same here was using a 18%nut but now due to regs14%
Dropped from 18 to 12 over the last 6 days.
How many kg of urea to the acre, do guys melt for the sprayer, for grazing. I might try a few acres. I can still see fertiliser that I spread a week ago. We got no rain here for a couple of weeks
About 1/3 of your normal rate e.g. 8 to 12kg/acre.
You probably know this but don't use protected urea, use 80 -100l/ acre of water.
In this weather spray early in the morning or late in the evening and about a week after grazing when there's leaf to take it up.
@ginger22 would give you more detail.
Could you use CAN instead of urea for foliar?
We use 16 Kgs to the acre. You will need a carbon source, Humates or molasses and you will need a mixing tank to melt the urea.
WWill The ban on untreated urea affect foliar applications
Il try a small bit first, I would be going with a bag of 27.2.5.5/acre, but it's very dry.
So say 16 kgs of urea, how much molasses (as I have some ) and how much water to the acre.
100 litres of water. I have never used molasses, always humates, but molasses would be the next best thing. I would imagine a couple of litres would do.
Will you need to change the sprayer nozzles?
No but you can try, always mix a sample in a bucket first, a bucket is cheaper than a sprayer!
I was thinking of 20L in a knapsack and spraying a few m2.
4 or 5 litres per acre of molasses per acre at 100 litres water per acre. Per acre.
Don't go trying CAN in a sprayer the lime, calcium element will block it. Those that want to use like that in a sprayer use Ammonium Nitrate. Can be got here even if hoo ha was made of it.
For liquid urea ordinary spray nozzles are perfect because it’s absorbed through the leaf. For liquid nitrogen you need special raindrop nozzles because it’s taken up through the soil. Liquid nitrogen sprayed through ordinary nozzles will burn the ring off the grass..and eat the booms of the sprayer.
I see here we got a bit of rain last night and you can literally see the grass growing today. Any bit of rain here and the cows would have to go in usually so when we are in a drought I can’t imagine for what it’s like for people in good land
I am on "good" land, but with how common droughts are becoming, what is good land anymore? To put it in context, I have 360ac of tillage on my bounds on one side.
To answer what you are saying, I have silage back in the diet to stretch grass and if no rain in the next ten days to a fortnight it will be close on full winter feeding. Over the last few years I have gotten to the stage that 30% of my silage is fed out during the grazing season because of mini droughts.
do you get to extend your grazing much at the shoulders to make up for the extra silage use
no great gain in the autumn but a huge boost in the spring if you can get out early
From the start of calving on 23rd January I have missed 3 days grazing this year. This year has been exceptional weather wise though but it's a huge help.
Would be similar here. Land cracking up here so will have to keep a serious eye on what grass is here. Have covers fit for silage. Waited to see what rain fell the weekend, feck all, so looks like I'll have to graze them.
There used to be a poster here from wicklow. From what I remember he used to feed an awful lot of silage in July August every year. Think iv fed every year since 2018
That dry ground in a low rainfall area is going to be worthless in another few years. Sell now while ye have the chance. 🤣😂
Solar panels, man!
Clean energy, etc. (apart from the materials, cost to build and transport, set up costs and maintenance, and eventual disposal)
40k an acre and I'll probably cash in
Take it if You can get it. Land like that is no good to anyone. 🤔
Hi lads, looking for some second hand cubicle mats and a few second mushroom cubicles cork area (I’m blarney/ Grenagh )
The Good Lord is after giving us an hour of foliar N laden thunder rain here, and me of little faith!
It's hard to know what land will be good land if the weather keeps acting up with climate change,and what it means for farming.
The pressure cycles really seem to be getting stuck in place for longer now, not to mind if the gulf stream starts to wobble.
I think this is a unique spell of dry weather, but we've been getting more and more late spring east influences with the last decade.
You must've prayed real hard for that, nothing but blue sky's here in midlands, ya'd forgive a lad for putting down a bit of hay looking at the outlook for the week ahead.
Visiting Dairy relations in Tipp atm and the drought is hitting one of their reseeds hard - the clover is coming threw but the grass is really struggling
Jeez what will it be like after another week of Sun and high temps on the way…..
128kg N for proper high yielding cows proposed for NI
You boys got off lightly with only the 3 bands, but then again most of you on here are nowhere near the 10,000 litres 😄