The shouting and roaring is because of decisions she has made or the government has made that she appears to be tacitly approving. It's nothing to do with her being a woman. If another one of the Lowry independents was the ceann, I'd expect the same issue, regardless of their gender.
I don't normally listen to this show.
I turned it off the minute the immigration issue was raised. Spin, spin, spin. Again.
The rest of the show was ok but nothing special.
Back to LBC I go.
I didn't say anything to the contrary. I pointed out the hypocrisy of those who I think would be be very quick to call it misogyny of all things (e.g. Alison O'Connor in relation to Jim O'Callaghan) if Verona Murphy was a politician of a different leaning, regardless of the merits. Her Jim O'Callaghan comment was ridiculous imo, but she wasn't alone at the time.
I did say that the whole Verona Murphy circus could be reasonably looked at from the perspective of sexism compared to other 'incidents' (e.g. the Jim O'Callaghan situation), not that it definitively is sexism.
My main point is about the deafening silence from those who'd usually, in a heartbeat, use this whole thing as an example of misogyny but won't now because it doesn't suit them this time.
Isn't it like 200k per year that Brendan gets paid, for four hours a week spent allowing guests do the lifting for him?
€245k for around 40 weeks per year
I was expecting him to have this weekend off because of the hour less in bed, but fair play to him he soldiered through it. Easter coming up anyway.
I caught maybe 90seconds of yesterday’s show. One of the male contributors said “pacific” and “pacifically” (instead of specific and specifically) several times in that timeframe and that was enough for me to switch off - there are few things that annoy me more than that. Truth also be told I was asked/told to turn it off by the lady of the house.
The topic (of course) was Trump. This was just after 11 btw, when one would have thought the Verona Murphy/Dáil behaviour last week/Lowry would have been the first subject of the day; but no, let’s all look at the nasty orange man. RTÉ already paying back that €700+m. I was genuinely surprised to hear BO’C back too, assumed he’d be still off.
This being the radio forum most of us probably know that radio programmes don't materialise by magic.
Not at 10.59 on Saturday and Sunday, not ever.
A wedge of €245k would more than compensate for the work incurred in programmes like that, don't you think?
Lets not gild the lily too much, dude.
boc will probably apply for the voluntary redundancy.
Is he not a contractor so wouldn't be eligible ?
It was a tongue in cheek comment.
He's on the pigs back, why would he want to give up that gig?
The Newspaper Panels for the first 13 Sundays of 2025. 32 unique panelists, and 10 with 2 appearances, including Alison O'Connor. Only one outing for Brenda Power.
(Dearbhail) Aidan Regan, Gráinne Ní Aodha, Cormac Lucey, Dr. Clíona Ní Cheallaigh.
Dr Graham Finlay, Gerard Howlin, Sarah McGuinness, Sinead McSweeney.
Harry McGee, Brenda Power, Larry Donnelly, Susanne Rogers.
David W. Higgins, Prof Niamh Hourigan, Finian McGrath, Alison O’ Connor.
Johnny Fallon, Gina London, Elaine Loughlin, Máire Treasa Ní Cheallaigh.
Mick Clifford, Lorna Fitzpatrick, Mary Hanafin, Scott Lucas.
Hazel Chu, John O’Brennan, Sarah McGuiness, John Fitzgerald.
Louise Burne, David Quinn, Dr Graham Finlay, Louise Bayliss.
Harry McGee, Brigid Laffan, Peter Brown, Tanya Ward.
Michael Kelly, Dr Emma Howard, Bobby McDonagh, Alison O’Connor.
(Dearbhail) Lucinda Creighton, Daniel Murray, Siobhán Fenton, Scott Lucas.
Mick Clifford, Cormac Lucey, Dr JoAnne Mancini, Louise Bayliss.
Gerard Howlin, Susanne Rogers, Dan O’Brien, Natasha Maimba.
Plenty of doctors there fortunately, in case anyone faints.
I'm sure the producers and researchers help Brendan carry the heavy workload.
Certainly, it's a team effort.
Enjoying the chat with John Lydon but the sound quality is awful…sounds like he's in the jacks. Surely they should be able to improve it or get him to do something at his end, but maybe Lydon told them to feck off.
Backroom staff on 28,000 a year.
Problems with lines, people being cut off, and poor sound quality for callers are literally daily issues on RTE radio. It's far worse than it was 20 years ago, for all the new technology.
Yes. Back when it was all good old fashioned phone lines, I can't remember the regular problems with calls dropping etc. we get now (seems to be a frequent thing on Morning Ireland).
Nearly every guest on Drivetime has issues with their line.
Line issues all the time on TodayFM too.
It's this new tech, it has a terrible up time. If any other industry was so full of failures, it would have gone out of business.
not in RTÉ they’re not.
Brenda Power back again on the panel!
what else would she be doing on a sunny Sunday morning…😵💫
Stephanie pressnier.. who BOC referred to as “voice of her generation “ was always on and is now conspicuous by her absence, not that lm complaining, she’s a dose, even more so after her adult autism diagnosis…
I've had the dubious pleasure of being in the same room as her, I could tell you stories…..all I’ll say is “I agree with your post”.
It's all in your heads about Brenda Power constantly being on the show.
Good to hear her back again!
She was missing 19 out of the last 20 Sundays. I made the note about her because of disinformation on the thread previously.
Come on Peter- spill the beans. Give us something.😉