I've been banging the Coombes drum the last few seasons but this would not be how I'd like to see him make his 6N debut....
Listening to Newstalk there and Doris' fitness in particular seems to be in question.…
Crowley starting and Osbourne on the bench is probably the best way to do that.
Gerry Thornley on Second Captains said , Furlong definitely out, Conan will be fit, he was positive enough on Keheller ,and then more in desperation said " Doris better be fit " or words to that effect .
Looking forward to Saturday but already fairly nervous. France really should be unbeaten coming into this too. They were impressive against Italy last time out where I thought they looked the most balanced I've seen them in a long time.
Saying that, if we are at full strength then I do fancy our pack over theirs in most positions when including depth.
**** a 6-2, i hate it. It creates pressure on ourselves needlessly, I can't think of any incidence that it won us a match. I'd much rather we have the option to bring on a back who could break a defensive line
I am fairly sure Furlong has left the camp entirely and is not in the picture at all at this stage.
Went 6-2 last time against France
It definitely helped but only because we brought on Frawley in the 79th minute.
Completely agree it is an unnecessary gamble.
BUT!! If Doris has a knock and they are not sure if will last the pace Conan and Baird on the 6-2 bench is worth the gamble.
I'd agree, after a bright start away to France (though not without its errors) he really hasn't hit those heights since. Amazed at 3 years too. Time will tell if it's worth it.
I would consider that a worry. Some refs don’t seem to like the way he scrummages.
Is the alternative to the 6-2 bench, to start with Ryan, McCarthy in 2nd row with Beirne at 6? It was mentioned by quinlan and a few others in the past week. And it's something we have done before.
6-2 bench is risky, there is a title on the line and an early injury or two leaves us in trouble. An incident like Graham/Russell and it's bye bye championship aspirations.
Ah yes but screw facts & logic, screw stats and all that guff…does he have the seal of approval from the British media & coverage? That's the crucial point!
Is this British media in the room with us now?
Or is this an internal discussion on an Irish rugby forum?
Continually crying "oh the dreadful British media!" In relation to every single assesment of a player by anyone, anywhere, seems a bit like you've no other analysis in the locker. A handy scapegoat, certainly.
And it's ironic, given the current even-handedness of a national media that recently asked if we could beat Wales with 12 players.
#notmynationalmedia
An A+ for you in terms of originality….NOT!
Where did you get this info from, The Telegraph or some other useless propag…I mean…media source I'm unaware of?
All you've done is just prove my point about how influential the British media have been in this neck of the woods with people's views on rugby. Case n point, Finn Smith's coverage!
I see I've been taken in by a master of satire. Fair play sir.
Please God no! The Beirne at 6 experiment was a disaster in the AI. Beirne is our best lock by a country mile and should be played in his best position.
Forget the 6-2 split as well. If Doris and Conan are both injury risks then both shouldn't be in the matchday 23.
It sounds like Conan may be OK and if so he needs to start at no.8. The prognosis on Doris doesn't sound good and if he's not fit he shouldn't be involved. We'd be better off with a fully fit Baird on the bench than a half crocked Doris.
On another note, Furlong should be rested by Ireland and Leinster for the rest of the season. He's constantly injured. He'd be better off getting himself right and start back at it next September. He's 32 and has 2-3 years left in him if he can get fit. We should be playing the long game with him now. I can't see him taking part in this 6N campaign and I'm not sure how badly Leinster need him for their CC campaign given they've Slimani and Clarkson.
what is wrong with Doris?
Think it's a knee issue.
I think he will be fine. He was moving around grand at the end of the Scotland game.
Beirne, vdF and Doris have played the most amount of minutes in Irish rugby this season.
They played the 80mins in almost all the games.
If they play the 80 v France I'm confident Ireland have enough to win.
Ireland have the better pack* and thats why France are looking at going 7-1 on the bench.
I hope they do it.
And I hope Ireland pick Osborne at 23.
Ramos; Penaud, Barassi, Moefana, LBB; Ntamack, Dupont; Gros, Mauvaka, Atonio; Flament, Guillard; Cros, Boudehent, Alldritt.
Reps: Marchand, Baille, Aldegheri, Meafou, Auradou, Jelonch, Jegou, Lucu.
*Porter/Healy, Clarkson
I think he may end up an early retirement. One injury after another does not bode well also his form wasn't great when he did play thelast 2 years. On Beirne at 6 at least he gives us an extra ball carrier who can make hard yards
What do we reckon to the call-ups?
I'm guessing Tommy O'Brien is meant to cosplay as Bielle-Biarrey in training?
Less sure about Darragh Murray's possible role.
I assume TOT is behind Clarkson now.
Would be surprised, but not shocked, to see Deegan leapfrog into the 20 shirt - he's in good form and he's a leader.
Feel we've been saying that about Furlong since the WC.
Agreed on Furlong, I'm worried about an impending retirement announcement this summer.
Disagree on the Beirne point. He does plenty of carrying from lock. We'll have Aki and Henshaw in the centre also, both strong carriers. We need Beirne in close to the ruck in this game. Slowing French ball and getting a few turnovers. He has far less impact on the ruck when he's at 6 because he's asked to defend wider in that position. POM will be 6 most likely. That will be fine for 50mins. I'm hoping then that both Conan and Doris are fit and Conan replaces POM on 50mins. Conan will do well with ball in hand at that stage when the French fatties are tiring.
Agreed, worried about an injury enforced retirement at this stage. Luckily Bealham is playing really well.
https://www.the42.ie/furlong-ireland-france-6639433-Mar2025/
“We’ve just done scrums just now so it was good to see Tadhg in a scrum, a fully-contested scrum,” said Fogarty this afternoon.“Tomorrow is the big day, but we did some entries today and it was good.“He trained today, he’s full of energy and he took part in the whole session. Tomorrow is another step so we’ll see how he goes.“He has trained with Leinster, set-piece stuff. He’s been building the whole time back. It’s one that has to be right for everyone. From my end, it was great to see him back in a scrum, I haven’t seen him in a little bit. He was good. Again, we’ll see how he goes.”
“We’ve just done scrums just now so it was good to see Tadhg in a scrum, a fully-contested scrum,” said Fogarty this afternoon.
“Tomorrow is the big day, but we did some entries today and it was good.
“He trained today, he’s full of energy and he took part in the whole session. Tomorrow is another step so we’ll see how he goes.
“He has trained with Leinster, set-piece stuff. He’s been building the whole time back. It’s one that has to be right for everyone. From my end, it was great to see him back in a scrum, I haven’t seen him in a little bit. He was good. Again, we’ll see how he goes.”
Furling is far from enforced retirement right now
Yeah he just signed a new contract.
Good to hear, hope he can get over this niggle
Furlong has played 3 times in 8 months. I'd say he feels he is rested enough..
Hopefully he gets over these issues and has a great end of season with Leinster.
If he does he will be one of the first names for the plane to Australia with the Lions.
Great news, hopefully he can stay injury free 🤞
Very true, no other tighthead has been ripping it up