At present day machinery prices starting from scratch, I'd say it's negligible any cost savings, hitting a sweet spot here with tractor/slurry tank/ twin mowers and fertiliser spreader all paid for this year and all touchwood will do a good few more years without needing replacement, but to go out and buy the above from a standing start, you'd be looking at 200k of a investment/4 plus k a month in hp repayments
a southwest based calf exporter arrived into our yard a couple hrs ago practically begging us to sell him our bull calves… he was never before in our yard…. guaranteed us a fixed price for our bull calves for the year…
Would they be the "worthless" calves that he's after..... I got sick of selling mine for feck all last year. Kept a handful of them and my only regret is that I didn't keep more.
Re the bull calves for shipping we are the only country bluetongue free. They can,t get them anywhere else.
what happen to the machinery he had for sale I was interested in one or two bits
there was an auction advertised. Not sure if it went ahead though. Someone said to me locally here that it was cancelled but I’m not sure. He’s only a few miles from me here but I don’t know much about him.
calves will be worth money this year
the auction never happened
grand little Charlie calf for a decent enough cow who did 902kg ms last year and has a lifetime calving interval of 364 days
Alot of these headlined prices are for top quality outwintered stock calve will be no dearer when the glut comes theres simply too many calves at one time.
shipper offered 180 for fr bull calves for the whole season yesterday
21 days old minimum and must be 50kg
Will you get paid leaving the yard?
yeah and it was cash two years ago
It depends on the weather too, only 1 fr bull calf here so far. Hopefully that'll be all
I'd take it.
Wow, I assume you agreed, of course a word of mouth deal,
not expensive
same company gave me 10 euro a calf before
Tell me you forgot to order tags without telling me that you forgot to order tags…..
My cousin forgot to and only put in his order last week. The lead time is about 2-3 weeks! 😂
Just buy tags from local co op and tag them to identify them until other ones come
”There’ll be no cow at your funeral”
https://www.facebook.com/share/v/1A8PePREui/?mibextid=wwXIfr
I don’t know the man but the above quote caught my ear as I sit (briefly) with a cup of tea and contemplate what the f*ck possessed me to think milking cows was a good idea 😂
I’m only half joking - it’s getting a little easier with the heifers in the parlour. They’re fairly quiet but wriggle around a bit. 14 out of 28 calved so far. 2 dead calves but the rest are flying.
Tell him he can get blank identitytags and a permanent marker pen. Put a different number on each calf.
Dead money…
Just watched the video. He was in a bad place when there wasn't someone he could ring to give him a dig out when he was in hospital.
I would have 6 or 7 lads between relief milkers and neighbours milking cows who would step in if I got into bother. I would happily do the same for them.
Its really sad when lads isolate themselves so much.
You know when you see the likes of that couple found dead in kerry the other day and no one missed them for months, wtf is the world coming to. We're blessed here with good neighbours.
it’s not always down to bad neighbours in fairness, some people don’t mix with others and there are plenty of people that are complete pricks and people don’t bother with them. I saw a neighbour yesterday for the first time in years, anyone that ever bothered with him or tried to help him he caused trouble and fell out with them so nobody bothers with him. I’m not saying that’s the case here but it happens.
Surely though there'd be family, especially over Christmas, just very sad that they were there unnoticed for so long.
I agree, surely when he was in hospital, he could find some relative/friends/ hired labor to step in. I think it probably was the last straw.
Big big money on the way for you. watch that white gold pumping in to the tank
Tis not for the money older, the wife came down to the yard this afternoon to find me wrapping up a cover of a silage pit I just finished. You know the state you'd be in then. All she said was that I was obviously in the job for the glamour.
I was trying to be sarcastic, in fairness to siamsa, he is a very honest poster and it's a very steep learning curve he has been on the past two years. But things do get easier,
Once the heifers get settled in and the calves get weaned and go out, things will get into a routine. You will always have blips, a sick animal or failing a milk test.
But he is at the hardest part now, a lot of money spent and new heifers finding their way. Spring is fairly tough on most of us. T