Airmaster (no back actor) is very helpless when off of hard ground. They were designed for working on streets in cities. I don't think they were ever intended for agri use and most definitely not field work.
Is it possible to put the quick attachment onto the 4 in 1 bucket with the euro hitch bracket or would it be out too far or not strong enough? Seriously would need it.
On the English forum they rate the New Hollands ahead of the JCB. Massey and Terex were ok until the late 90s
Massey/Terex had a bit of a wobble around the turn of the century. They switched supplier for the valve block for the back actor and it wasn't half as good as the original type valve block. They switched back again after a few years and all was good again.
I remember driving a new NH95 around year 2000 and a 10 year old Grey cab 3cx. The 3cx was a much better digger.
After getting a new battery in yesterday digger wouldn't start this morning
Waste battery flat or was it turning over and wouldn't fire up?
Your man left the radio on. I wasn't in it since he was here yesterday. It was turning but wouldn't fire up. I started it with power pack. Hopefully it be ok tomorrow.
There’s a guy in Kerry selling a lot of loaders and tractors imported from Europe. Tralee trade equipment I think. On Facebook.
Mr CVX on YouTube. Never dealt with him but the stuff seems to be clean for the most part but does seem expensive
Mostly Cat I think with him, Dermot Clancy is fairly local here too so will give a call to both. Would probably go JCB if given the choice, few lads round here that would be handy on them for service and repair.
Kenneally in Abbeyfeale would often have them as well.
Not sure that this would be a handy yoke
Would not like to be facing in to one of my fields today with that 2wd yoke. You would be sticking to concrete until June.
A neighbour had one long ago, we had three chains tied together pulling it with the tractor out of every soft spot.
The tyres were leaving deeper drains, than what the bucket was digging
Could you not push it along with the back actor? Can't imagine a tractor being much use trying to pull out one of those stuck
They are dead weight in a wet field. Have a 4wd and a 2wd 50HX and even with pure slicks for front tyres, the 4wd will keep moving. Have four news tyres on it now and it's hard to get it stuck.
The original PopeMobile!
Just googled weight of a Ford 7840 4WD and it’s 4660 kgs while a 3cx 4wd is 7600kgs. Big difference when loading bales in a field in a shaky year. But I suppose put loader on tractor and geometry it mightn’t be much of a difference.
I was thinking the same. Front bucket can be used to help walk it out too.
A tractor would do more than you think. Anything is a help, especially when you are slightly caught
A neighbour has a 2wd 3c for over 50 years and has done some amount of contracting work with it . His son took over 20 years ago and track machines took over. It has been relegated to loader work and the shear grab..
The rubber tyre digger has a lot to do with the operator. But I would not consider field work with out 4wd.
I dont know Is it just the weight of them or is it because of the transmission or the tyres that fitted to alot of these yokes but a tractor even with a loader will always travel better on wet ground.
A 3cx is near double the weight of a 100hp tractor. A tractor and hedge cutter with 480 rear tyre's can make a fair mess on soft ground
A 3cx is only a summer machine in a field.
You could get a DGM 788. I see that the seller has a on F4F discussing them.
Would 7000 hours be high on a 30 year old machine. 3cx
Clocks on them were notoriously unreliable. Condition is all you have to go on.
It would be unbelievably low. Do they go back to zero again after 9,999 hours like a lot of the older analogue clocks on tractors? 17,000 hours would be more realistic.
To put it into context, 7,000 hours over 30 years is 233 hours a year which is 4.5 hours a week or 38 mins a day.
Is the 3cx very jumpy at low revs when feeding out a bale? Also is there much power in the back actor when pulling a few light trees or digging a shore? There’s a lad in Carlow with a yard full. I might tip down to him some day.
As good as any 8 tonne with a better reach.
No way is it better than a 8 ton 360. Completely different animal altogether. 6 ton maybe on overall digging performance but the time lost moving means it's not close. Back actor diggers are always a compromise compared to a track machine.
If buying a 3CX make sure it has the rams for swinging the back actor left or right. The older models have slews and a Kingpost and would hardly knock over an empty suitcase. Kingpost has to be replaced every few years if you're doing anything and it's a hoor of a job.