New car registrations are up 7% on last year.
New BEV registrations are up 20%.
https://www.simi.ie/en/news/new-car-registrations-7-in-january-2025-battery-electric-20
Thread Bans:
@Mad_Lad
they have not been in the top 10 in January since records began 😂
That's hilarious. Did they read my post above which was tongue in cheek? 🤣 Tesla have never been in the top 10 in January.
No actual journalism was harmed in the writing of that article.
plug in petrol hybrid for the win,
all eggs in one basket on EVs - mistake
a lot of sense in this video
Why? What's the mistake in driving a vehicle that doesn't have injectors, belts, alternators water pumps, spark plugs, filters, seals and oils that regularly have to be maintained, replaced and break?
I had one, never again. They have improved since mine but still, never again.
Absolutely, I'm on my second new PHEV now. No intention of going full EV. Too many issues with them, despite the constant talking up in some of these threads.
Might possibly think about it in 5 or 6 years if they are still a thing and have improved. However, with increasing improvements and range with PHEVs as well, probably still won't be a good choice for my needs.
I don't understand the 'eggs in one basket' reference. As I understand it (open to correction) if the HV battery goes in a PHEV, it's undriveable.
Obviously it's the same if the engine goes.
Take hybrid, sales 13 years ago had a market share of 0.8% now 24.89%,
phev 11 years ago had a market share of 0.04% now 14.17%,
EVs 13 years ago 0.17% now 14.69% market share,
apart from the x5, phevs are more expensive for hyundai and kia, the other top 10 phevs don't have a diesel version, AFAIK.
I have followed these Threads every year, while most concentrate on EVs, the bigger picture seems to be ignored, most years every fuel type have increased apart from diesel,
Another thing ignored is 2nd hand imports, while the majority of Januarys registrations are new cars, last year they made up nearly 45% of registrations , 5600 imports were registered only 128 were EV's.
A thriving 2nd hand market is required for EV's and it seems to be severely lacking.
Maybe he's not having a go at EV owners but referencing the likes of Toyota and also Hyundai, Kia, BYD, VW that continue to provide a range of hybrid and phevs cars so not all in on EVs?
Could be wrong of course but am not jumping to get offended as an EV owner
Well if that's the case, he's managed to confuse both EV and PHEV owners.
Maybe he'll come back and confirm? I'm just sick of threads being derailed by the PHEV v EV arguments
On the latter point, I'd bet that the vast majority of those imports are from NI. They just don't have the electric second hand stock to import
Worth noting that some of the jump in PHEV sales come from SIMI finally correcting the fact that they were reporting Toyota PHEVs as HEVs.
Other than that the greatest growth by far was coming from the likes of Hyundai where nearly half of all Tucsons were PHEV models.
And a big Garda order of Tuscan Hybtids.
Fair enough. Replace "all" with "most"
PHEVs are a great way for a manufacturer to help move the needle on CO2 fleet performance. It will be interesting to see how the in-use monitoring starts to impact their usefulness. Starting this year they will be taking data from in-use vehicles and expect to have the CO2 numbers updated by 2027.
https://www.transportenvironment.org/articles/the-drive-to-2025-why-eus-2025-car-co2-target-is-reachable-and-feasible
That's very interesting. Surprised how far ahead Volvo are from all the others. Probably have the lion's share of Norway's massive EV adoption figures.
that’s debatable too, evidenced by the fact that sales are rising unless you are going to call all those people dim! 😉
The Volvo manufacturer pool is Volvo, Polestar and Suzuki. They are joining the Mercedes pool to help Mercedes reach compliance. The other big pool is ran by Tesla, they've been joined by Toyota, Mazda, Subaru, Ford and Stellantis.
Sales are rising but the figures are still not where the EV market share is. So "most" would be the word to use I think
These are people who are interested and see the benefit in the idea of putting some form of electricity into their vehicles to move them so I wouldn't call these people "dim" by any stretch. A PHEV buyer today is an EV buyer tomorrow
I watched that video. A lot of good points made and some factual errors. He says that if you do less than 100 miles a day an EV is a no-brainer. That's a bit overstated since range is now much greater and 200 miles a day is quite easily achievable. Also the contention that EVs are very expensive is (and he admits this himself) changing rapidly and we have already a couple of sub €20k cars on the market here and more sub €25k. And that's euros, so considerably less than the £30k he says.
The depreciation issue (mostly caused by significant drops in new EV prices) will even out if it hasn't already. Recent reports from the UK seem to suggest that prices are stabilising.
With regard to home charging, the UK is a bit of an outlier. I think they have more than one third of homes without the capability of installing home charging - lots of terraced houses and high rise blocks. But they also have excellent public transport, so maybe it's swings and roundabouts there.
But the main point that he missed (he alluded to it obliquely, but didn't follow up) is the uptake. One million EVs on the road in a fleet of 20 million. If you take two thirds of that (those with off-street parking), that's around 12 million EVs that could be substituted for ICE. We have something similar here except the proportion is greater - more than 80% with off-street parking. The UK has also dropped all incentives for EV purchases, often making EVs more expensive there than here.
The cost of public charging wasn't mentioned, this is significantly higher in the UK than here. And we're significantly higher than a lot of Europe. This needs to be addressed because it's not helping adoption. In the UK with greater distances travelled, it's a very significant additional cost per mile.
There are definitely obstacles to wholesale EV adoption, but there are none where all criteria can be met right now. That's where the short-term focus should be and should also include the reduction in public charging costs (partial subsidies perhaps) and the continuing drop in the cost of the cars themselves.
There are 5 PHEVs in our estate. I have never seen 4 of them plugged in. 2 of them don't even have an EV charger installed. It's an anecdote, not data. But I think it's representative.
On the green I live on there's 4 PHEVs, and I see them plugged in all the time. It's an anecdote, but I think it's representative.
Apologies, what issues?
Where I live there's no PHEV's and 19 EVs. It's an anecdote but I think it's representative
Where I live there is an awful lot of shite on the road. It's an anecdote but I'm not sure of its representative
1st in sales in Jan for Norway- the bz4x!!!! - I assume partly explained by strong Toyota brand loyalty.
Maybe those Toyota die hards who swapped to EV a few years ago finally going back home to them
That's some serious brand loyalty right there!
that’s actually mental.
Part of it might be down to a 40% drop in Tesla sales in Norway, and some sort of great offer on the Toyota.
just 118 bz4x sold here in Jan, from over 5000 Toyotas (2%)