Fair Play 👍 good solids
They'll drop from now on though. They always do. It's a fresh cow kick. Leafy silage though cut at start of May.
If it's one thing environmentalists should be pushing is leafy silage cut with a farmer's own mower. Be like Rathkennery farm.
Leafy silage is a serious job .......provided you can save enough silage for the full winter .
It's what we should be aiming for. From fattening cattle, growing youngstock, having cows milk. It's what they were made to eat. No need for red clover silage or anything else really if it's good. Rathkennery farm gets grief in replies because he finishes on leafy silage. The like of him should be rewarded for omega 3 in beef and another payment for carbon sequestration. That's human health and environmental health he's doing. And for real.
himself and that tory house one are what the young ones call rage baiters
they are both trying to sell a fantasy
He knows soil health. He's read the books. He understands the situation. I'd have respect for him putting himself out like that. It's everyone else's problem if they take exception to him.
Tory House just insults everyone except tillage farmers. 🤣 She just buys lucerne from Italy for her cows and says they are grass fed.
Had to stop listening to the organic podcast as the amount of hate she spouts about sheep is unreal.
Gives off a woeful holier than thou attitude tbh. I Like rathkennery farm though.
What platforms are they on, never heard of them
Troy house is that the one that’s in the farming indo?.she is painful and really having a go at dairy farmers and Bord Bia and calling us out that all we use is Brazilian grains
You are better not knowing. Your farm will fall to ruin if you do...
Tiktok.
I deleted tiktok off the phone anyway!!
I did the same, a total waste of time, just brain rot stuff
1000%
Silage making has become a neglected art in ireland.we are either cutting too bulky for pit or to light for bales to make good silage,in dairying especially as its seen as just dry cow feed in spring calving herds but I think that will have to change as springs are poorer and with nitrogen restrictions the grazing season will shorten
https://www.businesspost.ie/markets/glanbias-hugh-mcguire-on-being-a-protein-powerhouse-and-cash-generating-machine/ Interesting reading.
A seriously easy way to pass a day..... terribly addictive and as above complete brain rot
The quater of a billion pissed away with the slim-fast disaster is more intresting reading, they wont even disclose what they got for the american section they offloaded
@K.G. Joe doesn't think so.......😁
What are the vet’s recommendations with you?
How long does the vaccine give coverage for?
I think I’ll vaccinate when cows are empty. We will avoid vaccinating cows that are in-calf, if at all possible. Problem with that is there’s 14 different variants…which ones do you pick?
10 months coverage with vaccine
3 years immunity if they contract the virus
Vaccine on the market arm covers serotype 3 strain. Serotype 8 is in parts of the uk. Don’t know what strain we have here
Haven’t made my mind up yet either. Hearing that it’s affecting fertility but not vaccinating could result in abortions
@GrasstoMilk has the same vet as me. And I haven't really properly quizzed him yet.
It was in a tirlan webinar they were advising vaccinating around 17th March and booster after before breeding. But that was a vet just saw results of infection in Holland with no talk of variants and if it'd work on it or not.
You simply dont get bulk with top quality silage to feed cows for a long period of time multi cut costs a fortune and if you get droughts wet to delay cuts which we always get its a mess we all need alternate forage for milking cows beet maize wholecrop
do you use any of joes remedies ?
No. This is JK of Moyne? I'm JB or TB of what is Abbey ..now.
If it's JK I know he was leading a mini movement on regenerative farming. But beyond that I don't know of the remedies.
have quizzed all vets in our practice, we'd be very high risk as so close to sea looking out at france, advise was not to vaccinate, it will be more of an issue in sheep, that advice could change but practice are not applying for liscence for bluetongue vacine
current blue tounge more than likely came from poor sanitation control at ports on lorries than flying across the sea in the wettest weather we have had in years, dept need to up their game at ports
starlings arrived two days ago so im hoping between them and my crows they act as my first line of defense, will do fly control regularly this year
Our vet sent loads of messages out on Tuesday pushing the vaccine, real scaremongering stuff. I put it on mute- enough going on atm. The vaccine comes in 50 dose vials, only useable for 10 hours once opened. 2 shots needed .So lads with only a few cattle would have to buy 2 bottles, fairly expensive. Was in vets yesterday and they were flat out answering calls. They are busy enough this time of year. Those that are having animals aborting now, contacted the disease last back end so I'm none the wiser on vaccinating.....
They’re right about the sheep but it’s shockingly bad advice for any vet to give not to vaccinate. It’s up to the farmer after that.
why ….im on fence re vaccine ,theres heaps of question marks around it .if vets are advising clients not to vaccinate id be more inclined to listen rather than a practice sending out messages to blanket vaccinate without good solid evidence …margins are tight enough this year on dairy farms without adding in another costl….covering for flys etc with pour on every 4/6 weeks more route I’m thinking
Vet here recommended vaccinating before breeding season. I suppose it will get out of control so by vaccinating your giving yourself the best chance of defence. Can't see pour on stopping midgets
Where is that contributor from France when you want him. It would be nice to know what the farmers on the ground are doing.
Veterinary and sales reps are business, it would be nice to chat to foreign farmers about vaccination and their experiences of blue tongue