I have to say I'm not a massive fan of this podcast. Ken Early presents himself as having touched the salmon of knowledge. Good points are made in the podcast at times but the overall tone isn't for me.
I know how this goes on here
?
Just giving my opinion on the podcast, apologies if that isn't allowed in here.
you won’t get any problems from me.
The last reaction to a post like yours with 22 posters thanking.
You’re allow to post whatever you want about the show, just expect pushback if you are criticising the show….and you’ve criticised Ken which is to be done with extreme caution here.
The ironic thing is, for all the criticisms you can have of the podcast (and there are a few) - I wouldn't describe them as a total echo chamber. I doubt they'd respect posters who can't tolerate and engage with different viewpoints.
I think people can take issue with the podcast in here, but it's hardly that surprising that most people who post in here happen to like it.
You have to be a paid subscriber to listen to 80% of it - and most people aren't going to pay to keep listening to something that they don't like!
i suppose what you're saying is that you wouldn't necessarily agree with anything Ken Early says about football?
You pay for about 55% extra stuff. 2 of 6 shows are free and non subbers get a show on Thursday that tries to attract non subbers by putting some of the best bits from Tuesday-Friday. That works for me as there’s too much rugby or Sinead ocarroll or American murph or tepid takes on GAA or bad takes on the men’s Irish international team for me to want to listen the all of the time. I’m happy with that.
No I agree with some of what he says but I dislike his condescending tone.
No problem!
Does anyone actually like US Murph and the pod that's dedicated almost entirely to American sports?
I used to like him back in the day, but his contributions have got very samey over the years. I don't think he's that engaged himself any more either.
With the relentless whinging on this thread, it comes across as some members are throwing away 70 odd quid a year on something they don't actually like.
Love US Murph. Still one of my favourite contributors.
To be fair, there's considerably less whinging than on most other Boards threads!
I love US Murph. His positivity shines through and I like that. Even though I’m not a huge fan of US sports, I always listen.
Its a quote from John Giles about Ken. A joke used against you.
Ken is condescending. That's one of the reasons he's great to listen too. He's. It everyone's cup of tea and if you don't like him, no point listening to the pod really.
https://www.irishexaminer.com/sport/soccer/arid-20434269.html
I like US Murph but wish they would just get him on when some iconic American sportsperson/announcer dies as I think he's best at describing someone's impact that way.
His NFL knowledge is really surface level stuff and I would prefer someone with a bit more in-depth knowledge to talk about the Playoffs.
Separate issue but I'm glad they saw the sense of bringing in Conor Niland for some semi-regular tennis too, he's definitely knowledgeable enough to be a regular Grand Slam contributor, just hope that doesn't mean the end of Caitlin, maybe have both on together and see if it works.
Is it just the schedule or has Caitlin not been on the pod for ages? Cant remember the last time i heard her.
Ken is definitely SC’s MVP, but there’s a vibe of phoning it in off him sometimes these days. Which I don’t really blame him for, it would be hard for anyone to stay motivated doing the same thing for 20 years. You’d wonder if he’d secretly like doing something else for a change, even to refresh the batteries
His share of 17,000 fivers pcm should be plenty of motivation.
Loads of time for personal projects as well, they're definitely living the dream.
"Relentless whining". I don't like the pod with US Murph or the American sports thing, just doesn't interest me at all. 99% of what the lads put out is great. I wouldn't be paying for it otherwise.
Apart from the whinging about the lack of whinging 😂
The problem with talking about US sports is… let's face it, they're crap!
interestingly that post you quoted was actually in response to the very same poster saying they’d stopped listening and preferred other types of podcasts (which in context does seem an odd thing to bother coming on to post). I guess in the meantime they started listening again for long enough to tell us they don’t enjoy it 😅
His NFL knowledge is definitely not based level. He just speaks like that because he knows his audience. Pets face it, the % of sc members who want to hear in depth proper scrutiny of NFL matches is pretty slim. I'd imagine in the low single digits. He keeps it relatable to a person like me, I have absolutely no knowledge of any us sports but I enjoy his episodes because he won't bore the hole off me with in depth analysis.
Yep, he's on the radio for hours every day and NFL is his main sport. He pitches his contribution to second captains at the level that the second captains have asked him to.
ha, ok, strange
a new stakeknife just dropped today, not yesterdays
Yeah, I'm guessing this was posted in error? I have it downloaded anyway. I saw on Mark Horgan's Twitter account that they were still preparing the final episode (for BBC Sounds) and the power outage was effecting the sound mixer. But then saw Episode 10 on my non-BBC Sounds feed.