Every calf born here gets entered into a book with tag number, mothers number, sex, date of birth, name if pedigree for breeding, tick them off when card received so no errors. Can trace every cow family back over 30 years.
U should workout at least once or twice a week along with farming. Focusing on core and flexibility. The wear and tear of dairy farming will weaken your core and posterior chain. When the gyms closed during covid I couldn't train and dosing the cows I strained my back. So I'll never not train.
You may order replacement button tags and get the ball rolling again.
TThat's The quickest solution, otherwise you could have to tb test the calves,on the icbf app it will show if thwy haven't received the samples but you've registered the calves as being a problem.
I dont know if other tag companies do it but Mullinahone have a label thing in each box with the tag numbers on it. I stick this into an a4 book and the book comes with me when tagging. Write sex, dam, calving difficulty, etc on label and register them later. Phone can take a while to load here. Very handy to look quickly at book ti see what's what. Tick off when registered etc.
Just off the phone with them. We're giving each other till Tues or Wednesday next week to see if they turn up. There's three tags already in their ears. This would be the second geno button tag if I've to go that route and a fourth tag in their ears.
They've been tb tested so I can wait a few days just to see.
Did you get a text they'd been received into the labaftwr you sent them?. They dont work off a system whereby the samples that are there the lingest are tested first, they all just go into a pile. I've been there, have stock with 4 tags but you can cut the extra one out when you've tested it
I was tallying the messages up and still two out.
Looked in the bottom of the fridge and they were there in an envelope ready to be posted.
I'll leave them so now in the fridge and express post it Monday.
Were the ifa not better protesting about this mess .ending bvd and sorting out tb than trying to remove a lad from a job i know it seems hypocritical but every farmer has the three isdues i mentioned costing them stress and money the bord bia lad is the least of ordinary farmers worries and the protest was a complete waste of resources time and energy.
The rugby is on.
Liverpool playing at same time
How did your calves go?
Went Ok. Happy enough.
Seen others selling around half two, three and making more whether they were better calves in the flesh or online bidders are more prevelent after dinner if it's a thing.
I thought Dungarvan was similar on Thursday. Started at 12 and calves seemed to get dearer after 1pm
What are Montbeliarde heifer calves worth ? 3 weeks of age.
€500?
Monty bulls making over €500 in carrigallen mart
Big Phil to Larry: its serious when you are around...
Is there anyone on here that’s supplying milk to North Cork Co-op? I’d be very interested to hear everyone’s take on what’s going on there now. A lot of suppliers very unhappy about the switch to Carbery etc
It seems that North Cork is essentially going to just be a glorified producer group
The top dogs in North Cork are going to get to keep their jobs, all they’ll be doing is passing the milk on to Carbery. The North Cork Co-op’s top dogs are only going to be the middle men in the whole process
They’re suppose to have spent €1m+ on doing up the farm store in Moyvane after taking over Newtownsandes, it’s no more than 5 minutes of a drive from me, I’ve never stepped foot in it in my life, nor has anyone that I know. A total and utter white elephant. If it was put up for sale it wouldn’t make €200,000
How Much is express post?
I don't know after. I let them on with other samples yesterday using a stamp from the roll of stamps I already had.
I heard on the new inside dairy podcast a lad that couldn't make a living for himself and his father out of 130 cows in a good setup. They’re gone "satellite farming." It's a new one on me anyway.
In other news, teagasc had a vet on to advise of health issues at calving time. She gave the interviewer a bit of a lesson on not leaving cows hungry after calving. He tried to pass it off but she was having none of it. Fair play to her. It's refreshing to hear someone with a mind of their own for a change on these things.
it’s very hard fathom how any dairy adviser can put it out there feeding cows before calving at night only ….and chucking out fresh cows to grass in **** weather for 3/4 hours and bring them back to a shed then with either only a few mouthfuls of silage or nine till they go out again after next milking ….
vet rang about blue tongue. 2 injections prior to breeding season 3 weeks apart. Are my fellow boardies vaccinating against blue tongue.
Could be true divide 130 by 2 minus maybe alot of land rent them lads are getting hard especially year like this a 40 cow man on his own land with no land rent and no parents to support would be equally the same if not better
cows ,maidens and stock bulls done last Saturday …was very much on fence but talked to 2 vets and took into account what lads in England and France encountered and decided it was right thing to do
What's satellite farming? I'm guessing it's not what Google or ChatGPT tells me (eye in the sky, sat-nav, GPS, precision ag, etc.)
Hard to define how many cows are enough. 50 cows is plenty for some lads but 200 isn't half enough for others. I'm sure some oul Greek lad said, 'Wealth comes from needing less, not having more'.
I'm away behind as well, are satellites hard to grow, would they need fertilizer, would they grow on boggy ground, when would you set.
Don't be paying heed to them ould Greek lads, they had no expense, only an ould sheet around themselves. If they were around now days with a wife and kids and bills every day, that would stop them talking shiite
prior to breeding is not great for those with wide calving patterns using AI.
ive a good share of mine in calf from autumn so can't really risk it but im going to do all my maiden heifers for spring and next autumn