New thread as the last thread seems to be broken.
Knight and Smallbone also seem very unlikely to be fit for the next Int. window.
Our midfield options will be extremely thin.
https://www.independent.ie/irish-news/revealed-cash-strapped-fais-242k-spend-on-external-pr-consultancy-firm/a1511620924.html
"While the FAI have declined to comment, Abbotstown sources have indicated that the use of Teneo for strategic communications advice around Oireachtas Committee appearances in December 2023 and February 2024 contributed to the significant difference."
It really does not matter to the FAI whatever overspend they do, they just ask the Govt for more taxpayers funds and away they go again.
They use Govt monies to employ a PR consultancy to help them answer Govt questions.
That's a big ask, there is no sign of any of those emerging, while the remainder of the team is not too bad, It's a stretch to say there's the bones of a good team there!
how people can see the performances and think we’re well set apart from midfield is beyond me.
If we’re expecting and needing Ireland to produce quality midfielders when we produced one outstanding one since Roy Keane left the scene then good luck with that.
We produce everything but midfielders but right now we aren’t producing good full backs and wingers and that’s a big issue
Everytime a story like this comes out its just another nail in the coffin of Irish football.
The uphill task just gets steeper.
Hangover from Delaney days still exists, FAI only really care about the international game from which they can finance their existence, grassroots can look after themselves and cough up for tickets to Aviva which Delaney scammed them on as did his father before him, their personal ATM, long past time to come up with a new model.
D J Carey is heading for prison today for about 5/600k, what would Delaney get if criminal charges were brought and he was convicted.
Festy Ebosele has been included in the Turkish Super Lig Team of the Month for October. Great to see it going well for him.
He started one of their 5 league games in October and was taken off at half time in that one so I don’t know what’s going on there but it seems meaningless
Ah here, that's ridiculous. This is where I saw it. https://eireguide.substack.com/p/festy-ebosele-named-in-the-super
Women got France, Holland and Poland. Tough ask. Avoided Spain and England which is some help. Winners qualify automatically.
Guaranteed playoff so least have that.
Yeah, I assume the squad announcement must be this week at some point.
Midfield is tricky. Maybe we'll see Conor Coventry or Killian Phillips in the squad. Not sure if Mark Sykes is still on the scene.
Maybe Coventry or Phillips will actually need to start the game alongside Cullen v Portugal?
You almost feel sorry for the manager. It's like playing a DDSL cup tie managing an under 15 D team and being drawn to play a 16 prem team ….😒
Apparently some people think there's the bones of a good team there!
Has Glenn Whelan been keeping himself in shape?
He' the last midfield player we had that gave us a bit of presence in midfield and wouldn't hide when we were in possession
And yet we didn't know what we had until he was gone
He's that ex you thought you could do better than.
we could do better than Cullen but wouldn’t personally see whelan as any better. Both solid defensive players who are ok on the ball
I thought Whelan had more of a physical presence and guarded the back 4 better than Cullen does.
yeah probably fair
Rocco Vata ruled out for up to 12 weeks. What is with our talented, younger players been so injury prone, right as they begin to show a little form?
Under 17s a joy to watch . Uncharted territory in a world cup at any level for an irish team . Think 3 the most we ever scored in world cup match before . Poor opposition but still have to put them away.
Yeah Saudia Arabia game, i remember that one well!
Panama unfortunately with a consolation goal at the death.
Lads how much is a ticket to an Ireland game these days?
Been offered a pair of tickets for the Portugal game and not sure if I'm getting screwed over or what 🙈
I know people who bought the bundle of 3 and I think it was 200 in total so maybe you'd say 90 for the Portugal game and 60/50 for the Hungary/Armenia games? There are probably a few different bands of tickets though
Bazunu back in for Southampton tonight. Seems he was playing well and then dropped another clanger
Jump to 1:38. Pretty poor goalkeeping. The rate of his regression over the last two years is quite alarming. Think he needs to get out of England, or at the very least Southampton, and rebuild his career. I'd have Travers or Keeley as our number 2 going forward.
Its like when our players turn 19-20 they turn to **** and regress
Squad announced. There's a call up for 26 year-old MLS left back Kevin O'Toole.
How come Ferguson is in the squad? Is there a chance he could be fit?