Was looking on the front of blue card envelope today, printed on it is something that since January 2013 a calf can't be sold without a clear bvd test or something to that affect. That was when compulsory testing came in?
The Competition and Consumer Protection Commission (CCPC) has cleared the proposed merger of Arrabawn and Tipperary to form a new co-operative society to be called Arrabawn Tipperary. Merger completion date will be 28th February 2025. from Arrabawn Co-op
TThey Must have been reading your threads
🤣🤣🤣j
no a bad night
2 new girls tonight
Coolnagree?
pricy
beechlands
Do you have feed to yeild in the parlour ? friends of mine bought cows from both those herds a few years ago and they didn’t last. They’re good stock but not great on grass was there opinion
That’s in since day one and was not on the card, back then animal could be kept on farm but not move off, a local fella sold a calf privately and caused trouble for him selling it at the start.
They need a tmr year round even when at grass, genomically tested extreme milk holstein heifers here and their herd mates that where crossed back to a high ebi bull their was 500 kgs to 800kgs of a range in milk sub index, basically the extreme heifers where 10k plus mature cows and the others where 7-8k at best
I let cows out to grass as much as possible, I get 1 or 2 ulcers and twisted stomachs every year. Would that be the cause?
Would what be the cause 🤔 what sort of yield. What's the overall diet
how soon after calving are they going to grass ? ulcers would be caused by high meal feeding mostly
Is the twisted stomach the same as an LDA ot RDA?
Is that from not giving the cow access to feed after calving?
I always feed them after calving?
no i dont have feed to yield but i can feed individual ,and yes i would agree with your friends but their is nothing else out there to buy ,look at dd and nothing on it,i would prefer to get solids through %
Them heifers will be grand once you can feed them individually build them up slowly ....
Percentages are no good on their own. Easy have high percentage with low volume.
About 3 weeks into calving and 50% calved. Upped the nuts to 5kg today. I'd want to get to grass next week by right but it could be unlikely enough. This is the same pinch point I meet every year. I need something to get energy into cows for a few weeks before grass.
Might buy a pallet of maize meal and throw 1kg on their nuts in the parlour. Any ideas?
@straight
Could you feed beet?
make an early cut of silage in mid may on your outfarm. If you can make very good silage it’s equally as good as maize
I’ll disagree on this ….as a forage maize is very hard beat ….im feeding it with first cut red clover silage atm and there’s some punch to it
They are good suggestions alright. I'm not sure about the security of supply for beet around here. Some lads locally got TB after feeding it which turned me off it.
Early silage sounds great but it takes time for land to dry out around here. I have a reseed that I couldn’t graze last autumn. Might bale it in early May. Also my pit is fairly full and I will be tight on space to put in 50 acres or so. Could definitely cut mid may weather permitting. Getting fertiliser out 6 weeks before silage cutting can be a challenge around here. We end up grazing the dry ground and silage on the heavier ground.
I've had 2 bad years for milk. Hoping to get back on track this year but the weather will have a large influence on that.
Place we took for a cut of dry cow silage is up for long term rent. Desperately in need of reseeding and with zero fencing, he thinks someone will give the guts of 50 grand for 90 acres. Not a hope we'll entertain him and have already secured another place that's nearer home. That's failed farmers for you?
Have you the correct cow for the system. According to Teagasc and the farming press these high EBI cows can milk away on grass only.
Alternative feed aren't really an option unless geared up to feed them. Storage sheds, diet feeding etc.
Anyway to grow maize, wheat, beet etc you need tillage land and the skills to do it.
In the meantime the only practical option is to keep ordering nuts off your ration supplier.
I'm Sure he'll find some eejit. They'll probably wire the whole place and reseed it too. Will be sold then in time for big money and the lad renting won't be able to buy it.
Would make you think who is the "failed farmer". I'd say he's dead right if he can get it. He wouldn't get It from me.
A mid day feed of a simple 3 way mix like soya bean/hulls and barley at 3kgs a head and 5kgs in the parlour would get you over the hump till you can get cows to grass but looking at the week ahead here could be mid March before cows see grass
Those with cows out, what are ground conditions like?
Have em out by day since end of Jan, they come in after 2 hours. In the last few days