The math ain't mathing.
Seems this budget model is a late in the day throwback to the scrapped model 2. Too little too late. I dont see this modifying the direction in any real terms frankly. Might just get existing owners into a newer one at a lower cost with some sacrifices.
There’s no ‘seems’ about it - this is the model 2.
Tesla use cash flow from selling cars to fund the companies strategic direction - they have their fingers and toes crossed that these cheaper cars lengthen the lifespan of the 2 models just about enough to fund the gap to revenue flowing from the other non-car ‘stuff’
We agree on lot of things recently 😁
To put things into perspective - BYD is only this year making more EVs than Tesla. The latter still make very healthy margins compared with anyone else. The Model 3 and Model Y are far from old / dead.
Very interesting development in China that PHEV from 01/01/2026 must have 100km range CLTC on EV alone, or they will lose the $2000 NEV credit. I have a longstanding bet that in December 50% of all cars sold in China will be BEV. I will lose this bet most likely, but my timing is only 1-2 months too soon by the looks of things
Probably 70-80% BEV in December of 2026. Combustion vehicles are dead…
not sure what math you mean, loads of people buy teslas, loads more will buy these lower priced models, yes their sales are lower YoY but thats all relative the model Y was the best selling car in the world for a few years, they were always going to lose sales to the new chinese competitors.
Your posts read like they are in a terminal decline whereas the reality is that the highland and the Juniper stand up to any competition in their segments very well.
The Chinese arent even in the top 10 in this space in europe. Volkswagen lead the sales figures in 2025 though. Not Tesla in europe.
Across their totals. 🤷♀️
The "Model 2" was meant to be a $25k car. These standard trim level cars are $40k so aren't really targeting the same market
You also have to consider that Tesla sales were much higher in Europe before the CEO joined forces with the US dictator back in January
https://autovista24.autovistagroup.com/news/europes-best-selling-evs-in-2025-so-far/
looks like they are doing ok?
You definitely read what I said. 🤷♀️🧐..
I'm not sure what you are saying, it all seems to be quite fatalist about Tesla sales, maths no mathsing and some other stuff , I just don't see it borne out to the extent you are making out.
Well you said sales are great.
And here's this lad buying his own stock. Who's to know whats going on with the numbers , frankly.
The most suspect public company going.
Elon Musk's SpaceX and xAI are buying Tesla's unsold Cybertrucks | Electrek https://share.google/2pLWuV5d8qy2mlykG
Seems like sensible business practice to me. Should SpaceX buy GMs or Fords for their service fleet?
Space X service fleet ? Service fleet of what. 😭😅😅😅.
That's the part of the question you focused on? 🙄
Well ye. You dont buy things you dont need. You do buy things to get 1 company out of a hole. More playing around with balls inside upside down cups from the world's smartest man.
Maybe hes taking time away from funding that fraud Tommy Robinson or whatever his real name is.
Ah. Another mask slip there from left field. Thanks for clearing up where you're coming from. Have a good evening 😴
I know the ever existing spectre. Always taking it so personal. That's the rub isn't it. Like hes your da or something. Bizarre behaviour.
The article said they are replacing their ice service fleet ?
If you think Tesla are the most suspect public company you aren't looking around too much 😁
Anyway a few 100 cyber trucks is neither here nor there , according to the data the y is the best selling EV In Europe (again ) unless I am mistaken (I genuinely don't follow it that much I just had a look when you commented on sales ) so it's not quite as bad as you are making out.
You are totally right. Its not bad, 41 percent down on last year. All is well.
I think I'd have the performance model if Musk was daddy. Alas, I've to settle for AWD.
In the real world though, I don't let anyone's politics or antics inform my buying decisions. I buy what works for me and mine. If that lines the pockets of Musk or Xi, I won't lose sleep. Everything has blood and politics on it these days. Set chill mode and drive on. 🤗
We live in the world we shape. Let me know when XI tries to get mcgregor in the phoenix park.
This might fly over your head, but sure look eh, its been a country of principles for decades. Part an parcel of how it works here.
Might I add, il be all over that when people start trying to impact our home political choices.
Principles like. And stuff. No afflitations here despite the absolute nonsense strawmans.
Gas isn't it , when you think about it.
When people start trying.....? Ship = sailed and docked.
Whatever you're smoking, I want some. The auld whiskey ain't cutting it tonight 😜
I'd rather navigate through the storms of discontent than sink to the depths with someone else's principles around my neck.
Look closely at any product and youll find dirt. Gas too
With increased competition in Europe a fall in market share from a position of dominance is not unexpected. But the point @Cyrus was making is that in Europe Tesla models are still number 1(Mod y) and 2 (Mod 3) and thats even after the negative impact in Europe of sales following the Trump/Musk association
Imagine buying a BYD and trying to have the moral ground on a Tesla purchaser. Gas. 😂😂😂
Over the head. Whoosh! 😄
Imagine taking your car so personally that you quest on any criticism of their owner. Woosh indeed lads.
The Simpson meme is highly appropriate 😂
I bought that car simply because it drove better looked better and was luxurious inside. Nothing more. Would I sell it any not bat an eyelid yes.
Taking a very personal attachment to criticism of the owner and CEO is rather odd. Even going to criticism another countries government rather than the company. Equally odd. Again... Simpson meme.
If it looks like a duck, and walks like a duck….
I was lucky enough to visit SpaceX at Kennedy Space Centre last Autumn. Lots of vehicles moving around the location. Would make practical business sense if the Silverados and F150s I saw were replaced with Cybertrucks, along with Teslas as company transport perks for designated workers at all their locations.
Same for all the Musk companies - why on earth would they buy non-Teslas for anything?
im not taking any personal attachment to anything, i picked the juniper because it was the best care i test drove, before i did the rounds i had assume it would have been the BYD sealion 7 but that was a disappointment in the metal. I just disagree with your tesla is doomed rhetoric and you seem to have a particular issue with musk which is fine, thats your business.
I didnt think too much about musk when i was test driving a tesla, the same way i didnt think too much about china or byds practices when test driving the BYD (or worry about the historical nazi connections and more recent very sharp practices when owning multiple BMWs or Audis)