I was on an organic farm today with a german dairy breed of cow. There was a (could be woofers) looked like a man, woman couple working there and I think from germany too. Seemed a very ethusiastic sort of a place. Rotary parlour being built too. Cows out fulltime there atm. Dairy farms really depend on labour. Even powerwashing and fixing things it's all labour.
But the above today would give you a pep in your step. Bought a stock bull from the owners too.
Had a lad ring today looking an angus bull around 2 years of age, willing to pay 1800 euro. Some lads haven't a clue.
Probably looking to hire him out to waterford dairy farmers too. The fecker..😎
I supposed he'd have to double it to make it worth your while?
The way things are gone now you'd want 3500 to 4000 for a 2 year old bull. We've none left anyway , all sold since before Christmas
I have seen a few locally and generally no issue. However you have to spend the money and reciepts have to be within the time frame of the application in place. They have gone flexible with 12 months and you can apply for an extension however the operative word is apply. I suspect he did not abide by the terms and conditions. two townhouses were done in the village and have heard of no issue. My neice and her partner are doing one in Kerry and I have heard nothing negative.
I’ve 2 herefords and on hunt for third bull ,Angus or he not too fussed but has to be 20/24 months plus …..3500/4000 is about the price I’ll have to give going on what I’ve looked at so far
Do you really need all those bulls along with your smaxtec? 6 weeks Ai and one bull would mop up surely.
i thought you were diy ai?? going to nenagh in april for the angus bull sale,
what would a pbr holstein bull easy calver for heifers be making these days??
learnt hard way that it won’t …2 bulls for cows and 1 to contract rearers for heifers
I've learned the hard way buying bulls. Most of the lads selling are dealers. That one I bought last year for the heifers was TI and he brought in BVD. Grand if you're vaccinating I suppose. I don't have mortellaro either and I don't want it.
I wonder what's the story with keeping one of my own Fr bulls for mopping up the heifers. Would inbreeding be an issue
You can enter his tag on icbf and do an inbreeding check?
Cheap Enough I'd say. 2k? Or less? I sold some of them a few years ago for 1000. Didn't bother anymore because of the kind of buyers I attracted from Done Deal.
Holstein bulls making big money in Kilmallock today. The IHFA sale. Lads must be back breeding for dairy. They couldn't give the bulls away last year.
All stock are gone mad calves with jex breeding that were being given away other years making over 100 euro,world is gone mad
no issue buying as you know what to look for and where to look ,tag number tells a lot
reserve champion went 10k. Fine looking animal in fairness.
breader told him one time he dread prices like that so right chancer will put him in with couple 100 bulling cows for a month and then ring the lad that bread him and say he won't work etc refund wanted bull half feckec lame and worthless
buyer giving that sort of money wouldn’t be that type of customer in fairness
I don't see anything special about him to be honest.. Nothing better than what I could have here myself imo.
https://www.donedeal.ie/dairycattle-for-sale/pedigree-friesian-bulls/39299842
Good milky sires here,
I Stopped selling bulls , just breed my own now. Here's one i'm using this coming year
you must have serious stock so …that man had some super stock
Yours have four generations of EX cows behind them?
I was wondering out of my own curiosity do any of you have milking parlours that aren’t Dairymaster?
I was wondering how do ye get on with servicing and break-downs etc of the parlours? It’s dairymaster that’s here. They gave a quote of €115,000 + vat for a double up. No new feeders, no new bailing. Nothing whatsoever fancy. Just ACR’s and a dump line & auto wash
Are all of them much the same in price when it comes down to it?……
I don't classify. Too subjective.
How do you get on with inbreeding? Do you have any that you have to keep them away from?
I have a couple of calves here this year that were tested by AI companies. I could keep 2 for myself.
I've a pearson milking parlour, happy enough with it. There's a man locally services it for me. He's sort of retired but would never leave me stuck
many units in the parlour?