Even more adverts you despise

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,828 ✭✭✭✭CoBo55

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,527 ✭✭✭TheRiverman

I think it has been highlighted here already, but I've seen that Switchers.ie ad on TG4 during a break in the GAA. It is dire.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 8,663 ✭✭✭deezell

Is it meant to be a word association play on "We're Swingers!" ? Pathetic, 0 out of 10 for creativity.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,828 ✭✭✭✭CoBo55

I doubt it, it would be a strange family dynamic if you're arriving home and announcing to the Ma and Da you're swingers.

I like the Citroen Ad where E.T. throws your one up into the space ship and nicks the car😊😊

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 206 ✭✭AMTE_21

The ad for all over body deodorant - disgusting. Just have a shower!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 6,826 ✭✭✭Archeron

I read the comments about the new KFC ad with the golden egg gravy baptism forest dancing ewok people a few pages back, and thought maybe that was just a fever dream somebody had, but I've just seen it for the first time.

Fooking hell how that kind of ad for a fast food got signed off is truly beyond me.

When I think of KFC in Ireland, my immediate thoughts are normally about how their restaurants are always manky dirty and sticky, the food is disgusting and how generally unpleasant the whole experience is.

Last time I decided to risk it a couple of years ago (Blanchardstown shopping centre branch) I genuinely returned the inedible meal twice before giving up and putting it into the bin.

The raw Pineapple slice was nice in fairness.

So now they've decided to advertise using a dirty looking gravy lake with bonus drowning and cannibalism, sweaty tracksuit clad cult members and a very annoying dance and slogan.

Not one thing about that ad would make me want to ever step foot in one of their dirty stained sticky rude shtholes again.

Wow. I think that might be the worst ad I've ever seen, and not in a so bad it's good way, just really, really, really bad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,009 ✭✭✭✭LambshankRedemption

I dont know if thats the one I saw, but there is an ad for a deoderant that says it lasts 72 hours. If thats in anyway accurate, I don't know if I want that kind of battery acid on my body.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,641 ✭✭✭Bogey Lowenstein
    That must be Nigel with the brie...

Their whole recent ad campaign has a weird and off-putting satanist feel going on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 2,512 ✭✭✭ollaetta

Holy Jebus, this is one of the worst in a good while. I can't reach for the mute button quick enough.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,933 ✭✭✭Hangdogroad

That Aldi "three eggs, two kids" one. Your ones voice does my head in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,671 ✭✭✭Kalimah

I came on to complain about that. Yuck. And it can’t be healthy spraying that around your nether regions.

Apache Pizza used to have an annoying over the top country accent voiceover in their ads. The fecker must have joined RTE as he's now on almost all ads for their own programmes. Still find his voice very irritating.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,201 ✭✭✭RoTelly

He is a stand for Radio 1's Late Date (He might be one of the main presenter), Rising Time and John Creadon, and also does some promo work, he was one of the Teacher on Home School Hub. (Ray Cuddihy I think is who your talking about.)

Bord Gais ad with the therapist and the switcher ad with the two switchers (Might be funny if they were call swingers).

Bonkers should do an ad with Ryan Tubridy, now that would break the internet!

______

In the end they were just greedy, they all knew one another and knew what to expect more money for no return, it was a secure cash flow, but in fairness they looked for what they wanted and fair dues to them for that, and wouldn't you be doing the same!

Just one more thing .... when did they return that car

Yesterday

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,389 ✭✭✭✭thesandeman

Nobody would believe the figures in the Bonkers ad though.

That 3 ad with the guy on the jackhammer. He says "What if we throw in a landline, it's wireless".

A landline can't be wireless. You would think considering the ad is for a wireless broadband they would not want to be confusing people by saying a landline could be wireless.

I'll have to listen out for it and listen more carefully. Though as has been highlighted in this thread numerous times, poor diction in ads is not uncommon. It took me about a month of watching that petrol station cadbury's ad to figure out what the girl said. I'm not actually convinced they didn't re-record it, because I wasn't the only one who had difficulty with it.

OK, this is doing my head in and apologies if it's been asked before. On that bank mortgage ad with your man and his daughter in the car, what does he say right at the very start before "12 or 13 viewings, I think"? Must have heard it dozens of times at this stage but just can't make out what he says.

I have no idea and thats another one that does my head in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 7,263 ✭✭✭brian_t

No, he says it's wireless.

And of course Specsavers now have free hearing tests.

I was going to ask that too, he says something that sounds like 'toon' 🤷

Carlsberg 0 ad with 4 taps of it at the bar. Go away, you are lucky to even see one tap of it.

That annoying 'high four, babe' one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 8,663 ✭✭✭deezell

Not viewing, not toon, he sez 'queueing'. For a viewing. While humming a tu-in.

And you can have a 'wireless' landline phone, just say "cordless' instead of 'wireless', and it doesn't sound so senseless. Today's routers have DECT transceivers built in, so if you opt for a 'landline' on your broadband wired or fibre connection, it's just enabled in software in the router, and you cordlessly connect your your old DECT handsets as... handsets. Their base stations are just used as chargers. I've a couple of 25 year old Eircom ones working away. Also have the ancient 35 year old wired telephone ☎️ plugged into the routers's wired telephone socket. Grand.

Well yeah of course, cordless phones, we all have them or used to have them. But no-one calls them wireless phones. Your man in the ad says landline and then says it's wireless, presumably meaning you use a cordless phone with them, but it's annoying. An attempt to get the word wireless in one more time because the thing they are selling is wireless broadband.

At the end of the day it's just a lazy, crap advert.

I have finally seen the Aldi ad with the family sitting eating in the car and it is awful. You would think they are all on cocaine or something!

All the drinks companies have cottoned on that you can freely advertise your brand before the watershed simply by adding the zero. There's another one with a pile of lads watching a match in the pub and having a great time, all of them drinking the 0.0 pish. Very likely, yeah.

Just watched the ad again there. He definitely, 100% says its wireless.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,436 ✭✭✭Archduke Franz Ferdinand

outsurance…yer man from Kerry who says he’s 55…more like 70!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 2,257 ✭✭✭I says

No ads just tired of tosspots