Starting a thread for 2025 gigs as they'll likely start rolling in.
I'll arbitrarily throw in Rob Beckett playing the Olympia on the 26th September 2025 which went on sale today.
Nope, you're legally misinformed. Be very wary of what Live Nation/Ticketmaster personnel are saying. For starters they're liable to incur enormous fines for the operation of a monopoly in breach of anti-trust laws. The penalties will likely be severe and they'll have terms dictated to them. This will involve selling off large parts of the business and the DOJ will push for harsh punishment due to the historical behaviour and non-adherence of Live Nation towards federally-imposed strictures.
In 2010, the DOJ allowed Live Nation and Ticketmaster to merge on the condition that they not require venues wishing to book Live Nation artists to use Ticketmaster’s ticketing and not retaliate against venues using other ticketing companies. But in 2020, the DOJ took the rare action of extending the decree because the merging companies “failed to live up to their end of the bargain.” In particular, they “repeatedly conditioned and threatened to condition Live Nation’s provision of live concerts on a venue’s purchase of Ticketmaster ticketing services” and “retaliated against venues that opted to use competing ticketing services—all in violation of the plain language of the decree.”
With the civil case by consumers anything is possible but they've sod all chance of winning that. The current claim is $5 billion but that will increase as the class action draws in more plaintiffs. Hundreds of thousands more.
Add in EU action or others by individual governments, eg the CMA in the UK and other class actions and we're talking about unsustainable pressure on them. I'd expect a result from the anti-trust action next year with an appeal taking a further two years. The EU will hopefully act sooner.
Yeah? I didn’t think they’d do anything outside of festivals again.
TBF, the only reason Slayer retired was because Tom was sick of the travelling. They have a happy medium now where they’ll headline a small few dates every year and rake in a few 100k each.
Replying to Furious-Red btw. On the phone and the quote didn’t attach
Any Irish shows for united 5ive yet?
The only decent gig on tonight is The Reytons in The Academy. €40 for what sound like an Artic Monkeys tribute act. Would you?
Rumours that a date is incoming
Louis CK playing Galway Feb 5th and Belfast Feb 7th. 2026. But theres no thread for that yet
Hop on the dart to Howth for a daytime show for half that price...
https://myticketie.gigantic.com/all-shucked-up-tickets/dublin-the-summit-inn/2025-03-01-16-00
I saw Last Apollo twice last year (Night and Day, Button Factory) and they were brilliant
Few other free shows in the pubs up there for the Oyster festival
https://allshuckedup.ie/#programme
That’s not a bad idea. Thanks.
Fair play to you.. You're getting out to some amount of gigs these days and enjoying your reports, but surely you have to draw the line at The Reytons. One of the most awful bands I've ever heard.
It’s the €40 I’m balking at. Why are gigs at The Academy so expensive?
Tempted by Karma Police at the Roisín tonight. From what I recall you were very impressed by them @Mucker46? Any other posters seen them?
I guess as a venue it's closer to The Olympia than The Workmans or Grand Social, so it's a step up in price. Haven't been to a gig there in quite a while actually.
They are really good going to see them on the 8th in Dun Laoghaire
Saw Jack White at the Troxy last night he was fxcking amazing, blew the roof off the place, first gig as well using those loop ear plugs, they make such a huge difference and can hear perfectly.
Right, I'm getting myself a pair of Loops. My hearing brutal as it is. Can't afford to be taking any more chances. That's the fourth or fifth Boards seal of approval for the Loops, good enough for me.
Is it these you're talking about?
https://www.loopearplugs.com/products/experience
That's what I just pulled the trigger on alright.
Middle-aged Boardsies united! 😝
I heard on radio last week about Apple AirPods doubling as hearing aids. Same thing?
The way forward, eh?! Yes, I believe the technology is being looked into. From a 55y member, here, who's been to a lot of noisy gigs!
I have a proper moulded set of earplugs for the past 16 years and I cannot recommend them highly enough. If you go to gigs regularly then it is a nobrainer. It is literally just a volume knob. I did a set of the loops just as a back up and they are actually pretty good. Not quite up there with the moulded ones but still worth it to help protect your hearing.
I bought a pair of Etymotic ER20 earplugs about 7 years ago but I couldnt remember where I put them.
I found them last year by luck but alas I cant remember where I put them again.
😂…oops…memory, eh?! This aging lark's a bollocks!
Do the earplugs cancel out the chatter around you?
They can do anything these days Mucker. Technology, eh? My ones cancel out Noah Kahan.
Buying them daughter loves Noah
I've used the Etymotic Plugs for about 12 years, chose them as favoured by musicians for filtering out the noise but allowing the music to come through. I'm not sure how they compare to Loops and moulds but they're pretty excellent. Never had any issues after the Valentines, Swans and other noiseniks.
Personally I blame herself, she may have moved them, well thats what I tell myself anyway lol.
Always, always!!!
"Where did you put those…" [and you can insert anything for the "…"] & then duck for cover in our house…🤷♂️
Sorry was on the flight home, those are the ones yeah they were brilliant in fairness was fearful they'd simply fall out like but they didn't thankfully,
You get three sets of plugs to attach depending on the size of the ear canal then which is the job,
I actually lost my hearing for nearly two weeks after a gig end of last year so had to get something and doctor advised those ones
More of a question than a rumoured event.
Listening to Deerhoof today. New single out. What a somewhat mad but wonderful band. See they're touring in summer & playing 2 nights in Bush Hall, London. Would definitely consider going across. Can we assume they're probably not appearing over here?
See they've short tour of UK, with no days off, in July, then over to rest of Europe, mainly Scandanavia, after. Either before UK or at end of 'Europe' possibly?
And for the afficianados out there, they been here before?