Galway GAA Discussion Thread #2

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,325 ✭✭✭testtech05

Agreed it felt like Armagh could have put us away a couple of times but took the easy point instead. Left us in it as you say. McGlinchey did well alright I thought McGrath did very well also off the bench

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,882 ✭✭✭threeball

McGlinchey and Maher midfield for me come championship. Conroy CF if he comes back and Sean Kelly to CB. He won't sit back so I wouldn't play him FB.

Shane McGrath had a nice cameo off the bench. Took his point well and won the 50m advancement to win it.

Our kickouts are going to kill us for the 6th or 7th year in a row. Crazy situation to be in.

Another good display from the hurlers. Tough start with both the All Ireland finalists but they held their own in both with alot of youth on board and some young players yet to return like Tiernan Killeen.

Trayers excellent again. Neary very good too. Rabbittes handling was poor enough tonight but he fed the goal well. Still not sold on Niland. And I dont see the point bringing him back sweeping when theres players much better suited to that role if thats the game you want to play.

Carrying alot of injuries and missing players, its a positive start.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,753 ✭✭✭basillarkin

Conroy is passed it at this stage. Was a brilliant servant to Galway football and will continue to be for his club.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,864 ✭✭✭spurshero

I think he would be a nice option to have for last 20 mins or so when game has slowed down . He’s definitely wouldn’t have the legs for 70 mins or so though .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 2,218 ✭✭✭I says

I can’t have any of that. Mannion and Monaghan with pure idiotic wides. No pressure on them or shooting without even looking at anything else only try and score. Cathal went missing a lot with cork stood into him. Padraig Mannion very poor tonight. Daithi at this stage is a three not a maurading six so it’s play full back or bench. Neary looks a hardy buck. Rabbitte is a young player learning his trade. McLoughlin has had enough bites of the cherry at this stage I’m doubting him as a top class inter county hurler. Donohue may look at this ruthlessly and start dropping players otherwise the dubs will run for sport against us. How many wides in game it was 10 in first half.
    that messing will break a lot of teams.
    plenty to work on but enough positives from that team for now at least.

I don't have any time for Monaghan, he'll do as many bad things as good and C Mannion had a poor showing apart from 3 lovely scores from play. But we're light years ahead of last year with some talent to come back.

None of the corner forwards we tried are up to it and we don't have many options there but its still a vast improvement on last year. Thought Daithi did well at CB

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 661 ✭✭✭Avon8

I never understand this take simply because somebody is of a certain age. He was man of the match in last year's Connacht final and was the best footballer in Ireland the year previous. Bringing him on up in Cavan v Armagh last year changed the game when we were struggling

I agree, he doesn't have the legs for midfield but center forward is a different position and can rotate when he tracks back or leaves it to a corner forward. We need a center forward who can bring the other 5 into play with good kick passing. Really only Conroy and Thompson that fit the bill and Conroy has the physicality to work better in the position. Plus offers 2 point options.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 4,250 ✭✭✭MacDanger

100% on Conroy, he's a massive leader for ye. He can still play a big part

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,021 ✭✭✭bfa1509

Everyone thought the 2 pointer rule was made for Galway and ended up being our biggest downfall last year (kickouts aside).

I hope with mcclinnchy, McGrath, the 2 mcdonaghs and Thompson (eventually) nipping at the ankles of tierney, flaherty and even Shane Walsh - am hoping the era of Galway's constant recycling (where other teams would have 3-4 scores in the same time) will be a thing of the past.

I think there will be a few last 10 min appearances for Conroy but I think that'll be it. I think we're in the beginnings of the post Conroy, comer, Walsh era and don't mean any disrespect by that.

I'm bit lost with the narrative of Galway last year under the new rules.

The Mayo, Dublin, Armagh and Down games were all attacking open games with incisive forward play and plenty of two pointers. All of those games could've been on the list for games of the championship. Some of the Galway goals in those games were as direct as you can get

The first half of the Meath game was pedestrian but that was one half out of 10.

Galway's problems last year were being wide open at the back, not lateral forward play. Hence why basically every game they played last year ended up being a classic. Tbh bring me back to the boring games of 2023/24 when they at least had some control. Constant recycling wasn't something you could level at them in 2025

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,021 ✭✭✭bfa1509

Agree mostly with what you are saying but Galway's attitude has been "if we can stay 1 point ahead we will always win" - a dangerous tactic even before the 2 pointer rule. Galway were only direct and dangerous looking when they were behind. Most of the other all-Ireland contenders showed ruthlessness even when 10 points ahead.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,152 ✭✭✭ShamNNspace

1809.jpg

The team for saturday supposedly 😉

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,776 ✭✭✭MfMan

A mysterious disappearance of Conor Gleeson. Jack Glynn showed an improvement v. Armagh but no. 3 didn't I'm afraid. Molloy hardly a midfielder, wonder would McGlinchey come in there? A welcome return for Maher but hardly match fit yet. No sign of Walsh (out for league supposedly) or McDaid after their heroics 2 weeks ago. Forwards in general look experimental and heavily reliant on Finnerty, not fully match fit either, for scores. It could get very ugly in Tralee, like a few seasons ago, if Clifford lines out in all the home games for Kerry as expected.

Ah ffs goin to a studio and do away with this craic of standin on the sideline perished with wind and rain tryin to comment on the match

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,577 ✭✭✭spakman

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,306 ✭✭✭piplip87

1000023364.png

Well lads, is that ex Cavan manager and keeper Raymond Galligan with ye now ? So ye have Mickey Graham, we get Ciaran Brady, you get Raymond Galligan, so Tierney is starting for Cavan in Omagh tomorrow?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,879 ✭✭✭FintanMcluskey

When the handbrake is off Galway are as good as there is going forward.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,453 ✭✭✭SqueakyKneecap

Galway still have one of the strongest panels in the country bar goalie and fullback. I'd rather Joyce had left his role after the Armagh loss in 2024 but the big positive with him as a manager is that he'll give fellas a chance in the League and if they're good enough they'll start in the summer. That's even more important when Walsh is struggling to stay fit and Comer is looking finished with injuries. This year Fionn McDonagh (not a great outing yesterday but has been great first two games) and Shane McGrath are two lads really putting their hand up for be starting in the summer. But to go down to Kerry with a very 8 or 9 fellas that wouldn't be regulars starting and take a point is a solid result. Saturday night won't be easy but if they got a win there they'd have experimented heavily and still be in a good spot to stay Division 1.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,437 ✭✭✭littlevillage

That was a savage come back against the current All Ireland champions. Hopefully will imbue them with a bit of confidence going forward,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17 432Hz

It's a pity Galway have to go 10 points down before they start competing. I can't remember the last time we convincingly won a major game. Hopefully some of them new lads get a lust for blood as the year goes on.

On the flip side the last time they lost a game in championship by more than 1 point was almost 4 years ago, the All Ireland final in 2022, a game that was level on 66 minutes

You're right in that they've rarely been winning games comprehensively, Roscommon and Derry a couple of times each aside. But by the same token they've a reputation for being wildly inconsistent and somewhat flaky, when if anything the opposite is true. They're in there battling at the finish of every game

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 119 ✭✭bike2wkr

Too many individual errors early on. And its a theme. Not sure there is a Gameplan or patterns of play either. Heroic exit from quarter finals this year probably

1897.jpg

The boys that may start tomorrow evening at the late hour of 7pm (me no like😐) …Molloy not starting Conroy on the bench 🇶🇦

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,074 ✭✭✭mjp

O Laoi must be injured as surely be worth spot on bench at minimum with his impact breaking the line from defence and involved in setting up few scores the last day. Surprised Conroy is on bench on basis of Joyce's comments last Saturday where he hasn't much training done. Maher played full 70 mins in first match back which he wasn't planning to do. They might hold him back if Darcy is fit and bring him on for 35 mins. Lots of teams picking up injuries already in league and think with new rules that managing players carrying knocks is going to be crucial to the top teams as difficult for players in middle 8 especially to look after the body as they are going at max performance for huge number of phases nowadays compared to the game 2 years ago. Very little opportunities for them to take a breather unless they go up into forward 3 mid game

2001.jpg

the lads as they might start on Sunday

Wasn't expecting a win in Donegal but they threw that one away from a great position. Once the red card was shown we fell apart when we should have coasted home.

Gleeson has to go. There isn't a single part of the goalkeeping gig hes good at. Shocking kickouts, poor fielder, poor shot stopper, can't kick 45s or frees to save his life and then unforgivably kicking a kickout to a player leaving the pitch. Surely one of the other two is a better option

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,384 ✭✭✭cosatron

TThe Kick out to mcgrath going off just shows his ingame awareness. Shocking keeper who can't read a game to save his life and Joyce is worse to keep playing him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,325 ✭✭✭testtech05

I thought he made a decent stop near the end from McHugh pushed it over the bar. Only saw the last 15 mins or so so not really in a position to comment on the overall performance bar the kick out to McGrath which was very poor