Not least, your description of this woman as a "breeder".
We'll all be cold in our graves before any Irish political party dares to go there.
How about "vessel"?
Foetal life support system?
No dignity in death that's for sure.
Zombie placenta?
Not quite 100% dead, but 'alive' enough to supply enough nutrients to the fetus until it could be ripped out at 6 months and 1.5lb weight, having had nothing like a normal prenatal experience. I shudder to think just how bad this child's life is going to be.
Doesn't matter. It's been born and that's all that counts…
Another US State strikes down its state's anti-abortion law. Wisconsin State Supreme Court struck down the 176 year-old law today, ruling 4-3 that it was superseded by newer state laws regulating the procedure, including statutes that criminalize abortions only after a foetus can survive outside the womb.
Feck right off.
https://www.rte.ie/news/regional/2025/0705/1522013-anti-abortion-rally/
Remember when we kept being told that opposition to abortion was nothing to do with religion?
Oh and…
Among this year's speakers is Aontú TD Paul Lawless.
No surprises there, the more they go on about their party's sole raison-d'etre not being abortion the more ridiculous it becomes
Pretty sure that was the point being made. I mean - you didn't really think the poster was using the word unironically?
Also various US anti-abortion grifters, no surprise there, follow the money.
What figure did they put on the abortions here this year, 10,000 or 50,000 yearly?
Officially, 10,852 in 2024.
From what i remember of the debate before the referendum that is pretty much the same as the estimated figures before it was legalised
I thought it was more like 7,000
yeah but nobody knows what the true pre-repeal figures were…
i have a very strong memory of it being around 10000. More than 5000 women who had an abortion in England gave an Irish address. Another 1000 or so abortion pills seized by customs. So extrapolating to those who had an abortion abroad who didn't give an Irish address and abortion pills not seized by customs (which is probably most of them sent) you soon get closer to 10000 than 7000.
You can be certain that the anti-choice types will say it was nearly zero before the 8th was repealed, and the numbers reported now post-repeal are much lower than reality. Math isn't their strong suit. They probably won't even mention the pre-repeal numbers, when they go crying to the media.
Doesn't matter what they say.
There was a vote in the Dail to allow a bill proposing to abolish the 3-day wait to proceed - defeated 73 to 71
It was a free vote
73 TDs should be ashamed of themselves
Plus the cowards like my local TD who abstained.
I don't follow any politicians on social media, but since yesterday, my feed has been filled with Peadar ( and about 5 other pro lifers) talking about how it was to legalise abortion up until birth. And one from Paul Murphy about how those posts are lies. It's kinda insane
Toibin has turned into a right little shít hasn't he.
Was this not always the case?
He used to make out that the only difference between him and SF was having a free vote on abortion. He's clearly moved way beyond that position (opportunism) and is leaning into all sorts of conservative catholic shite.
Not that I'd trust SF any further than I could throw them. An ethno-nationalist party with a thin veneer of left-liberalism appiled on top. Ask anyone who was involved in Repeal - they were arrivistes, bandwagoners. In 1983 their lot were beating the anti-amendment campaigners off the streets.
Holly Cairns has introduced a bill to update abortion laws, signs are good it will pass
Main purposes to remove the three-day wait for abortion services and to stop the need for people having to travel abroad in fatal foetal abnormality diagnoses
Speaking in the Dáil, Taoiseach Micheál Martin vowed that the Government would work “constructively” with Ms Cairns on her legislation and ensure there would be debate on it in the Dáil.
"work constructively" is an odd way to say "kill at the first opportunity"
We'll see what happens but the government didn't oppose Ruth Coppinger's latest abortion bill in its first stage
IMO it would suit Martin's purposes for Holly's bill to pass: the long-fingered changes to abortion law recommended in the O'Shea review would be implemented but the government would not be directly responsible…
Humphrey Appleby "speak" - thats a very courageous thing to do, minister. Coincidentally the "march for life" people are rallying in Dublin this bank holiday weekend.
Expect to see the usual totally-not-religious banners
Last December's bill was allowed to proceed by the government and was only narrowly defeated in a free vote, I'd expect them to allow this one to proceed also and as Loafing Oaf says, if it passes it's "plausibly deniable" for any govt TD who would rather do so
Even if this is the government's game it seems a shambolic way to run a country: if the Soc Dems had not come forward with this bill would the issue have been allowed to just drag on?
Was there not a process/timetable that should have been followed by the last government in the wake of the O'Shea review?
It's not a thing unique to us, there's a long tradition in Westminster of introducing legislation in relation to abortion and euthanasia as private members' bills and alllowing a free vote.
That's the complete opposite of what we did in 2018 but there was a strong mandate from the referendum for the government to legislate and the draft legislation had been published beforehand.
Maybe we should make it easier in general for a PMB to be put forward. The Dail could certainly sit longer than it does and that would allow more time for this (rather than, I hope, yet more performative SF and PBP shouting)
I'd of course rather the government had an explicit policy on this, provided that policy aligned with my views 😀 given the ruralindependidiots input into the programme for government, they could have adopted a policy of opposing any change on abortion which would have meant strangling at birth preventing implantation of any opposition proposal for liberalisation