My understanding of US tariffs is that its the US consumer, personal or business, pays the money to the US government.
So while the Irish based company might drop their prices a little to compensate, I'm not sure it'll wipe out their profits.
Your very wrong what price was milk in 2009 dont think it was good beef and sheep were no better if theres a recession people cut back spending.
Potential Tariffs on Dairy exports are another issue - already Trump has said he plans to tariff Canadian Dairy imports. Will the EU fare out any better with the Orange menace???
worked for proctor and gamble for 10 years ..remember my first day all sop(standard operating providers)and load of other shite to do ….first one gave 30 minutes been showed how to correctly tape a box🙄
Anyone ever milk 10-in-7?
I saw the following routine in a WhatsApp group:
oh they’re absolutely brutal, I saw one of them go frantic one morning and stop a gang of lads from working because we didn’t spread salt on the footpaths when the temperature dropped to 4 degrees!! I said to him I wouldn’t like to be taking whatever yer making if ye think water freezes at 4 degrees
We took a fair wallop from 2008-11 in agricultural. I woukd never wish for a sevear downturn a correction maybe. I remember lads outside construction wishing that in 2005/6. And you have younger people now thinking a downturn will throw up a load of cheap houses like 2008-14. In a recession government's have to squeeze everything.
HHowever TBF to the government they have not being spending all the corporation taxes. They have the rainy day funds which should shelter us a while.
Will skilled workers relocate ya the lad in design etc on 200k+ might. The process engineer who's wife is a teacher, the production manager etc will not.
However the biggest issue is the ordinary worker. After the GATT in 1998 government's had a choice you could give money which was generated by it back in tax to th e well.off or you could develop your health and education systems. In Europe we did the latter in the US they did the former.
Only 50% of children who start primary education in the US go to college. In Ireland it's 80%+. Our secondary school education is away better on average as well. We would be top of the league in Europe for amount going to third level which is 20% ahead of the US.
It's not the education level the design or research people is catching the US it the average worker on the floor.
that sort of stuff is for ppl that have low borrowings and aren’t very exposed. Someone well established
You’re starting out and you need as much milk as possible. I know you’re working aswell which is hard to balance but that’s my opinion on OAD and 10in7 etc
only thing I’d have to say about 10/7 is there must be some amount of milk bred out of cows if considering that ….either milk oad or traditional twice …messy as regards labour too
You just can't beat routine for man and beast.
Thanks for the replies lads. I’m just looking at the pros and cons of different options at the moment.
The only option ruled out so far is being a slave to the place!
from a beef side, it’s mad how the animals themselves have a routine. The neighbour used to outwinter two fields back and feed in the yard. you could set your watch to the cattle in the morning walking back to the yard. It was amazing really
Very hard when your not full time not to feel like a slave to it. Not having to do work requires alot of money spent. It will only settle down when you've cows bulled and calves gone then you've just the 2 milkings and paddocks to set up as important daily jobs. When your part time if something goes wrong or something out of routine has to be done it makes a bollox of your plans for the few hours
You woud not know wheather your coming or going with them different times .
With heifers anyway once a day is plenty for them from August on ,gives the small heifer plenty of time to grow strong once they would not get fat
You’re stuck in 2008 Bass. Some light reading to bring you up to date…
Must be decades now people have been talking about irelands golden goose coming to an end, I wouldn't count on it.
What will happen then, will we mostly return to an agrarian society. Hope not.
Why do the US need Mexicans to mik cows, pick fruit and veg. It the costs of a developed economy. Why has car production moved to Mexico. It's inability to to have a minimally educated ( secondary school level ) and managment of production ( college level) employees available. In Ireland case other tax structures are the icing on the cake that is why we are not spending the money. Micheal O'Leary has an opinion on ot in those article. You have to go 3/4 way down to see it. All this goes back to GATT and tge ways economies have developed since.
https://m.independent.ie/irish-news/taoiseach-issues-warning-as-ireland-braces-for-global-trade-war-michael-oleary-claims-trumps-tariff-policy-doomed-to-fail/a71833301.html
I tried it at the end of lactation, didn't like it, cows didn't know what was going on. I milk OAD on a Sunday from end of September onwards alright.
Ráiméis. You didn’t read those articles..and if you did, read them again.
My godfather of all people is very involved in the design etc of pharmaceutical plants, not so long ago I remember he was telling me how they start building the plants long before whatever drugs even get approval because it takes so long to get them built. That’s no an Irish issue, the man has spent very little of his working life in Ireland. Trump was best buddies with Putin about a week ago, now he’s on about doubling tariffs on Putin’s oil… It would take a wiseman to predict what Trump’s stance on everything will be this time next month never mind building factories thousands of miles away that won’t be operational for the best part of 10 years just because of what Trump says at a press conference
It's not that the factories will leave. The bigger fear is that the yanks can just say all American companies need to pay their tax in USA. At the moment they can chose to pay it outside of the US. They have alot of their intellectual property here for example. The party is over but it couldn't keep going on forever.
What price are maiden heifers making at the moment. Looking to get a few ahead of breeding season
900/1000 and lot more for good ones
sold a few last week… got 4euro/kg for most of them…
I grew up on a small dairy farm. Once calving was over, breeding season finished, first cut silage made the routine was fairly set for the summer. You'd be tipping away but not overly busy (this was the case on our farm back in the day. I know thats not the case on all farms!). But there was always the milking twice a day. I never minded the morning milking, but having to plan your day around being home for evening milking I found very restrictive and I did feel "like a slave to the place". Regardsless what was going on - matches, All Irelands Finals, weddings, funerals, sessions etc. the cows had to be milked. We got rid of the cows 10 pus years ago, but I do remember if the cows were going well with no issues, you'd be very reluctant to change and mess with their routine.
See even yesterday morning with the hour change, cows hadn't as much milk yesterday morning and that's only an hour.
That's the kind of farm I grew up on too.
There was no 5pm or 6pm in our house. That was just "cow time". I remember giving the day in the pub the day my father was buried and then heading home at cow time to milk the cows. My uncle was there before me and we milked them together, then back to the pub again.
That was 2001 and it's a different world today. But I've realised very quickly that some things are still pretty much the same, including "cow time".
Anyway, I'm not going to start whinging for once! The last heifer calved last night and she had a good strong AA bull.
I'm seeing a fair difference in milk production between when the heifers are on good grass compared to when they're on average grass and silage. I didn't realise they'd be so volatile.
You shouldn't have spoiled them with good grass, they'll be breaking for the year now!
😉
I ll probably draw the wrath of some for this but I find the closer you keep it to 12 hrs the easier milking is.if I milk early in the evening the morning is slow and messy as some cows won't be finished whereas when it's close to 12 hrs I just bang down the line switching clusters.never bothered me to come to milk,I even came home the morning after our wedding to milk.missed 6 milking in total last year.but go on hols while we re dry
same here… back to normal this morning