wasn’t 100% on plan so happy enough with it

That's fab, I go by kgs and 1kg a week is killing it and that's more than 1kg.

I'm on maintenance cals for this week - after an 8 week deficit…it's so nice to have my mid-morning snack back!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,952 ✭✭✭BK5

Hi All. Long time lurker on this thread. Got my blood results back from the doctors today and mostly good. Cholesterol is a little high (6.3) and my LDL levels a little high. So am determined to lose about a stone and eat a healthier diet. Just wanted to ask has anyone experienced this before or have any tips to improve as I have to do my bloods in 6 months?

I was very surprised when the doc told me I'm very low on vitamin D and I have to take a tablet for 6 weeks for this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 12,145 ✭✭✭✭DvB

My cholesterol is 5.9 but that went up in about a year from 4.8 so the quack was worried. Am on a low cholesterol diet full of natural statins. I have 6 months before being tested again and been told to get down below 5.5 or will likely need medication. Its a common situation for Irish folks around our age. Cut out the red meat, baked goods (absolute killer) and general processed foods, eat high fibre foods & plenty of fruit & veg and you'll be grand. I take the benecol drinks & cholesterol lowering dairy spread too (only use it for toast to be fair).

"I will honour Christmas in my heart, and try to keep it all the year" Charles Dickens

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,952 ✭✭✭BK5

Exercise too btw, if you're losing weight your cholesterol will naturally come down too.

"I will honour Christmas in my heart, and try to keep it all the year" Charles Dickens

Guys, I saw two photos of myself this morning about 6/7 years apart - I've put on SO much weight 😐️ This tends to make me do the opposite to what I should be doing (eat less) and eat more so I need to be way more aware of what I'm eating!!…..I am also on meds for anxiety though so I think this is affecting my appetite also, was thinking of coming off them soon anyway…..

Oh Happy Monday! 😄

I'm a stress eater.. I absolutely turn to food for comfort and I had a VERY stressful weekend. Need to get back on it this week.

I think stress eating is common, its a form of comfort to counteract the uncomfortable state stress has us in. Its an awful vicious circle to break at times. Guilty of it myself, I tend to work long hours without eating & then binge late at night etc whic is the worst thing to do.

Yeah me too - I'm always amazed at people who say "you know when you get so stressed out and you can't eat?". No, not something that I'm familiar with 😅

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,404 ✭✭✭kitten_k

Second weigh in didn’t go as well - as up 1.5lb 🙈😂

Didn’t have a weigh in this week as I was away - dreading to see the scales on Saturday!

I made some yoghurt jelly pots last night that a friend recommended - dissolve a packet of sugar free jelly in 250ml hot (not boiling) water. Let it cool a bit then mix in 250g Greek yoghurt. Divide between two bowls and let them set in the fridge.

Was a lovely sweet treat last night - 97cals for 16.9g protein.

I went on a full sugar detox after Christmas and have really noticed a difference if eating anything remotely sweet (i.e. high protein yoghurt) now. Previously they would have been quite bland to me, now the same product tastes so much sweeter its incredible.