The Official Cavan GAA Discussion thread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 114 ✭✭large_palette

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,702 ✭✭✭tanko

I reckon he would be absolutely delighted if he won the Tailteann cup this year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 114 ✭✭large_palette

You're probably being facetious but I highly doubt it. It's a competition for Div 3 and 4 level teams and the odd county down on their luck. Being beaten in that 2022 final was very depressing as a Cavan supporter. The only thing worse would be to be back in the frigging thing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,002 ✭✭✭celt262

We are in the middle ground though if we were in the Tailteann we probably would be favourites and should be winning it, while in the All- Ireland series we would likely be the whipping boys as our league standing will leave us as fourth seeds and in a group like last year.

I tell you i was more depressed driving home from Castlebar last year than i was after the Tailteann cup final.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,702 ✭✭✭tanko

We were humbled by Westmeath and Down in the Tailteann cup in our two failed attempts. We better win it before the likes of Padraig Faulkner, Gerry Smith, Gearoid McKiernan, Ciaran Brady, Dara McVeety etc retire because we will be damn glad to win it after that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 607 ✭✭✭mylestheslasher

Interesting wearecavan podcast last night, mostly all about the new rules. Found myself in full agreement with Damien Donohoe (apart from allowing the goalie attack, goalie should be left in his goals). I have to laugh at Jim McGuinness concern about "player fatigue" and Dermot McCabe awful concerned about the poor referees. You couldnt make it up. Damien is 100% correct, its all about these guys losing controls and maybe when they lose control people might ask why one of the above gets 150k+ to manage a county team in an amateur sport. As for the Meath manager, who knows what he is smoking because his team were complete shite under the old rules.

I know Paul Fitz is not happy with how t hey were trialled all at once and in an important competition. But to be honest, while I agree somewhat that doing them all at once wasn't a great idea I do think trialing in some other tournament wouldn't have given it the test it needed. I think Paul is exaggerating the negatives on this one to be honest.

On your last line i have heard them on about the rules a few times and to me it's like good cop/bad cop with Fitzpatrick playing the bad cop role and i don't think he even believes some of the negativity he has towards them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 316 ✭✭tazman06

Have to say I didn't like this pod. Spent 90% of it talking about the rules, and not much discussion on the match. I like the 2 lads, and usually end up veering one way or the other to either one depending on the topic, but issue here is that they were very far apart on their views here and the detail is likely somewhere in the middle. I wouldn't be as drastic as Paul on them, but not as accepting as Damien. Like near anything these days, a rebuttal of a point doesn't mean the extreme opposite, but that's the way debates seem to go these days. Think a lot got lost in all this

Pod has been good recently. The Michael Hannon post match is very good, but I still like a good detailed mid week review after all has calmed down (especially after a good win), yet seems to be going off on tangents for bulk of the pod.

Actually really what I wanted was a 15 minute deep dive detail on Jason McLoughlin :D

Good to see FRC come up with a few needed tweaks. 4 v 3 in one half pretty much kills the roving goalkeeper so Morgan, Rafferty etc will be as will to get an outfield jersey. Good to see the breaking accidentally of the 3 up goes unpunished if you don't get an advantage from it.

Also good for Cavan with our more traditional keeper.

Anyone in the know here on the lads on the Minor panel, what are they like this year?

image.png

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 614 ✭✭✭Thunderbirds

One lad in there is going to be one of the best forwards in country in my opinion.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,791 ✭✭✭Cavan_King

Is it the Lavey man, the Denn man or the Gowna man? All are good forwards but very young to be hyping up yet. Two are still minor next year.

From knowing this age group, they look a decent standard to me but then you don’t know what the quality is outside the county. Be interesting to see how they fare.

Interesting spread of clubs in the minor panel. Templeport and Denn with big contingent.

It's one of them, but didn't name exactly who just for the overhype element but think all going well the player in question could be one of best talents around.

I do believe he’s injured today and for a few months.

Denn have five or six lads on the u16 panel this year yet find themselves in Division 2. You’d nearly swear they had a bit of pull somewhere.

It would serve the club and them lads alot better to be playing Division 1 football than trying to pick up handy titles.

We need some sports psychologists in Cavan. Minors lead what seemed to be the whole game (well anytime I checked Twitter) but managed to lose. They had been 1-6 to 0-4 up at HT.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,251 ✭✭✭cavan4sam

Bit harsh they are 16 year olds and that's also a very good Donegal team

Seen Tyrone minors a few weeks ago I can't see them being beaten in Ulster .

Minor is U17 so the majority of them are 17 or turning it this year (there is a few U16s in the panel). I probably was harsh on the players though.

We’ve yet another team with a novice manager. It’d be nice if we actually put some managerial experience behind our teams.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 228 ✭✭mogue77

iggy Gallagher is in there with Ed, he has lots of experience, Cian Mackey is in there with them also.

What experience has Gallagher? Can’t say I know anything about him as a manager. I googled the name and two articles came up. One that he was Tyrone minor manager a decade ago and the other was about him stepping down from a Fermanagh club team in 2014. Nothing recent.

Cian Mackey was a top player. Can’t say I know anything about his coaching career.

Gallagher was over Tyrone development squads for a couple of years, I can’t say Mackey managed anyone but he was on the Cavan panel for a good few years under different managers im sure he picked up lots of knowledge.

From the look of that article, he was over Tyrone development squads a decade ago, what has he been doing since? Certainly nothing showing online.

So Mackey is as inexperienced as a coach then as the actual manager is? Thanks for pointing that out.

Like I said, it’d be nice if our county board backed our underage teams with some funding and experience rather than cutting corners at every available opportunity but, sure look, we’ll have a nice hotel in Breffni when we’re in Division 4. The people of Carlow & Wicklow can stay the night.

it’s the development squads that should have experienced men over them ! Look at Donegal after appointing Martin mchugh over u16 academy, why was Finbar Reilly not appointed when kingspan were funding it, very shocking from county board.

Cian Mackey was with Carrickmacross last year.

Mackey might be a brilliant coach but being a county footballer does not automatically make you a good coach. One of the worst I ever had was a top county player for a long time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 57,077 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

Being 7 points up well into the second half of a game and then losing by 3 does not look like its a very well coached team.

Well you could also argue only a well coached team could go seven points up during the second half .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 57,077 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

Indeed if they were only coached for 50 minute games.