Violent assualt on a pensioner and he gets a suspended sentence
I know they don't have the prison spaces but this is out of order
Nice distraction! As if their policies had changed. I only used that link to show they had spelled it out in black and white that they wanted less prison spaces.
You can see the same in newer manifestos, but couched in language about non-custodial sentences for non-violent offenses etc. No answers for where to deal with the violent offenders, and a surging population growth since the late 90s.
https://www.iprt.ie/elections-2024/party-manifesto-analysis-2024-green-party/
Maybe we should just keep saying "tackle the causes of crime" and "prison doesnt work", and keep putting violent scumbags back on our streets.
Nice distraction!
You linked to a 20 year article and tried to pawn it off as recent. But that's my fault.
Also you need to look at the countries that implement the Green proposals.
Lower crime rates, lower rates of re offending, smaller prison numbers.
Whether it would work in Ireland or not is debatable, but you certainly don't write it off because you don't like the messenger.
To deter financial crime one has to:
Maybe it’s because I’ve lived abroad so long but I feel every country has a special duty of care to tourists. They trust us to look out for them.
More to the point, they don't expect scumbags to roam with impunity within a couple of hundred metres of the centre of the capital city of a developed country. They don't know the streets and areas to avoid. They don't know that taking a slightly different route to get to the same place puts them at real risk of assault
There was a joke going around social media a few minutes ago, went something like
I went to prison for 6 months for not paying my TV licence. When I got out I robbed my local corner shop, I got a suspended sentence and used the money to pay my TV licence.
Now I hasten to add that it's a joke but it would come under the "non-violent" ideology.
https://www.irishtimes.com/crime-law/courts/2026/02/24/man-punched-11-year-old-boy-on-dart-after-altercation-between-two-women/
How the hell do you get a suspended sentence when you’re on a suspended sentence?
It's in the last paragraph -
She also ordered Diasivi to appear at Balbriggan District Court on March 5th when a prosecution application under the Criminal Justice Act, 2006, would be made, asking the court to consider whether to activate part, all or none of the suspended sentence he was serving at the time of this offence.
He may end up serving time in custody.
He’s still been given a suspended sentence
Why not give him a real sentence as well as activating his existing suspended sentence…i.e. the original point of suspended sentences
If you read it again his existing suspended sentence may be activated on March 5th in Balbriggan.
Meanwhile the judge has decided that a suspended sentence is appropriate for the Dart assault.
Deportation order surely? The man was born in the Congo. Open and shut case surely?
Although he doesn't appear to have had the knife, it looks like Bakuani Diavisi (asylum seeker living in Balbriggan, origin unknown - DRC name maybe) was fighting in the fracas with the group that killed the Nigerian asylum seeker, Quham Babatunde, outside the club on south ann street in Feb 2025.
https://www.rte.ie/news/regional/2025/0325/1503959-court-anne-street/
Diavisi sounds like an absolute scumbag, he should not be in Ireland, unless he's serving his sentences in jail.
Beside starting an unprovoked argument on the DART, and then punching an 11 year old
"Diasivi has 24 previous convictions, including 13 for road traffic offences, nine for public order offences and one drugs offence."
https://www.breakingnews.ie/ireland/1868358-1868358.html
Lovely bunch of lads in Balbriggan in 2023: https://www.independent.ie/irish-news/three-men-jailed-over-abusive-and-aggressive-behaviour-to-gardai/a1559651916.html
Diasivi and Jeffrey Bangu were both involved in the South Anne Street stabbing in 2025.
I'm guessing this is a relation
https://www.independent.ie/regionals/herald/judge-gives-break-to-irate-driver-who-had-no-insurance/38884312.html
https://www.breakingnews.ie/ireland/man-arrested-as-part-of-investigation-into-quham-babatundes-death-charged-with-assault-of-another-man-1734776.html
The address of the accused struck me, thinking i heard of that place before. A quick google of it reveals a lot…
Yeah I know that I saw it the first time…that’s what I’m saying! How has he been handed a suspended sentence when he’s already on a suspended sentence - they should both be activated or there’s no point. Suspended sentence is supposed to be like probation, it’s a joke there even has to be a decision made on it, it should be automatic
That's just your opinion, the judge's procedure was correct according to the law.
You are if course entitled to disagree.
Going by links from other posters he doesn't seem to be a model citizen.
I wonder is he an Irish citizen.
Over one a week: https://www.oireachtas.ie/en/debates/question/2021-10-21/100/
We don't know what type of crime these offenders (or ones released simply due to overcrowding) actually committed.
That could be due to laziness, or to avoid tipping off the public that even the pathetically weak headline sentences plucked from the behinds of our judiciary are routinely not served. Or more likely, both.
Still waiting for you to admit your confident assertion that offenders must serve at least 75% of their sentence was twaddle.
In your own time.
I thought this might be about the Dublin Bus driver who decked the child a year or two back. Whatever happened with that case? It just seemed to disappear into the ether.
So you haven't a clue but decided to keep using the shovel anyway.
He received a 500 euro fine for absolutely belting the shít out of a 12 year old and had to pay a further 3k for medical bills. No custodial or suspended sentence.
He was white. It wasn't posted here.
Did DB give him the sack?
No idea. Only the independent reported on it from what I can tell.
It was one story.
I bloody well hope so
Some people just should not be in customer-facing roles. He certainly shouldn't. If he has kids Tusla should be having a nosey too: if his temper is so bad that he does that to a random child while being filmed then his own children are probably getting the same treatment at home.
Apparently he was defending his girlfriend against the very violent Polish people
The DPP should appeal the sentence. Also, there should be mandatory minimum sentences for assaulting an old person.
Must have had great craic in the courthouse judging by the smile on his face.
Kirk Loco may be appearing on this thread soon by the sounds of it.
Rotten scum jailed for a measly 9 years for an armed and violent and sustained rape of a 19 year old woman in Cork. Surely this warranted a far lengthier sentence. He’ll be out in 6-7 years if he keeps his head down. Sickening!!!
Mitigating. He had a good work history.. holy jaysus
“By way of mitigation she said she was cognisant of the good work history of the accused and the entering of a guilty plea in the case which saved the woman the ordeal of giving evidence at a trial. She jailed Sousa for nine years and backdated the sentence to 29 March 2024 when he entered custody.”
https://share.google/6s6RMdavjnAbXMul9
That RTE report missed the full detail of the judge's reasoning for reducing the sentence to 9 years. From the Irish Times on Saturday: "The judge said she would reduce the headline sentence of 12 years to 10 because of the guilty plea. She further reduced it to 9 years because of Sousa's previous good character and the fact that as a foreign national with no English and no family support here, he would find prison difficult".
No mention of deportation upon release, either.