Both, glad I've no trips to anfield booked
sadly you won’t be able to afford it anyway really if living off milk price only. There lucky with their tv subscriptions. Some waste of money Liverpool, end of.
Money's not the be all of everything, your health is your wealth
Where's dannyman lately?
That is how to do things. Simple as.
Put in more slurry storage last year, only for it. I still have a few foot left in tanks but just shows youd never have enough storage. Be lucky to get out next week with slurry.
talk about tone deaf ….thos would be a Wetish farm in north tipp …..even the driest farms around are pure sodden wet ….slurry starting to become a major issue in lots of places now …..the lads that spread in that nice spell of weather around Christmas /new year even tho out of season were fookin right …..far far less damage to ground water and ground than anything spread since season opened …..once again we’re been shown calendar farming is pure nonsense
Great post 👍🏻
@stanflt missing since November too
You need more storage
on paper I don’t I have lots of…calendar farming and working with dates is the issue ….no one will convince me tgat slurry spread …lightly in that good spell over Christmas /new year is more harmful than anything spread in last 2 weeks …..once we get good few days and ground drys up …every farmer and contractor will be at it …mass amounts of slurry going out on wet ground ….that’s far bigger risk than spreading in windows we get in closed season ….
Anyone hear about the new stocking rate limits on grazing platform for anyone in derogation or exporting slurry to stay out. Looks like if your stocked too high they will reduce your fert allowance. Also slurry storage requirements are going up by up to 20% from 2028 im hearing.
Dry cold spell after Christmas, greening up lovely apart from the tracks which were burnt/tramped on the grass with the tanker wheels.
far better than the messing going on last while
Well I'm only a small farmer compared to a big milk man like yourself, but I appladue your thinking, if yous all came out in numbers to push common sense, then yous would prevail. Theres too many sheep in this country lying on there back letting the boys in suits rule.
I'm glad your of the common sense approach.
It looks to me that Adrian is doing alright for himself so maybe we all don’t have to follow the gospel according to Teagasc. More than 1 way to skin a cat.
Yep I'm only 15 mins away from him. Similar land here You work with what you have and get on with things.
It's poor policy when it can't avoid this scenario.
Nobody's suggesting we have a free-for-all but something will have to give. Maybe a start would be the Dept calling to anyone blackening fields in wet weather. Without enforcement we're all guilty by default.
If the "not spreading in wet weather" part was enforced, then we might be allowed some leeway on the calendar part.
Shouldn't need to avoid any scenarios as they shouldn't be there.
I'm not sure of the water quality in the 60s 70s 80s but I'd believe it's no worse than today if not better. And cattle were out wintered. Plenty of dung outside, sure your grandparents went outside to relieve themselves as well for god sakes. Yet the factories open sluices into rivers and still get away with it. Planes arsing about the sky burning diesel.
Up to yous all to stand up for your own farm yard for gods sake.
lucky here in templemore I got out with slurry when it opened up.got cattle shed emptied to the floor and half of the new side of the cubicle shed.the other side is getting near the top but I’ll agitate that by week end and transfers to where I’ve space.
The dates and storage requirements were set to cover most years, not all years in order to go easy on farmers. If there's problems regularly occurring in January, the most logical thing for the government to do is throw on another month to closed period and storage. It's definitely not going to go the other way.
That's the easiest thing for Govt to do. Not the most logical.
But I get your point - it's obvious which option the Govt would take.
Who pays the government wages,?
There is 234 members situated around dail eireann, they pay some of their own salary through tax and vat etc, the other few million people Ireland pay the rest.
If you pay someone's wages you usually have a say. Have you not a say?
Where do u think the slurry u spread is now a complete waste of time what you done imo
Dry land was just about ok when season opend so should be fine ….what was alternative don’t spread and wait and be up **** creak now 🤔
If slurry is out 48hrs before heavy rain and land was not waterlogged at application what's the problem
His grass is rich green too no doubt .
I'd say it Was a mixture of getting in before tank would eventually fill but more so grabbing the chance of getting fertility into the field.
farming simulator isn’t real life.go back to your Xbox.
Ground was fine.didn’t need the 4wd on the most of the time whilst I was at it.lucky to have good ground to travel on but wouldn’t go out now .if it dried up I’d be grand again after a few days.
Look lad im spreading slurry all me life its a waste of time spreading in this weather we are haveing or before the rain started and should be banned based on soil saturation levels and forecast spreaing imo should be based on these two pieces of information the whole winter and there should be no closed period ive taken in slurry today from a few gd neighbours who are in a bad way the first loads were only in the tanks when a greedy big shot dairy farmer rang me telling me i heard your taking in slurry i told him thats correct 200 euro a load .