Ahern and coombs would feel hard done by. Neither of them in the squad is strange. Have they done something to upset the coaches or are they not as good as I think they are?
I’m saving that til after the AI’s, Paul. The goalposts might become more difficult to shift 😉
it's not his age alone, he's been playing like a drain in green for years
I count 33 names in that squad. Considering we have two games a week apart on different continents, I would expect either a lot more to be named tomorrow or another announcement to supplement the squad in a week or two.
So maybe not worth freaking out just yet
Utterly, but I suspect one of them will move on for next season and I have an inkling it will be Kelleher - which would be a huge boon for whoever got him.
My goodness. If that were the squad, even without any endless, tedious comparisons of new caps, I might think Farrell were "conservative".
To be clear, Thornley was been way off the mark. I suspect it's just outright wrong, when it comes to fringe selection.
It's completely unsustainable for all three squad hookers to be at one province.
Henderson is 33, if he's well past it then about half a dozen others are as well
The problem with this logic is that, for example, you could apply it to Wales circa 2023, and you're left with a massive re-build regardless, when those players all age out at the same time.
Now, I'm not remotely saying I expect us to go the same way as well, they have fairly massive fundamental problems that we don't have thanks to how comparatively well-run the IRFU is, but it is indicative that persisting with an aging squad can be problematic.
While I agree that would be a pretty underwhelming squad, Thornley has been known the be wrong with regards team selection since Farrell's been in charge, so lets wait and see til it's name tomorrow at least.
I don't remotely expect Edogbo to be named, but I think Tom Ahern will be, he's started the season very well and offers something relatively unique in terms of skillset.
I find it hard to believe Henderson and Henshaw will be included to be honest. Henshaw looks past it now and his form is poor. Henderson hasn't done anything apart from sit on a physios table for about 3 years now.
It's important to win as many of these games as possible for rankings with the RWC draw being in December so Aki being there is fine with me, even if it's unlikely he will make the world cup.
I'm not confident in our loose heads beyond Porter. I think Milne is a poor scrummager and Boyle is still largely untested as well.
We'll need more stupidly long shifts from Porter over the next month.
Lets pick old players not up to the standard anymore, rather than promising young players who could be in 2 years.
The year is 2003...
The year is 2007...
The year is 2019…
Irish coaching forever
What has Henderson done to deserve inclusion?
Squad looks fine imo, maybe Hume could feel hard done by but that's about it.
There are some positions where we're just not overflowing with international standard talent at the moment. Bringing in players who aren't up to the required level isn't going to solve anything.
2 years pre World Cup the development panelist’s become key and there are a few vulnerable positions that need attention. GT is normally well pre informed so I suspect that’s close to the mark on selection. Overlap with A game also relevant
Ah here, Odogbo has like 20 min in the last 2 years and Soroka just isn't going to be covering lock at international level.
Anyway, I wouldn't get too exercised about this - Thornley doesn't have an in on the squad like he used to.
I don’t believe they will select a side that is that uninspiring.
There is no way he will select Henderson.
I bet the young centres will be selected as training panellist. Aki was always going to be picked. Henshaw doesn’t deserve it.
Why isn’t the squad selected after this weekends game?
Henderson getting picked is joke. He's well past it. Give one of the younger lads the slot. Ahern, Odogbo, Soroka. Nothing is gained from Henderson being there. Bryne should be there over Frawley, at least at OH.
Aki and Henshaw both being included, to the exclusion of every young centre in the country is ridiculous. How are none of Gavin, Cooney, Postlewaithe, Forde et al getting a shot here?
Positions where we are old as ****, Farrell is continuing to double down on.
squad according to GT in the IT
Forwards
Hookers: Dan Sheehan (Leinster), Rónan Kelleher (Leinster), Gus McCarthy (Leinster). Props: Andrew Porter (Leinster), Jack Boyle (Leinster), Michael Milne (Munster), Tadhg Furlong (Leinster), Finlay Bealham (Connacht), Thomas Clarkson (Leinster). Locks: Joe McCarthy (Leinster), James Ryan (Leinster), Tadhg Beirne (Munster), Cormac Izuchukwu (Ulster), Iain Henderson (Ulster). Backrow: Caelan Doris (Leinster), Josh van der Flier (Leinster), Ryan Baird (Leinster), Jack Conan (Leinster), Nick Timoney (Ulster), Cian Prendergast (Connacht).
Backs
Scrumhalves: Jamison Gibson-Park (Leinster), Craig Casey (Munster), Ben Murphy (Connacht). Outhalves: Sam Prendergast (Leinster), Jack Crowley (Munster), Ciarán Frawley (Leinster). Centres: Bundee Aki (Connacht), Robbie Henshaw (Leinster), Stuart McCloskey (Ulster), Garry Ringrose (Leinster). Outside backs: James Lowe (Leinster), Mack Hansen (Connacht), Jamie Osborne (Leinster), Jacob Stockdale (Ulster), Jimmy O’Brien (Leinster), Tommy O’Brien (Leinster).
not wanting to derail the thread too much here, but the lions team for the third test was also fairly weakened (bowe and flutely in the centres, monye back on the wing much as he played well in the end). if SA put out their first team against that lions team then realistically they would have won at a bit of a canter
Nope but feel free to start one!
Yeah, the ROG moment is reasonably amusing, but everything was falling apart around him and he was just trying to make a play (albeit done badly, but he was clearly concussed also). The whole team let that slip in the last 10.
If there's blame to be apportioned for the end of that test, BOD and Bowe carry more for me. The entire catastrophic sequence stems from BOD sparking himself with his illegal shot on Broussow. He's out of position for Habana's try, and then goes off. Rog gets run over trying to stop Fourie, but Bowe completely **** out of any tackle attempt when he was in a position to drive him into touch. Then for the infamous garryownen, he again doesn't chase the kick, leaving ROG to make a balls of it.
ROG owns his actions, but there were larger contributions from others.
Without going back and watching, in my recollection it was by some distance the most brain dead episode of those two games, with the caveat that ROG likely didn't know where he was after a head knock. The ball needed to go off the field, and everyone in the stadium knew it. Conceding the penalty was the chefs kiss, from an SA pov. F*ck it, let's refresh our memories. HIs defensive powers are on full display here. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Y1B9-ha7TP0
Hey folks, my apologies if this isnt the right place to ask but is there a thread for travelling fans to Chicago?
It's not really relevant.
O'Gara became a very successful player in spite of being a rubbish defender.
However, it's 25 years since he made his test debut; the game was very, very different back then and the emphasis on defence and structure in the modern game means that a) it's not at all certain O'Gara would have the same career if he was coming through now and more importantly b) Prendergast is really going to struggle if he can't improve.
Ah well, this is one eyed Leinster fans you're dealing with, bless them!
Mod Edit:
Warned
really?
that 1 penalty is what cost the lions? out of the whole 1st and 2nd test?
lets ignore the penalties given up by the lions and scored by Steyn throughout those tests, especially Vickery's scrumming in the first test.
Wednesday at 16:00