Bribery all the way. Happy heifer happy milker!
I was watching a video lately where he was putting on ankle straps on a cow in milking by herself, she didn't even slightly move, I'd say they are pure pets of cows. My cows would be dancing putting on straps as it's out of the ordinary for them
I wouldn’t say our heifers are kickers tbh. I’ve had very few over the years that intentionally want to actually kick you. It’s more so the sensation of the cluster and there milk being let down that they don’t like and need to get used to
All this advice to the lad why didnt he just work for a dairy farmer for a year or two even only calving season the amount he would have learned would be unreal i see new entrant going the same route all the time.
Milking for someone else is a completely different kettle of fish to having to milk a few rows of your own freshly calved heifers……
There’s only three types of people who would attempt to milk a full row of heifers
2. New Entrants
3. Combined New Entrant BDSM Fans
Which category are you in @Siamsa Sessions 🤣
I’ve a Gea parlour with fty …feeding set up is 400 grams drops into feeder 1 once forst cow enters parlour at back ….10 second delay then before second cow and so on …remainder of feed dispensed once clusters on again in 400 gram drops
I find giddy ,wild heifers is more down to how heifers are reared and handled up to coming into parlour …if your calm heifers will be calm …the odd one would test you alright
I'm very boring and would have to admit I'm no.2 but I could see why milking a row of heifers would attract the bondage types 😂
On the money here ⬆️
Never said yours were and haven't a clue of your stock in parlour. It's like bullfighting. If you breed those that try to kick you. Their progeny will be the same. You can line breed good and bad temperaments. Horses, cats, dogs they all the same. Temperament is hereditary. We've seen the heifers that never lift a leg and heifers that are just nuts and reared in the same herd. Seemingly other herdbooks are putting 5 stars to the heifers that never lift a leg and 4 stars to the heifers that do so for one day. But that's down to farmer truthfulness and seeing the bigger picture in breeding a better animal for the whole industry.
My father used to say the shorthorn was an OK breed. But the first cross on the Freisians came in were terrors for kicking. A dept vet around used to apologise to farmers that bought her father's stock on the clearance sale as everyone said they were bad temperaments.
Super job and plenty of comfort in fairness.
Wonder are the new silicone liners a better job with fresh calved heifers/cows?
When I use to work milking cows, at the end of milking the heifers were let into the parlour to stand while the machine was washing to get use to the parlour noise and the surroundings, you would find the ones that would kick out when walking up and down and was forewarned for them,
Farmer I booked my calf off rang to let me know I might not be able get his calves,that a lesion was found in the lung of a cull cow that he sent to the factory and is now locked up till the results of the lesion come back.He said it was the oldest cow in the herd and his own vet reckoned it was just a growth that was effecting her breathing and was best to put her in the factory sooner than later..he reckons that he will know the result in 2 or 3 weeks and will possible still be able to sell calves then but said he understands if I want to book calves elsewhere…what's peoples experience of stuff showing up in culls?..does it usually take long for results?
If its positive they will be back in 2 weeks, if negative could take 6 weeks.
I saw a few of ye talking about this farm on here. What’s the story behind it? Just asking purely out of curiosity. I saw one article that said the farm is being sold because the owner is moving to a bigger place but it’s odd the way the yard was never even finished
https://m.independent.ie/farming/farm-property/240ac-dairy-and-forestry-farm-in-offaly-back-on-market-for-3m/a1522192019.html
That sums it up there alright.
https://www.facebook.com/share/v/1B8cVBs82Y/
Did someone here claim James Humpreys was sacked from Teagasc and Solohead? He was just on ear to the ground.
Id find it hard to believe even 10 percent of what was said in that segment in fairness.
I'd say it would be some fair achievement to get sacked from the likes of teagasc. 🤣🤣
Can anyone screenshot the Darragh mc cullough article about his farm partnership in this week's farming independent please went to buy it in local shop but there was none left
Sent you a pm.
Anyone that has autumn calvers, do you leave them in on tmr and just concentrate on getting spring calvers out to grass? Just found the winter girls took too much of a drop with the change of diet.
What''s going on with Boards, I'm getting no new messages on ''No quitten we're whelan on to chitchat 11 '' since thursday.
There's new messages listed on the first page but I can't access them
Same as that with me too.
same here.
I messaged and asked for a new thread to be started, don't know what the story is. Boards gone to feck this last while
50k a year for this sh1thole. Modern farmyard and facilities my hole. And not even a house.
https://www.facebook.com/share/p/153T1KGvaU/
Killed bulls 12 days ago,
Got a letter 9 days later in the morning time from dvo saying I was restricted because lesion showed up.
Got phone 6.30 that night to say that was lifted as lung sample showed up something that wasn't tb.
Someone may have rang from factory on the day they were killed, to tell me about a lesion but I received no phone call, knew nothing till letter came.
So it's possible to get negative in 9 days if like my case.
That was strange by the dept the usual procedure is the day after the factory kill the dept will ring and lock you as they are speaking to you if they can't get you on the phone they could contact your vet and he will tell you what is happening but they will keep ringing you until they speak to you directly
your awful cranky today. Someone obviously saw a return in it, I would too at 280/ac. Go build 2 slatted sheds and see how much that costs you