JJuSt for the fun of it it takes 15 secs to swap a cluster couple of seconds faster for cluster removers depending on technic.so in a 16 unit that's 4 minutes putting on clusters and I find it takes at least 2 minutes or more to swap the line so that dosent leave much time to put on the other side within your normal 7.5 minutes milking time.a good operator in straight 16 should milk 8 rows in hour which is 128 cows an hour.i m not telling anyone what to do I m just teasing out the figures a bit
I don’t think you’d see many 200 cow herds with a rotary and with good reason 😂😂 a person would probably want to be milking 350+ in order to really justify one and even at that they are crazy money
a 16 unit doubled up to a 32 unit would milk 150 cows per hour. Don’t think it’s justifiable for the money involved though. To just get the auto wash put in would be great, think that would nearly be €10k though which probably won’t be done either
disagree ….acrs have to be a must in parlour now …you need a good environment to work in and one that will attract a relief Milker to stick around
A 16 unit with no acrs,no jars,no dumpline, no air gates no nothing is the most efficient parlour in terms of labour,capital expenditure and running costs and water usage.the only extra I'd allow is a simple drafting gate for ai and fresh calvers etc .if there was yoke for blocking phone signal.......
Dairymaster is called a dairy disaster around here.
no question
i read about a farm ripping out a 40 unit rotary and fitting two 24/48 parlours side by side for increased output and lower costs
32 bail rotary would be very slow I think, wouldn't go below 40 bail, a 24 unit would probably be more efficient? Can't expand a rotary either
whatever machine you go for do your homework first on who locally provides best after sales first of all and quality of work …I’ve a Gea parlour cannot fault. It ,dealer back up is very good but Gea as a company wouldn’t be a fan ….going on what I’ve see. Delaval ,Pearson,all,Gasgoine all do great parlours …personally wouldn’t touch a dairy master
Dairymaster rotary 20 or so miles from me was quoted 75k to do maintenance revamp and bits and pieces .............it was 8 years old.....…
A massive issue that is never mentioned.
Good few starting to throw out rotary's as well. Maintenance after a few years seems to be an issue.
Double ups are always expensive relative to their efficiency but if your at a level that doubling up a 16 is being considered rotary is another option.friend is putting in a 32 rotary and if you re hands on on the construction side its not a mad step on for their relative efficiency
anyone trying to buy pro urea atm …very scarce around here lads looking for it and can’t get it ….normal urea tight as well but lots can ….lads getting fed up with it as coop has is tied in to buying a good chunk of pu in order to get sustainability payments …hopefully allowances will be made ….good few lads noticing it anyway now due to all the issues last year
When i was building my parlour anyone I asked about dairymaster, said avoid. They've a base not far from me
Delaval are popular around here. Good machines.
I’d of been guessing myself they’d of been best value… the NZ crowd Waikato are selling parlours as well and I’d say they’d be the cheapest by a mile but I’d also get the impression their service & repair is more so a case of “wish you the best of luck” 😂
I just breed my top 4/5 cows to out cross bulls and don't really worry too much. With the Cowmanager and a longer breeding season because of winter milk he's not over worked
Here is his mothers production
16 at present, seems very expensive to just double it up… the ACR’s are about 30% of the cost but sure a double up without them would not be the best idea
many units in the parlour?
I've a pearson milking parlour, happy enough with it. There's a man locally services it for me. He's sort of retired but would never leave me stuck
How do you get on with inbreeding? Do you have any that you have to keep them away from?
I have a couple of calves here this year that were tested by AI companies. I could keep 2 for myself.
I don't classify. Too subjective.
I was wondering out of my own curiosity do any of you have milking parlours that aren’t Dairymaster?
I was wondering how do ye get on with servicing and break-downs etc of the parlours? It’s dairymaster that’s here. They gave a quote of €115,000 + vat for a double up. No new feeders, no new bailing. Nothing whatsoever fancy. Just ACR’s and a dump line & auto wash
Are all of them much the same in price when it comes down to it?……
Yours have four generations of EX cows behind them?
you must have serious stock so …that man had some super stock
I Stopped selling bulls , just breed my own now. Here's one i'm using this coming year
https://www.donedeal.ie/dairycattle-for-sale/pedigree-friesian-bulls/39299842
Good milky sires here,
I don't see anything special about him to be honest.. Nothing better than what I could have here myself imo.
buyer giving that sort of money wouldn’t be that type of customer in fairness
breader told him one time he dread prices like that so right chancer will put him in with couple 100 bulling cows for a month and then ring the lad that bread him and say he won't work etc refund wanted bull half feckec lame and worthless