How's the silage ground traveling this year?
Grazed off? Slurry out? Fert spread?
Or is it like a bog at the moment, a good year for rewetting.
Id be happy enough using regular urea with this weather…plenty of showers around now to get it into the ground quickly
How quickly would urea be washed in, there's a field of grass being cut this morning nearby , there was a fertilizer spreader spreading something yesterday evening in the field, while it was raining heavily
I went with some on PU on the second cut and can on another bit. It was what was in the yard. Will report over the coming weeks if any difference
I might do the same. Did you go with 70ish units?
60 units is. Will top up with watery slurry during the week
So with the weather broken when do ye think we will get a chance to cut? It’s not looking great for the week ahead, I’m doing all bales this year which makes it tricky for wilting etc…
Cut it last Wednesday evening and baled it Friday evening. It got a small spit of rain around lunch time Friday but we raked itnip and 3pm and started baling at 7pm
Around the 10th of June onwards looks promising from long range forecasts anyway. In no massive rush to cut myself anyway.
MMiNes ready from this weekend on dont know if i could wait another 10 days wouldn't do wonders for quality I'd say
ideally how long would you normally leave it down?
I’m something similar to you, so what will you do? Are you pit or bales?
i was hoping to go at my second cut in 10 days needs rain badly and its going to seed under stress ,might take it out anyway and start again.
It depends on the weather, if it's good and sunny 48 hours a bit less if it's really warm. I have left it 68-72 hours where it's dry but not great drying conditions.
if I was given a present of that shite decrease it …quality and consistency of it last year was pure rubbish
by looks of weather going to be well into next week at best before lads get moving again at silage ….going to be some massive crops of grass to cut then
I might have been lucky so, I must have got a good bageen somewhere, because it grew a nice thick cut.
But I'm not an expert, are guys buying normal Urea Always
Have you more to cut?
few strong paddocks all for now …first cut all done and second cuts off to a flyer
Back spreading normal urea here again
I have a few strong paddocks to cut myself,quality wise what should these be like?
my own view on storing paddocks is they can’t anywhere near as good quality wise as were led to believe….tgeres stem …good shot nitrogen and you’ll bring on cow shite as well
Better than a snowball tho 😂
well did anyone cut over the weekend??we had showers so didn’t get a chance, what would bales be like if they only got a wilt of maybe 20 hours in good blustery conditions? Weather not looking settled at all
cut few paddocks for bales Saturday …got rain Sunday morning but Tedder knocked that off in afternoon …bales dry yesterday …few self propelled crews out Sunday and yesterday but surprised more didn’t move if cut dry Saturday or Sunday afternoon would of been gathered fine
Just after mowing 5 acres of paddocks there this afternoon,will bale it tomorow after 2pm..be nice stuff now
Sound lads, if I was making pit silage I’d be chancing it this evening but it’s bales I’m doing and it’s very heavy stuff, would 20 hours be a good enough wilt? Possibly ted it out early tomorrow morning?
Be fine,Be less sap than early may stuff too so less moisture
pissed rain at home at dinner time today so cutting this evening is ruled out
early may silage was fine as regards sap…if you can Ted it out it’d crown it …amazing what few hours will do to a crop …lots wind and good drying arm
Cut it dry if at all possible, even cut dry directly before rain. Let it wilt it will continue to wilt even if it is rained on. I am not a huge fan of tedding unless weather will be dry. Silage is better in rows if there is a chance of rain. Row it up 4-6 hours before baling if possible to give the underneath of the rowes time to dry. Get it cut by a mower conditioner.
So cut dry, bale dry try not to worry too much about in-between. You do not want it to be rained on for 2-3 days but I would not be worried about showers.
disagree on Tedder …in short windows it’s near essential if you want to get it dry