New Thread to continue discussion for General Premier League. Old thread closed.
Braindead stuff from Sanchez
It's unbelievable all the money they've spent that Sanchez is the starting GK, he's so poor on a regular basis.
the manager seems to have a blind spot for him. I would have thought Kelleher would be a good fit.
Yer man Petrovic looked good last season. Kelleher isn't the answer
Arsenal won't finish ahead of Man City, nevermind Liverpool. Seem to be getting a bit overcited today considering it was Wolves.
You seemed very annoyed over it.
The bang of entitlement off Liverpool fans is incredible. It was about this time in 20 when COVID saved ye and got ye over the line, so maybe the same will happen this year.
Mod Edit: Warned for trolling
Covid was week of Cheltenham in March when it stopped
After the Champions League game v Atletico
Covid didn't save anyone!
It prevented Man City from going on their usual run
But I'm saying it wasn't in January
City were 25pts behind in March when it happened.
And those games still got played later
Liverpool's gap when the Covid break happened was 25 points, it was 18 at the end of the season. Between that, and the charming Karen Brady wanting to void the league season, Covid nearly f*cked things up for Liverpool.
Ah ya that time we absolutely dominated the league winning 37 out of 38 games march 2019 - Feb 2020. 20 points clear before COVID started. No serious Liverpool considers the leagueremotely done. There still almost 50 points to play for anyone dismissing Arsenal from the race is an idiot . Today was never really in doubt vs Ipswich but with 20mins left extending the lead by 2 more points would have been huge but wolves were so poor .
Any team finishes ahead of Arsenal will likely be champions this season. A lot of rival fans seem to really dislike Arteta and the moaning from Arsenal fans so people tend to want to write them off.
When you sober up, find me a Liverpool fan saying we're champions.
Yeah I think he's misremembering it and though that it hit in January which would have been more games for City to get points
Even if City had have won every remaining game they would have finished on 87pts and Liverpool had 82pts when it stopped so only needed 6. It was way out of City's hands.
Then add to the fact that Liverpool's points per game got worse after the games restarted than before, and City improved after the restart and got better PPG than before, suggesting that it was beneficial to City.....just nowhere near enough!
Are there actually people out there who seriously believe that covid was somehow a reason why Liverpool won the league in 19/20? Like, I don't like Liverpool as much as the next person but it seems like a new level of denial to actually believe that.
Absolute nonsense.
Liverpool were 25 points clear when COVID "kicked in".
27 wins out of 29.
You sound like one of the lads from the Utd thread.
It's actually a shame COVID kicked in because we only got 17 points out of the remaining 27 available, cost us 100 points mark.
Of course not, it’s just bitter rivals fans that try to diminish it in that way.
Couldn't care less about the 100pt mark, that league win was incredible, any league win is amazing regardless of points total.
City had 30 points left to play for, they were 25 behind!
Embarrassing stuff from you.
The wider point is that our form was actually worse post covid though.
I made that point in an earlier post
Fair play
Why are people talking about COVID league titles? In 2025. COVID was 5 years ago. Half a decade ago.
Anyways, Man City are the only club to win a league that was fully contested under COVID restrictions. A very weird season that was.
I will never complain about somebody wanting to talk about a league title won by Liverpool
Always great to see it brought up
Their fans will remind you of it enough, don't worry! But to be fair, it was an incredible season by Liverpool. I think their season previous was actually a better performance as an overall but didn't win the league which is a bit odd. They deserved a league title or two in that era though.
I'm enjoying the title race more this season, and last season, more than the 3 straight sprint title races between Man City & Liverpool. The bumps in the road make it more exciting. I expect Arsenal to close the gap on Liverpool next weekend. Bournemouth are in top form now and pose a threat to all teams in current form. Arsenal at home to a hit & miss Man City who have a big midweek while Arsenal can have their feet up at home.
That wolves lad should have got a straight red card. Not a second yellow.
That stuttering hit and miss Man City are as close to Arsenal as Arsenal are to Liverpool in the table. Closer if you count Goal difference. They can score for fun when they're on it. Something that Arsenal struggle to do. Dismiss them at your peril. Arsenal could just as easily find themselves just 3 points ahead of City - though your probably right about Liverpool. They likely won't have 3 more points either.
You expect Arsenal to close the gap despite Liverpool having two games?
I think they know it riles up Liverpool fans when they say it so they will do it on purpose. Classic trolling to get Liverpool fans and it works as there is always someone to correct the record but the person who posted it is gone by that time.
As above, it is trolling from the poster. Whatever riles up the other fans, right?
Mod Edit: Warned for backseat moderation
The Skelly challenge was nasty, and one of those fouls I hate. Arsenal get caught out with a terrible corner and Wolves would have had a fast counter attack.
That being said, it was right under the nose of the ref and it was not a red card.
The ref goes and makes it worse for himself by only giving a second yellow for a similar if not worse challenge.
As Arteta says, the club shouldn't even need to appeal it, it should be sorted before that.
That game further highlights Arsenals need for an out and out scorer of goals.