yours might need a service there is like a screw to adjust the fuel supplies know a lad that it happened to makes a big difference it just wasn't working right
I have to cotswold heater, got tams on it, put in water softner with it. Was advised against gas as getting someone to service it would be difficult
What option(s) are there for BVD testing if you didn’t send off the sample from the calf tag?
I used an old tagger and didn’t get the little sample bottle sealed and sent for the first few calves.
Your tag supplier should be able to send you button tags for samples, same as if you had empty sample
Any prices for angus calves in last few days
Carnaross Monday
Light calves making big money
These weren’t my calves
I'm selling angus 2 weeks 125.
you’ll have any amount of buyers
250-300 in new Ross today
I am selling at 175 at 2 weeks from home. Might up that.
Booked the first 60 beef calves off the lad I usually deal with for €200 a head at 3 weeks old..all angus and Hereford from square fr cows and all from ai bulls with good beef figures…Thought it fair on both the buyer and sellers to be honest.if I can get the next batch for the same I'll be happy enough
By the look of the trade at the minute weatherby, you are doing well. But by the time we reach the end of March he might be doing well. What makes it so hard to gauge is that we are all used to working prices back from a sh1te beef price but this year thats not the case. Two years down the line those calves could be too dear. Who knows.
2 years time the price is irrelevant
Meat prices are high so lads selling fit cattle are getting huge money so they can afford to replace stock
if beef prices are bad in 2 years replacing these stock will be cheap as calf prices will be cheap
Simple economics elasticity of demand (a great professor used to mention this and the slums of ranaleigh)
Took an average €300 per head more for the 23 born calves I killed back in October/November.These calves are costing me €20 more than last years calves
Sounds a bit too fair to you, it would have been a low price for such calves last year, not to mind this year.
A sound he x bfr bull 3 weeks old is always worth 300 on average,more like 400 this year.
250 to 300 should be the price of those quality calves once their healthy and thriving.
If you can get €400 for all your beef calves fair play.Most dairy lads around here who hunt the big money for there best calves are left with their smaller ones as usually the ones buying the biggest and most exspencive don't buy many and just cherry pick the best ones out of the pens.
Same man buys a few loads of silage off me at times which I sells him at a decent rate never the top of the market price.
Had a lad last year took everything, good and bad for around 80 across the board which was good for last year. Am I going to turn aroundand look for 200+. It works both ways, if I can get 120-150 for everything I'll be happy
Anyone use acidifier(have good bit of milk don't want to throw away) how long does it keep? Would normal vinegar work?
I think this is a sensible approach.
Have a few regular customers here, they have calves booked no price agreed but it won't be a lot more than last year.
Have had 4 other lads looking for calves but had to turn them away. I think its better in long run to look after the lads buying calves every year
Do Friesian markings on an Angus calf matter much to buyers?
They’re genuine stock, out of British Friesian and Holstein cows, but the Angus bull had 25% FR in him.
You're saving time and money by not having to go to the mart. Not dealing with time wasters also worth a few euro and payment before they leave
I don't know why you'd be paying €150 more than asked but maybe you mis read my post.
I'm only pointing out the average market price for the quality if calves you described, giving a well known and relatable example as an end point to help.
Are you selling very good quality bales for €25?
I prefer to get a fair price and pay a fair one, that way no one is getting done and I end up dealing with the same people year in year out.
Im selling my aa 100 and fr bulls 20 euro ive very loyal customers who most years make a small profit imm not going to rob them many a year i got same money when either aa were making 50and fr could not be given away.
Have they buds for horns, is there much white on them and would you know they're angus
I’ll check again but I don’t think there’s any buds. Some have classic FR markings (they’d pass for FR calves), some just have white legs, and others are all black.
It’ll be another 2 weeks before I’ll be selling them as I need to get their BVD test sorted and there’ll be no milk going in the tank til at least after the Bord Bia audit on 25-Feb. If I’d 20 calves gone around then, it’d be another 100 litres/day for the tank and less work hauling buckets of milk around.
If they are good square calves it might not matter.
Realistically they are 67 percent Friesan if bull is 25 percent
Lucky it's a good calf price year
Have you notions of keeping any of the heifer calves for replacement milking stock?
I had when I was all optimism 10 days ago and calving had just started. But reality has kicked in very fast and I need to reduce the workload. Two hours in the parlour every day milking 19 heifers (with 9 more to go) is dragging the arse out of things at the moment.
😂🤣. Beware of the guys that tell you they can milk 100 cows in 40 mins. You'll be grand, I went through that learning curve too.