A girl I work with lives in Blanchardstown, she drives daily to Summerhill in her car. Why t f?
What’s wrong with a modest hatch back?
She’s unmarried and no kids. What the f does she need it for?
also, the current aygo - the X - now scores 74% for pedestrian rating. which is higher than for the latest XC90 rating (i'm not sure why there's no XC90 rating newer than 2015, though)
https://www.euroncap.com/en/results/toyota/aygo%2Bx/46259
if i was a betting man, i would suspect the XC90 did score better initially because of the extra tech, which volvo are famous for, and because this was its most expensive model. in short, i suspect it's price point which is in play here - which allows them room to include the extra tech - rather than form factor.
but now the technology is available at a much cheaper price point. just spitballing.
”SUV arms race” 🤣🤣😂😂 What a load of sh1te! Give your head a wobble
😂😂I thought that was a joke 😂😂😂
I see you need words explained to you in simple terms, maybe you'll be able to understand words next time?
The phrase "SUV arms race" usually refers to how car buyers — especially in places like the U.S. — keep choosing bigger and bigger SUVs in response to what other people are driving.
Is that easy enough for you both to understand or shall I keep going with more simple words?
Its a stupid term used to instill a certain type of thought regarding a specific topic. Anyone with any sense of cop on wouldn't use it. As I've said a few times now, I'm not a fan of SUV type cars, but I certainly have no problem with them or why someone wants to own one. I've also never had an issue with them on a road either, it just seems for some who dislike them for whatever reason, they'll find every and any excuse to try justify their dislike.,
Thank you oh great intelligent one for explaining the daft term to mere plebs. There is no way I would have understood it without your generous guidance. I’ll file it in the bullsh1t section with Motonormativity, Active Travel, Traffic Evaporation and all the other made up bullsh1t terms
If you're capable of having a discussion without being childish then I will engage with you after this response, otherwise /Ignorelist.
you’re comments such as “maybe you'll be able to understand words next time?” and “Is that easy enough for you both to understand or shall I keep going with more simple words?” was more patronising and childish than either responses you got .
Sometimes you have to go down to a certain level to get your point across.
Doesn't matter what your feelings are about the phrase, most people understand it and it will continue to be used.
There are many rational reasons not to like oversized private passenger vehicles, so you don't respect those reasons..the debate is over so.
Can’t really call someone out on being childish and then do the same yourself.
For every rational reason for not driving a large vehicle , there is also a rational reason for driving one .
Yes there are, I accept that. But there are also rational reasons to consider them important or useful,. I. E. Safety
It’s important not to take these people too seriously and to continue to call out their nonsense. At the same time, they’re not worthy of much energy. Your man who’s educating us here epitomises the Dunning–Kruger effect!
At the same time, they’re not worthy of much energy
if you don't feel like an argument is worth the energy, why sustain it? the last ten posts have just been a pissing contest, not a debate.
NCAP rating concerns more with prevention then safety in the event of a crash. Simple physics would tell you size and weight becomes more important when hitting a human who is a fraction of the vehicles weight.
It could be 100% if it prevented all crashes during testing but at the end of the day humans make mistakes. You cannot prevent all crashes.
If you cannot instantly see the problem when these comparisions are given then I don't know what to say..
The car I drive (Toyota Auris Hatchback) vs a Ford Explorer 6 (Picked first SUV type I saw). Love it when my head is only at their door handle.
If you need an SUV type, go ahead. However I'm betting the majority of the people driving them don't have 3+ kids and need that much space.
Another good reason NOT to
https://www.reddit.com/r/therewasanattempt/comments/1hesk88/to_own_a_practical_car/?utm_source=share&utm_medium=web3x&utm_name=web3xcss&utm_term=1&utm_content=share_button
Yeah. The first one you found. A full size 8 seater US model not available in Ireland. How convenient.
Having said that, it's as big as a large van. And there are plenty of vans on the road.
Dare I say it's "uncivil"?
It's also against site-wide rules to talk about putting someone on your ignore list.
Doubt there are any mod's here who care though.
No need to go to America for large cars or get all in a tizzy over lads with deficiencies driving Rangers. Here's is the comparison between a climate change bashing EV and the Auris. I've yet to hear the usual suspects criticise the 'EV size race'. Same people are too busy belching about diesel fueled Rangers and Range Rovers
A bit sad really, skulking around filming a woman with obvious mobility issues.
We don't know her back story or why she had to resort to that solution.
#be nice
i must have missed all the 'huge cars are fine if they're EVs' talk.
She had to resort to that solution because she acquired a grossly oversized tank instead of a car.
Why what?
Why do I want to know where you got your figures from?
Because it looks like you're making stuff up to bolster your point, and coming off as a sanctimonious so-and-so because of it, which is desperate stuff altogether.
Why, you ask? Because I think you're telling porkies in order to look good on the internet, that's why.
What's all this?
You asked how I knew the SUV was getting fined for parking in a disabled bay?
Answer: Image was taken from the Garda Facebook page stating the fact. Which is publicly available for you to check.
Care to wind your neck back in?
You've ignored half my post, why is that?
Oh, it's because you are completely and utterly intellectually dishonest, I see. Never mind, so, no need to reply. I'll just add you to the ignore list.
A hairdressers 4 wheel drive😉.
Mostly due to it being nonsense.
I'd be concerned poor old Tenzor07 would crush the pearls he was tightly clutching when he witnessed the horror of the scandously wide Ranger if he was unfortunate enough to witness the environmentally friendly EV9 parked