I pay €50 a milking, €60 if they move wires and hunt in and out cows. I've a someone helping me for a an hour or two in the mornings, Monday to Friday. What would they want to be paid? Their good at what they do.
Ye may as well forget about this farming craic https://www.facebook.com/100063670295190/posts/1194087696056896/
i see that farm in slaneyquater near tullow in carlow sold to day on livestock live quinn big money did I hear somewhere the coolmore stud were ment to be interested
Urea banned what a f.….. Joke
hows that enforceable, unless it's a Europeanwide ban, under cap rules surely the Irish government can't go on a solo run considering water quality would be generally poorer in areas like Holland where it's still allowed
€18 an hour gross pay around here anyways.
that’s mad, I’d consider that very good money, during the recession I used to leave the house at 6 in the morning do a days work with 1 builder and an evening with the other, €50 for the day and €20 for the evening, usually get home around 10 at night for €70, how is there not some young lad doing that for you, 4 milking over the weekend €300 🤷🏻♂️
In fairness 50 euro for milking 100 cows plus, is very good. If they are milked right, are calves fed for that. If you can get a person for a few hours when you need them, that's worth alot.
Recession Is gone for a while, I was paying a carpenter 100euro cash/day.
And lads don't be farming, depending on old lads to last for ever. A year is a big difference in a young or older person. And you won't realise what they were doing or how handy they were till they get laid up.
Even just to look over the barrier to see if any cow is near calving while your away
https://m.independent.ie/farming/farm-property/5ac-wexford-parcel-sells-for-27000ac-as-auction-season-clicks-into-gear/a1897845899.html
It was the farm beside it in the picture, I was looking at
have you looked into getting a philipino? A friend has 3 of them working for him between 2 places, he’s getting on very well. They have their down sides but they will show up to work every dsy. If you can get one that has already been in almari or any of the places in the Middle East you would be on a real winner
900 a week gross for a 39 hour week, plus free accommodation and needed overtime hours was what the above was looking for when I got a reply to a add I had up, I worked with a good shot of foreigners abroad their grand for a few months then they drop down the workrate to the bear minimum
what are there downsides?
my mates ones are paying there own accommodation. You’re dropping down 80 cows when 40 of them would pay for a someone like mentioned and you’d probably have a better life. 100 cows on your own is no picnic either
language, can be hard to get across what you mean- they take everything literally exactly as you say it, might feel like you’re baby sitting for a few months
All feed for the cows been dropped is at the minute been produced on rented ground with maize been grown etc, is extremely marginal milk, the maths add up perfect in a year like this, but a re-run of 2023, it's a write-off...
Im hoping to go back to 70 cows to be honest and do part-time consultancy on the side, in the next 5 years with no ground been rented
Do they improve over time? Anyone that I know that have foreign workers don’t have great things to say
You'll be alot better off. No point in trying to be a hero.
Just as much luck of the draw as with workers from here. Worked with two Filipino cousins abroad and they were lethal. One was Assistant Manager over the 1500 cows, could do all farm jobs, grass measuring, feed calculations not a bother to him and a nice family focused fella, over the moon to have the wife and kids living with him. The other had left being a qualified G.P in The Phillipines and was getting paid near three times as much as a standard Farm Worker. Lived off 15kg bags of rice and cooked whole chicken and sent 80% of his wage home, no bother to him at all.
It's a hill farm. Decent south facing one. He is sticking with the sheep and calves. If I was farming it I have transfered to organics 50HA would give a decent organic payment. Very hard to maximise those farms.
Locally One or two would slag me about how I had done well. My quib back is "they woukd starve if they went to where I come from"
Would love the challenge of a 60 acre wet heavy farm
Banning Urea has nothing at all to do with water quality. It's a play to reduce input emissions rather than having to reduce stock numbers...probably our only realistic "scientific" solution unless they can crack the methane conundrum.
We are at war with the US and Russia and our anti agricultural lobby are still allowed reign in Ireland banning things while we should have every tool in the arsenal available. When does the time come that farmers and the public go to war in Ireland over these quisling traitors that would continually threaten agriculture and food in Ireland for what? Other countries we at war with having free reign and laughing at our ineptitude.
Let them regulate away. It will all help to reduce production and prices will go up.
Can will be next. Give it another year or two after this
this urea ban was let go very lightly from what I can see …we as farmers get again will have to suck up yet another questionable cost increase forced on us for what ….pro urea is 50/60 euro tonne dearer than standard urea ….has question marks despite our cheerleader advisors etc telling us otherwise …farmers had huge problems with it last year ..some weather wise but most down to crap product …majority of farmers I’ve been talking to will be spreading way less or none of it this year and hard blame them
What will you do if you cant access urea for foliar?
If quality isn't rectified this season, it'll see the end of the "protection" project. A concern I'd have is that the fertiliser industry detests it from a logistical pov and you'd question their resolve to solve the quality issue. Farmer will just go to CAN and there will be have be a whole rethink of the MACC curve as a means of reaching climate targets.
More like push over in the bed and let South America in.
Is There a loophole that your not spreading it in granular form??
Either way it will be dearer and harder got.
Doesn't make great reading for the plc and how it's been makes the bonuses paid out to talbot and Co last year even more galling https://www.irishtimes.com/business/2025/03/01/mclaren-sponsor-glanbia-faces-struggle-convincing-investors-it-can-get-back-on-track/
Heard some discussion on Newstalk earlier and how it’s the price of whey that’s confusing the poor millionaire execs.
Are other companies feeling the whey pain as much as Glanbia?