No not too dirty in fairness but the nematodirus forecast was advising to treat around now I think.
had a 3week old lamb today with such a severe lower leg brake I had to put it down … sickening is the word . Found it with back leg caught in wire and stuck down a dike , Easter Sunday of all the days . They would test you .
That is a scald ..and it was probably a great lamb..it would never happen a runt
Yes a great lamb is right ! But hey , there only sheep at the end of the day
strange one today. Fed ewes with lambs as normal this morning. Went to a match. Came back around 4 hours later and found a dead lamb stretched by the water trough. No damage, eyes still there etc, no evidence of an attack. He must be 3weeks+ at this stage and was a good heavy Cheviot ram lamb. Ewe had plenty milk and was searching him after I removed him. There was froth coming from his mouth when I found him. Wondering has anyone a hunch as to what could have happened
May have choked on the nut/ration
I should have clarified; lambs aren’t eating yet as far as I’ve seen. Maybe he nibbled one though and it done him..
is there any daffodils or bluebells or plants like that around? I had a couple frothing before and found that they had eaten bluebells in the corner of a field that they somehow had gotten into. I was told I was lucky not to loose them.
there’s a hedge around the perimeter but the froth was clear. We had a pet before that ate some and like yours had some froth at the mouth but it was green. I think the other man above was right about the nuts. I took more heed this evening and several lambs are eating from the trough with the ewes. So he could have gorged himself or choked…
What are youz using to treat joint ill in lambs ?
Have one here now in front shoulders injected 2ml of synulox twice today and twice yesterday . Has gotten worse tbh .
it’s always noroclav or Linco spectrum with cattle, thankfully I haven’t had it with sheep.
2ml Promox LA every second day for 8 days here anyway.
try penicillin,
whatever you use, you'll need to give it every day for a week plus. ,
We had no joint ill so don't know whats working this year.
An anti-inflammatory/ painkiller injection is a big help in the treatment of joint ill
Linconcil.
Have gathered up 4 lambs from the fields the past 2 days that just weren't up to scratch so put them in the pet pen. They range from a week to 3 weeks old. Can not for the life of me get them to suck the automatic feeder or a bottle, anyone any tips? I'm thinking donedeal is my only option but it's even late for lads looking for lambs for ewes now.
It's very difficult to get lambs to take lamlac after being a week on a ewe, but it could be due to them being terrified.
I see my cousin feeding lambs and leaving them with the ewe and there seems to be no bother, but, to me that's a pain in the a..e of a job as they can be difficult to catch.
At three weeks they'd go on with straw and a good quality pedigree crunch
Anyone ever try forward creep grazing with lambs?
Did a bit of a small homemade job here lately, but the lambs aren’t keen on going through… wondering if anyone has done it, and how did they get the lambs to find/use it?
If lambs are use to creeping on meal, we would but the creep feeder beside the gate into the fresh field of grass.
Found it works best on a fields that only have 2 adjoining corners together. Lambs aren't running up and down the fence trying to get back to their mother's.
Once they're use to it they can be moved to less suitable paddocks with a creep gate in the middle of the (field) fence
At what age can you click lambs, I'm away for the weekend and after getting a case of maggots in a ewe. Might click all the lambs, some only 10 days old???
i dont think it would do them any harm. there is a quantity per weight.
Would lambs that young need to be clicked?
lambs that age won’t need to be done unless they are very **** in back end.
I was thinking of clicking the lambs to help keep the fly away from the ewes.
jeez lost a fine big single in the field today. It caught it self up in wire and seemed to hang it self. Ffs. They would drive u mad.
Caught up last night with one of the foxes that have ruined my lambing, red filter finally arrived for my torch. He went from see a light and vanish, to sitting on his ass wondering what's that red thing? And over he fell.
had to get in 3 ewes this morning due to maggots so dagged the rest of them and sprayed dip on their backsides hopefully that will do as won.t be shearing for another month.and usually clit the lambs around the same time
Could be alot of maggots in the next few weeks with this weather
What weather are ye having?
Dry down in Cork since last week. Was talking to lads over the weekend and they are looking for rain for crops…
Spring crops are under pressure now and similar weather is forecast for the next fortnight as far as I can see
Yeah - that’s the worry… and we are getting a good drying breeze here most days as well…
We’re on dry ground here, we’re grand for now, but if we don’t get rain for 2 weeks with this wind and sun, things will soon start going backwards…