Barrett has another year in the academy.
doesnt matter, academy contracts end at the end of every season
Illo would be a scandal. Connacht gave him a senior deal based on his U20 campaign and the importance of TH as a position, it's been an expensive process getting him this far.
I'd be worried more about losing Barrett than Illo in a straight shoot out.
Players of his size don't come around all that often and he looked good at U20s.
Claimed to be 130kgs in that recent Connacht vid.
Bealaham is contracted till 2026
https://www.connachtrugby.ie/news/bealham-commits-to-connacht-with-new-contract/bp2761/#:~:text=Connacht%20Rugby%20are%20delighted%20to,of%20the%202025%2F26%20season.
Lasisi is the only senior tighthead potentially out of contract this summer. I will be apoplectic if they sign Barrett.
Edit: Pretty sure the source of this "rumour" was just speculation on another forum.
Heff has signed a 2 year extension
https://www.connachtrugby.ie/news/dave-heffernan-commits-future-to-connacht/bp3319/?s=09
Good news. He's still playing well, and I don't think Tierney-Martin is going to take the jersey from him. Joe Joyce next please.
I think Illo is ready to be a starter now, he's impressed every time I've seen him play. I think he should be a starter next season.
Even better. I though he was up again this summer but that's one fewer thing to worry about.
Three Connacht lads starting against France for the under 20s.
Dave Heffernan signed a 2 year deal
Looks like there’s a strong push to get Munster closer to Leinsters level for next season.
Mr Heffernan. Please don't nock on any more.
Carberrys recent comments ''I am still hopeful of a return to Ireland to play with one of the provinces.
"I think if the opportunity came around, it would definitely be something I'd jump at," he said.
"I love it here so much and I suppose I won't know what happens until my contract's over, but if it's the right opportunity, if Ireland came back knocking, I'd jump at it."
Leinster might be light on 10's if Harry moves on
Connacht should make him an offer.
Carberry is acting the maggot. A couple of weeks ago he was talking about switching to England. Then he stepped back from that and now he's saying he wants to play in Ireland.
Carberry is under contract at Bordeaux for another season. He's with a great side in Top 14 and getting lots of minutes. He's gets EQP status in November so his worth to Premiership sides increases too. And he has the potential to move back to one of the provinces.
He's just a pro player trying to say the right things and keep his options open. It's exactly what I'd do in his situation but it doesn't mean he's in any rush home.
Had seen rumours on Twitter Bordeaux were looking to let him go a season early. No idea how reliable it was but could be a reason why he’s shopping himself around a bit.
He's played plenty of minutes for them and has had ten starts. So he's not surplus to requirements in the current squad. Of course it may be that Bordeaux have found a replacement that they prefer. If so, we should make a play for him, as we should for Harry.
JJ could find himself first choice down south if the rumours about Leicester lining up a big money offer for Crowley come to fruition.
Whilst first choice Irish players rarely move abroad, and he would definitely be a loss to Irish rugby, I can't say I wouldn't enjoy the nuclear meltdown we'd see from Munster fans 🤣
It would be a terrible thing to happen but it won't.
While I once found the exaggerated fan reactions amusing, the munsterfans forum has gone to a very dark place which make me think of self-harm. For example, several active posters seem to nearly want Crowley to leave on the basis that it would be comeuppance for the IRFU etc for their appalling treatment of JC and, as an extension, Munster.
Fortunately Jack Crowley seems like much more level headed than the ultras.
If he is being offered 600k per season for a 25 year old, he be mad not to go for it. Let's be honest Sam will get the next 10 central contract. So that will leave Jack around 250 year. Over 3 years that a million down. That's alot of money to gamble. Without the central contract his wages will never go up much. So if he stays he will be poorer by hundreds of thousands over the next 3 years
We have our own out half problems to solve with far less likelihood of the IRFU shelling out extra cash to keep us happy.
I'll be blunt. I dont want Joey Carberry at Connacht. He's just another Ian Madigan. Shown some flashes from time to time. Injured a lot, and not going to make a difference to Connacht.
Would rather that money goes to our forwards
Id Take him in a heartbeat. We have lost Hanrahan, Carty has not played much this season and Naughton is getting no gametime. They have stated Forde is not a 10. We could do with a big ball carrier at lh or hooker but no niq props are allowed unless your Leinster. I'd be happier to sign an outhalf Carberry or whoever over a forward.
Josh Murphy has signed a 2 year deal. Great player for us.
First name
Last name
Position
Contract Expiry
DoB
Total Mins
Denis
Buckley
LHP
2025+1
09/08/1990
Peter
Dooley
04/08/1994
Jordan
Duggan
07/01/1998
Dave
Heffernan
HK
31/01/1991
Dylan
Tierney-Martin
20/06/1999
Eoin
de Buitléar
09/11/2001
Adam
McBurney
2025?
05/09/1996
Finlay
Bealham
THP
09/10/1991
Jack
Aungier
20/11/1998
Sam
Illo
16/02/2001
Temi
Lasisi
09/05/2001
Joe
Joyce
LK
07/02/1994
Darragh
Murray
04/07/2001
Niall
13/10/1999
David
O'Connor
19/05/1995
Oisin
Dowling
23/06/1997
Cian
Prendergast
BR
23/02/2000
Josh
Murphy
17/02/1995
Paul
Boyle
14/01/1997
Shamus
Hurley-Langton
22/04/2000
Conor
Oliver
21/09/1995
Sean
Jansen
10/05/1999
O'Brien
31/07/2000
McCormack
21/02/2001
Ben
SH
23/04/2001
Caolin
Blade
29/04/1994
Matthew
Devine
2026?
19/02/2002
Colm
Reilly
09/08/1999
-
Ioane
OH
11/07/1995
Carty
31/08/1992
JJ
Hanrahan
27/07/1992
Piers
O'Conor
CT
28/08/1995
Cathal
Forde
04/11/2001
Bundee
Aki
07/04/1990
Hawkshaw
03/07/1999
Hugh
Gavin
10/01/2004
Santiago
Cordero
B3
06/12/1993
Mack
Hansen
27/03/1998
Shayne
Bolton
29/06/2000
Chay
Mullins
23/01/2002
Shane
Jennings
2026+1
14/01/2001
Byron
Ralston
03/05/2000
Andrew
Smith
21/07/2000
That post didn't come out well for me.
Maybe its one of those for a laptop but not a phone?