So the balls-up has started since last night which makes Fairview from clontarf to Edges corner a single lane with bollards down the centre.
This will be a permanent feature and works will take 21 months.
It's a short term storage van that's parked up there for the past few months, not Mattress Mick
Some legend wrote "WANKER" beside Mattress Mick's head on the van that's permanent dumped opposite dart station
I’d imagine you’ll find it’s the same guy.
yes, but i assume when you state it's on your own land, it's private access only?
road traffic laws apply to publically accessed land, even if it's privately owned; e.g. supermarket car parks. i guess the issue here could hinge on whether the plot in question actually constitutes part of the footpath.
I think that may have been a garage just up Charlemont Lane selling them. Could well have gone out of business at this point.
There used to be a car salesman using that plot for years, there was regularly 4/5 cars parked on the footpath either side of the bridge with price tags on the windows. Anyone know what happened to him? Wonder if he was told to move or just went out of business?
I've got footpaths on my own land. I don't think there's any laws that state I can't park on them.
The Gardaí are reluctant to get involved with illegal parking on other areas under the charge of the council. I doubt they'd be inclined to weigh in on parking on land that has disputed ownership.
How long has this guy been using this land though? The time period for adverse position is a lot higher for land that isn't privately owned, right?
does the law about parking on footpaths only apply to publicly-owned footpaths?
if not, one option could be for the council to request the gardai - who are only a stones throw away - to get involved.
By the sounds of things I'd be surprised if due diligence on the works Westwood or the council conduct re: tree felling.
A real substantial environmental accessment and licence have to be obtained prior to such an operation.
Almost had an accident along the park yesterday. Shortly before 9am, so busy lane, and I was overtaking another cyclist. And as often happens, someone cycling the wrong direction almost crashed into me.
April 1st isn't until next Tuesday.
A problem that wouldn't exist if they had built it as a two way cycle path along Fairview Park………
It is great that new cycle paths are being built, but they really aren't building them to a good enough standard.
I have heard that they are going to be moving the bike lane to the outside of the parking along Fairview Strand, particularly from Edge's corner along by Tesco.
Very poor visibility when turning up Fairview Ave and in at Fairview Motors. I have both cycled there and driven in my car turning left. It is quite scary as you can't see the bikes flying out of town until they are almost on you.
Some very close incidents (and probably some actual bangs). So the digging will recommence along there!
The c**t is constantly parked outside the fire brigade in north strand too for free advertising. Wrecks my head. Taking parking from the elderly and disabled etc. etc. only seems to matter when bike lanes are involved.
I've been meaning to let the air out of the tyres or do something to it for ages.
Probably be a long, drawn out, battle. Council have already admitted it's not their land. Wait and see how it plays out in court I guess. Maybe they'll just pay they guy off.
I think this was raised on this thread previously, but it looks like the council are looking into that van permanently parked on the footpath and being used as a bit of free advertising.
https://citizenhub.dublincity.ie/report
Bit late to reply to this, but just in case anyone is looking to report anything to the council……
Ah sure just plant a couple of saplings somewhere else, be grand.
Oh I know, but we've feck all trees in this country as is and they've done this.
Plot twist: they don’t. Nothing happens.
Expanding the car park would undoubtedly require planning permission so even if DCC have no objection to them expanding it, they will not be happy if Westwood are taking into that. Generally leases require property to be handed back in the same condition as it was handed over. If that's the case, Westwood certainly won't be able to achieve that now and I don't think ripping out a load of mature trees can be covered under dilapidations.
I'm no nimby but live nearby and am appalled. They already f*ck up traffic and buses in the area. I hope they pay a heavy price.
Again though, it'll most likely come down to what's in the lease agreement. Without knowing what's in there, it's impossible to know exactly what rights they have, or have not, as may be the case.
Entirely possible that everything that Westwood has done is legal, if distasteful. For example, a lease agreement clause to "manage" the land would probably be enough to allow them to cut everything bar trees down.
The other thing I'd point out here is that the council itself are quite supportive of Westwood having this carpark, and I think that they'd have no objection to them expanding it either. Councillors, on the other hand, are not exactly on the same page.
In saying that, doing something that's basically guaranteed to cause massive outrage is not exactly the best way of going about something like this.
EDIT: Ah, just got access to the full article, and yeah, it seems Westwood don't really have a leg to stand on here. Bizarre stuff. Down a country lane, yeah, maybe you'd get away with it, but Clontarf is one of the worst areas for NIMBYs in Dublin
The Dublin Inquirer article linked earlier says that they did not have permission.
If they have it leased are they entitled to butcher the trees?
Nope. Not a word. It’s almost as if people who didn’t want a cycle lane were just using tree felling as an excuse.
Westwood seems to be run by clueless teenagers, so I wouldn't exactly say that's a smoking gun at all.
Most likely, Westwood are going to rely on the terms of the lease to defend themselves on this, and knowing DCC, I would say that there's loopholes aplenty in it. I'm less sympathetic to DCC on this actually, as Westwood have been engaging with them over the last few years, and as far as I can see, DCC has essentially told them that the traffic issues aren't their problem, and that Westwood has to sort it out on their own. Considering the lack of options, this was always going to be the likely result.
I would say the answer to that is most certainly 'yes'.
No comment is standard operating procedure for any business when contacted by the media. I wouldn't read too much into it.
Westwood didn't respond for comment to DublinInq, so I doubt that's the case