If you see a job that needs doing..
2 kids with the vomiting bug here. Something for me to look forward to now in a few days
Very competent performance imo from minister Peter Burke on primetime just now re the trump tarriffe announcement and how it might play out.
Half the household down with a virus here too. Like yourself there's no way I'm going to avoid it either.
yea kids had it last week and I have it now .in the middle of lambing. Worst possible time. don’t know whether I’m coming or going. had a sheep inspection yesterday but went all fine . Thankfully
lads I have a trailer tyre of the rim. So won’t hold air. I tried the explode the tyre back onto the rim with a drop of petrol. It did g work. I nearly burnt out the tyre 😂
How do ye experts do it.
Safest bet, put a lorry strap around the tyre as tight as possible, others use lynx
yea I tried the lorry strap as well but still wasn’t sealing .
What size wheel is it, there’s a big difference in a 10” ifor Williams wheel and a super single lorry wheel.
Your local tyre man is probably the best bet.
Can of easy start.
I’ve paid him 4 times to come out and do it. Over past few years. He is to get a tube for it. Every time u go use the trailer it’s flat.
it’s a flotation wheel of a Fleming 12 ft trailer. 400/35/16
Use the cheapest lynx type of spray, but put a bead of cheap silicone on the rim first. Fill with slime then.
Handy yoke to have if yer at tyres, seen a lad before with a homemade one off an air tank off a truck.
Also handy to clean out drains by blasting air down the pipe. Done it a couple of times around the house instead of getting rods at it
Trump just rolled out the tariffs. Christ, he's hard to listen to.
What's the difference between tariffs and VAT, surely they are one and the same thing, just a different name.
…..
VAT is applied to domestically produced products too, tariffs are not afaik. There are probably other differences too.
Yep, VAT is added to everything. Convienently though Trump ignored that the US adds Sales Tax to things they sell and that's not included in the figures for comparison as used by him/the US government
The figures used were so badly made up that the VAT correction still wouldn't have made them realistic.
like everything else he does, a half arsed hatchet job 🙄
Turns out, the "tariffs" charged to the US, or claimed to be charged, are nonsense (who could have guessed?). They are the trade deficit/surplus/2
https://www.ft.com/content/8c8062e5-2744-40ea-ad8d-40073782e51d
"The formula the US used, although the White House explanation was dressed up in formal language of economics modelling, is in fact incredibly simple and will be regarded as bizarre by economists. It assumes that deficits entirely reflect trade policy — something no serious economist accepts — and divides the 2024 US goods deficit for each country by that country’s exports. Dividing that number by two generates the so-called “reciprocal tariff”, except that even countries with which the US runs a surplus get a 10 per cent “baseline tariff”.The White House also said that the “reciprocal” US tariff could be reduced by the country taking trade or security actions to align itself with the US, meaning the number is to be used to coerce foreign governments into doing whatever Trump feels like."
A company that exports all their products or exports assets bought in Ireland pay no vat on anything.
Tariffs are based solely on imports, in effect a barrier to import.
Vat is based on value of products and what these products are used for, vat is reclaimable, tariffs are not.
I see he applied tariffs to 57 countries and trading unions, including some islands 2000km south of Australia that no one lives on, but somehow forgot to tariff Russia, Belarus, Hungary, North Korea and Iran. only Putins buddies escaped. Amazing coincidence. And some people still don’t believe Putin has him by the nuts 😂.
I would say "Heard Island and McDonald Islands" are getting the most google hits ever.
Hungary is in the eu therefore has a 20% tariff same as Ireland
Next time your vegan friend lights up about animal farming.
https://www.pressreader.com/uk/scottish-daily-mail/20250403/281925958828901?srsltid=AfmBOop4j20049Sv9sz23ROvuUTH30G96g2bfmzBs9nGu8NtQ7-kOX6y
There's an advert on TV that is getting me really cranky. It's the aldi one about the family getting broken down on the way to the party.
They all blame the father for not putting fuel in the car, but she's driving the fecking thing. Is she so dumb that she can't read a dial or see a light on. Meanwhile they are shovelling shiite in to the chubby kids
That ad is a total headwrecker.
Is the ad not that they’re pretending to be broke down so they can enjoy their food?