New season so time to open the spring thread.
Will we get an improvement from the previous two stinkers? Time will tell.
A mostly cloudy and dry start in Dublin 13 with any rain spreading southeast fizzling out.
According to the app on my phone it's been raining in Gorey all afternoon. There hasn't been a drop of rain here all day.
Edited as its just started lashing now. So I assume it's down for the night!!!
Christ it’s cold. Easter usually colder than Christmas.
'The wind It go through ye it's no place for the old'.Just finished mowing the lawn before the rain (snow) arrives .Baltic
Half way through April and some impressive rainfall totals around the country. 2024 April rainfall in brackets.
Dublin Airport = 1.1mm (70)
Athenry = 6.4mm (100)
Valentia = 7.3mm (124)
Markree = 5.8mm (100)
Dunsany = 2.6mm (72)
Gurteen = 1.6 (76)
Another beautiful sunset out west.
Dublin receiving some of the weather pattern usually being seen on the west coast
It’s a wet wintry evening in Arklow
6.2c in the rain outside but feels a lot colder
A night for a tall stool
Another colourful sunset in Dublin but this one was brief. Red sky at night, Shepherd's delight… normally the case when high pressure builds from the west but this time the weather system (the rain) is coming from the opposite direction.
Ditto That Sryan. Could see the weather building from the east while the sun set in the west.
The acoustics of the flat roof in our bedroom make it sound much worse than it actually is but it has sounded like a full on monsoon here in D3 since around 2330. Supposed to get worse too. Can't remember rain this bad for a long time.
a vile night in Arklow
20.4mm since midnight
Min of 2.6c so Lug is probably plastered if I could see it
Currently 3.4c with a wind gusting near 60kmh making it feel -2.2c on the Davis
Yip snow on Lug.
2⁰ on the hills
Raining at my back door. Wicklow
monsoon has started, won’t be leaving the gaff for a month
Any pictures of snow from wicklow etc..
visibility not great from my location but there’s some on higher ground west of Arklow
Snow level came down to about 200 metres which meant snow ,un forecasted snow fell in populated areas
Bitter morning on the Kilkenny-Laois border. No snow on the hills 320m approx, but with temperatures dropping below 4c now it might get wintry up on the hill tops before this system moves off north.
From DCC
From Carlow weather. Plenty of snow.
Over 28mm of rain so far today, wettest since January 5th when my station recorded 39.8mm, could easily get close to that today.
Snow above hell fire club military road to enniskerry
Rain might be a bit more extensive than forecast. Turned very heavy just now.
Lovely Bright day in Fota, fair chill in the breeze but sunlight taking the edge off it.
Wow @Meteorite58
Such a contrast across the wee island.
Damp, cold, visibility poor. Wicklow Hills. 5⁰
Isn't it huge , families having picnics, nice in the shade but cool in the breeze, grand out will take it.
On WOW Valentia recorded 0.4c last night. Readings for every 30 minutes so I wonder did it make it to 0c in between. It’s mean number of days for an air frost in April is 0.2. A very cold night for there in to the latter half of April.
0.3C was the final low on its synop.
Unusually, Dublin area in general was wettest today. At least i wont need to water my hydrangea plants this week.
a very wet and cold day here in Meath, easily the most rain I've seen since the 30+ hour cold rain event in the first week of January.
If this system had of been 7 weeks earlier it would have been a decent snow event...
still from a video driving across Sally gap in Co Wicklow this morning