easy calving and short gestation
Any merchant that you have a relationship with will offer credit terms, and quiet often without the interest. It's very easy to get a price for fertiliser for say June paymentfor a very small addition to the price. It's also a significant help to their transport planning.
Yes it does. But you probably won't won't be given the results immediately. Others may know how long it takes to up show on the ICBF webpage.
Tbh most lads dont ask anything other than calving figures and price.
Yes, you'll have the results fairly quick
More important would be to get the sires dna, he should be 100% AA
Would it be worth holding on to the heifers for a few years if you're trying to get the numbers up? Obviously don't breed off them and have them near the top of the cull list.
I’m about to phone the parlour man now and bawl him out of it. I’ll know more then 😂
The electrician spoke to him yesterday and he was talking about Monday but I’ll try squeeze him again. I’m managing with the portable machine in our old parlour but it’s tough going. Five calved here now.
Re genotyping: am I starting to lose the plot if I’m not ruling out milking these Angus-FR heifers? What kinda % FR would want to be in them to make it an option?
Sell them and buy heifer calves from someone you know. They shouldn't be dear. Nitrates and costs means most operators are planning to carry the bare minimum of replacements where they would traditionally have sold excess in calf heifers.
I'd prefer to milk them than buying in unknowns and disease. They would do fine for a few years and have a good cull value after.
Consider it a baptism of fire. I know a man that milked for 3 weeks with a single unit. Was 35 through the parlour the day it was commissioned. I'm assuming you were planning to sell the anguses and buy milking stock, I think you'd be mad to start milking mongrels. It'll cost the same to rear as milking stock, and they might end up nothing more than milky sucklers.
What kind of money do you think heifer calves will be?
will have surplus here …..Ai bred ,pedigree registered ,genotyped,milk records etc etc and vaccinated with bovipast …bids of 500 and above at 3/4 weeks accepted
Have surplus already here, was thinking 400 myself, but mine aren't pedigree and not genotyped.
When will the dero status for 2026- be decided?
Everything will be fine, no harm in ringing about the parlour but don't lose the head.
And don't worry about the calfs either. When heifers are calving all that matters is that she is OK herself. Nothing worse than straining a jack on a heifer.
next July on a warm summer day you won't even remember these couple of weeks
And narrow small short hair calves who will not be tall just small round barrels with brown noses 🤦♂️😑 some hatchet job done on the Angus breed in the last decade plus. Very hard get a good one now
Be the same as what a huge percentage of the country is milking so .......except his will fatten up easily......… I'll get me coat
Its a brave man that would sell "surplus" heifer calves with all the TB around you may need them yet.
I'd say October or later
Used what would still be classed as a very good high ebi bull to mop up cows in 2021, have circa 15 of his daughters milking, if you walked into my yard now and where told to pick them out from the rest of the herd you'd have no trouble finding them, stumpy barrels of yokes with extremely middling udders, couldn't get over how bad they are type-wise of good holstein cows, their not bad milkers in fairness and have good solids but I hate the sight of them around the place
We milked a few aax fr over the years, lovely stock , milked well and always had super calves.
have an aa cow out of a Holstein here. She’s given 24000 litres from first 4 lactations. Not saying they’d all be like that
on the tb around me ….its actually quite amazing ….my neighbour who lost near 65% of his cows since last February and had reactors on bloods and skin tests and legions on every batch that left has just had one clear test ….and a very clean result on severe interpretation …..another fella few miles from me has just gone clear in his second test….had 89 reactors across cows /young stock late September and over 300 animals gone in previous 11 months …….its amazing if you ask me and a sceptic would wonder what change has been made to the vials vet use 🤔🤔…….heard a good few around going feee again over last few weeks despite nearly every farmer you’d meet having reactors throughout last year
The hold ups getting the 23 mid term review are very concerning. NGO's are hammering any inaccuracies in submissions. Appropriate assessment haven't been done historically on certain leglislations and the NGO's are into court on them, and murdering agricultural planning with improper assessments near SAM'S etc.
While the Nitrates review group and dept may have their submissions decided on by end of Q1, the minefield of navigating that to the point of commission decision could put it into 26 before we know.
4/5 of the above cows are minus for milk ……
Milked TAD before anyone asks
Atleast they have enough for besting not like my neighbours 😒 😑 start putting a bit of power back into them soon or you'll be in bother. also lower the tail on them all bar the sixth cow(she is not too many generations away from holstein.) or your going to end up with a big Hollow in their backs and it will ruin your locomotion..... you obviously have used that byll on milky holstein cows ....... your figures have always been above average from what you tell on this forum ........ there's lads with herds in serious trouble........ will their elders come back into shape for you or are they a bot worse every year. Teat placement is not too bad couple are bit short on teat length. I wouldn't breed off 5of the 6 in the line
I cull a few every year for udders. But that’s mainly age related. I do zero picking of cows for confirmation. Dad never did either and I’m quite happy with them. All the top producing cows are selected out for dairy straws and then I pick off which ones I don’t like out of them for beef. That’s about as much as I do for dairy selection.
Would you not help the lad out 150 wud be enough to charge.
Nice cows there young too and those udders wont last thats ebi for u.