They're off.
Left off 15 heifers yesterday. They weight from 365 to 565. Heaviest a Sim, lightest an Frx. They have been gaining about 0.5kgs per day inside on silage and minerals. They went out to a scarfice paddock last Tuesday and ate two bales to yesterday when I left them off to grass. Hope to start feeding them mid April and send them off late May early June. 5 FRx, 2Fr,4HEx, 2AAx, a Chx and a SIx
What price is concrete down there? I’ve lost track of it up here with all the increases. Was thinking of doing a yard here in front of a couple of sheds. It’ll have to be done to help keep some money away from the tax man this year.
Here in the SE good ground is not growing no matter which way it's facing. It's very cold at night daytime temperatures are good but offset by nighttime.
Quoted from 140-155/ cubic meter for 35N20. Negotiated with one supplier for 145 . Those prices are Inc vat and levy.
How's the milking going for you any any sign of some more Youtube videos coming ?
You could see the grass growing here at the start of the week, it's after stalling the boat now on higher/exposed paddocks, I'd say the foghorn will be sounded by teagasc next week re growth rates, 40 day rounds/pk etc, for anyone on lighter soils
The bit of rain we had last night really greened up the place.
feck all growth here for me anyways. The wind would skin ya most days.
I'm into something of a routine with milking now but it was a tough few months.
I haven't had time to do a video. And I'm probably not ready yet to describe how it went without it sounding like a right whinge 😂
Got concrete in Galway last week, 30n with a 20mm chip. All in delivered 125e a cubic meter for 18 meters. Rang 3 different places, there was only a fiver between the 3
Who was the cheapest ?
Esker
Sounds a lot cheaper than round here.
Back to the fertilizer, are ye going out with protected urea in this weather or is it a waste of time until a bit of moisture comes?
I prefer ordinary urea than protected. If you have grass covers the PU will probably be OK as dew in morning will break it down but it will take 10-12 days for ot all to break down. However ordinary urea will be grand
what about on bare paddocks? Have can here as well as the protected urea.
I be slow using PU on bare paddocks now enough moisture. However if you can spread some with can and some with PU it about the only way to be sure. I buy very little PU
Thanks bass. First time trying the pu. Might wait until there is a bit of rain coming before I go out with it.
I’d be slow to put out any type of fertiliser on bare paddocks in this weather. If there’s a bit of cover, then you have a chance with the dew and shake late in the evening.
I still have no issuewith 18-6-12 or 15-20 units of urea. PU is a different story. Fertlizer will not grow grass in the bag. I see lads that have spread little or nothing have no grass or no regrowths.
shaking on bare pastures - it’ll sit on the top of the ground.
grazing ground that got slurry a month ago has good covers on it now. Does it need a bag of can to the acre or should it be until after being grazed?
When do you plan to graze it?
If it’s within a week or 2 I’d be inclined to graze before spreading anything in it. Especially if it has a cover on it
I be inclined to spread just before grazing as if this day spell continues it will be important to give regrowth every chance. However I be using urea or PU 15 units of N plenty for grazing rotations
Wel my preference would have being urea but pu in drier weather but I thought this was too dry. Plan was to use the pu with sulphur to sweeten the ground after the slurry
There shoikd still be moisture at bottom of sward. If you spread before it's grazed it will take 4-7 days before Urea starts to work.
How much would you put out to the acre 1/2 bag or 3/4 bag ?
It would depend on the product used. At present I use sulphur in all products this early in the seasons. If you have not hit magic day it's only days away. Grass is bursting or starting to burst. At my stocking rate I be happy with 15 units of N.
If it 46% urea a third of a bag per acre. If it's 40%+s a bit less than half bag etc
100% - I put out 18-6-12 a couple of weeks ago and walked the ground yesterday and can still see it sitting there so my advice is spread nothing until rain is on the way unless you've plenty of money to be buying more.
if it is still sitting there will it not be used she. The rain comes?
What's left may be used alrit but how much will be lost and evaporated by then is the question.
It's turning to powder.