If you see a job that needs doing..
Plus a lot of the areas in the USA are drought prone, so a far greater need to conserve water in the soil with heavier covers of grass etc.
It is
When we had cows it was a 5-6 month full on wintering. Shocking expensive. Dairy beef suits us much better and we can have stock with paddock access 365.
That's only going to get worse, the rain there is moving towards the arctic. About 10 degrees towards it already.
Needs to happen - saw a report last year that said that 70% of EU soils are degraded/degrading. I can see it myself around North Mayo, steady loss of peat and soil covers on hills and mountains due to issues with overgrazing(increasingly by deer), Wind Farm construction, Spruce plantations and their clear cutting, Rhodendron infestation etc. Its the same in any high rainfall region, loss of natural vegetation = increased erosion, flooding, pollution etc.
Anyone having issues logging onto agfood. Browser keeps timing out and says site can't be reached.
We have experienced more drought like conditions over the past few years though. March was one of the dryest on record.
https://www.irishtimes.com/environment/climate-crisis/2025/04/08/europe-just-had-warmest-march-on-record/
Changing methods to combat drought will be more of an issue here in years to come, obviously we're not looking at a dust bowl or anything but if we didn't have to Atlantic systems due next week to bring rain, lads would be seriously beginning to panic for grass.
No problem here. I was on it a about an hour ago doing cattle movements.
Is that you George ,one fine month and ye start yapping about a drought ,doubt you will ever a big problem in this country with that problem.
Droughts have been an issue in Ireland for the last 7 or 8 years, do you not remember 2018 summer?
What ever about droughts we have been getting consistent east winds for a good number of years around this time of year, even with rain which was unheard of 30 years ago.
If you remember that year we had a late spring land was wet well into May and then it dried up too quick ,that was the problem as even wetish ground went rock hard. That Autumn made up for it with abundance of growth up to Christmas. You are talking trough your hole saying drought is a problem in this country!!
Autumn grass is no good in April's if you've cows to go out or ewes lambing... or fields without a water supply.
Drought most certainly has caused issues here in recent years.
It never rained on my farm that year from May 29th until August 10th. The silage crop was pathetic. Animals had to be kept in specific fields which had water. Sheep on the hills had none and had to come down low where there were bog drains which some subsequently fell into and died in trying to get a drink.
Ahh I don't know lads i remember the place being burnt brown on more than one year way back when I was a young laddeen . Now I do think we're getting way wearer spells of weather and more intense rain as well but drought ....I'd have my doubts . The east wind blows every year without fail and the north wind as well along with it
Eh it was a severe drought, the severe drought was the problem, not "land drying up too quick" I know plenty who were in serious bother that summer. Growth in autumn did shag all help for animals that had to be sold because they were half starved in July.
I eventually got logged on with Vivaldi. None of the others could login to the site. Tried chrome, chromium, edge, Firefox and opera, all timed out trying to reach site.
I only log onto Agfood on the laptop via Firefox cause the screen is larger so I can see it easier.
My neighbour on the driest farm in the parish had grass all that summer stacked at 90 cows on 70 acres ,maybe if you looked after your land properly with lime ,fertiliser and reseeded it you would not have to sell off half starved animals after only a month of dry weather!!
A drought to me would be a camel in the desert, not a few weeks without rain in Ireland
If you have issues with drought year-in year-out then do something about it!
If you have issues with rain and soft ground year-in year-out then do something about it!
We all have different types of land, soil, systems, attitudes, time/labour, etc.
I didn't have to sell anything, I said I knew people who did, my land is fine thanks for your concern. And less of the insulting sh1te please.
I saw silage being baled today in ballinahown.
Amanda Knox getting a big round of applause on the late late. It’s sick.
Same near dalystown, think they were just cleaning off dirty land.
Still no word on Mike Gaine the missing farmer in Kerry. It's awful after all the searches.
FFrom The outside looking in it's very strange that he's not been found but I gather it's very wild terrain in places unless it something more sinister and the remains were transported out of the imitate area
As I posted previously the Army was brought in to do a grid search.
God bless his wife and family cause I don't how I could cope.
Could still be alive being held captive for all anyone knows. Area sounds like the literal wild west. And sure with drug gangs everywhere now nobody knows anything of any landowners who they'd sure and target for that land use.
A farmer in the southeast had a dealing with a drugs gang. He did away with himself over it. His parents had his body cremated because the gang would be digging his coffin up to extort money from the parents. My father hearing of this was wondering where the guards were in this. But it's really the times we're in now.
Sweet merciful Jesus. That is horrendous 😢
This is far from the Wild West, thanks very much. Have you never been to Killarney or Kenmare for a weekend? It's a very well populated thriving area.
It's pretty well known locally what happened to Mike and why.
People getting fairly annoyed with the carry on of AGS saying "rumours aren't helpful" at this stage. They left the whole world walk through and touch the potential crime scene for 48 hours...
Missed the quote. Try again.