New thread for the League of Ireland.
Previous one is currently behind itself but may return another day. Old thread:
I think flares can be a bit difficult to police but yeah, Dundalk FC were in charge of security that evening.
It's only the fault of those that threw them on the pitch knowing it would cause damage.
If only there was security of some kind.
This is pure nonsense. If someone from the Drogheda support threw a coin or lighter at a player would that be Dundalk's fault too?
If security is non-existent or very lax, then fair enough, but expecting security to search everyone to the extent that no flares make it in to the ground is pure fantasy.
Are coins/lighters banned from stadiums? I doubt it.
Fair play to Dundalk, getting results in both Tallaght and Derry
Exactly - but you can't beat a spot of victim blaming.
Excellent start for them. They're a bit like us when we came up after winning the First Division, a squad peppered with experienced players and full of confidence.
Let's hope it continues but we ned a win to boost the confidence even more.
Dundalk deserved the point tonight, they were aggressive and never stopped working. Probably had the better chances in the game too. We were terrible in the second half and invited Dundalk onto us.
Absolutely, it seems to be part of a wider issue that people don't take personal responsibility, its always someone elses fault. " I know we shouldn't be doing it but its great craic running scramblers over the local football pitch (https://www.dublinlive.ie/news/dublin-news/dublin-football-club-slams-vandalism-21738761)
or wrecking Dundalks shiny new pitch but its not our fault they didn't stop us bringing them in"
I heard the issue is the flares are being given to minors and security aren't allowed to search minors, don't know if thats true?
Agreed, stupid goal to give away at the end but Dundalk were well worth it.
I noticed going into Tallaght stadium last night that the stewards/security were asking kids to hold open their jackets to see if they were potentially hiding anything, they could of course have had flares etc wedged in the back of their trousers but it was the first time I saw any attempt to search minors.
you may have just given them ideas 😁
Back when the East Stand was in regular use for home supporters it used to frustrate a female friend in her 60s that her small handbag was always searched on the way in. One evening she asked why she was being searched while a number of young lads were let through unchecked. The blunt answer was "we can't touch kids".
https://www.elverys.ie/products/umbro-st-pats-26-x-wt-third-jersey-cream-1176256
New St Pats/Wolfe Tones shirt.
It's a lovely design but it doesn't sit right with me celebrating a band whose USP is shouting "Up the 'Ra". But I'm not a Pats supporter.
I don’t get the impression this is gonna be as successful as the Bohs patented cringe that they are modelling.
There's a big market of Wolfe Tones fans out there and, to my concern, a lot of them are young people who don't remember or care about events like Enniskillen, Omagh or the murder of Jerry McCabe.
Given the St Patrick Day/American market also, it may sell very well!
I think Wolfe Tones are much less popular among the demographic that like trendy football jerseys than the likes of Kneecap, Fontaines DC and Oasis.
I'm in two minds over it, The Wolfe Tones certainly had a reputation as a rep for a certain type of Irish Republicanism, however on the other hand that's well in the past for most people these days and they are local to Inchicore so there's ties there.
It's a class looking jersey, so I'll probably end up buying it.
Are Shels going to get Mauro Picotto or For Those I Love on their's?
That cringe that brought in 4 million euro last year FYI.
Hard to know really in Ireland. The crowds at EP outside the Wolfe Tones stage was crazy so there's definitely a base there for it. Certainly won't sell as well internationally as the Bohs ones did.
It'll sell a lot more than any other Pat's 3rd kit, that's the most important thing.
I really really hope not
Happy to concede that they are both profitable and cringe
I'm sure I saw Shels For Those I Love gear before. Maybe was Duff wearing it. I could be wrong.
I think he sponsored a training jacket before
Is there a breakdown by jersey available? I'd be curious to know which one brought in the most income.