Makes the like of Andressen happy. Trump also seems to be parroting Andressen's debanking claims.
Those that have loaded up already will be richer.
https://www.forbes.com/sites/davidbirch/2025/01/21/it-is-not-strategic-reserve-a-government-bitcoin-hoard-makes-no-sense/
Been in crypto for nearly 10 years now but a strategic bitcoin reserve is just so stupid, like stockpiling chocolate teapots, every other strategic reserve has a purpose like being prepared for wars/disasters, what is a pile of BTC supposed to do for America?
ETH is not going to hit the anticipated adoption from the big players about to enter block chain, they will be using their own chain, CCIP will connect them all and end the ETH miners gold mine that is MEV.
It will still do well but not hit the dizzy heights some expect imo.
Eth lads seem to be fighting amongst themselves alot lately...
https://www.coindesk.com/tech/2025/01/22/ethereum-core-developer-eric-conner-departs-as-vitalik-dismisses-calls-for-leadership-change
yea, that to me all but confirms SBR, I mean they can’t just come out and state they will buy x billion of BTC, it will be purchased first and then announced.
https://x.com/SenLummis/status/1882454483852255605?t=_-xBoz6wrEO5oIV00CJy2w&s=19
That's the news it seems. She's one of the main people pushing for Strategic Bitcoin Reserves) for states, so it should be positive news. You'd imagine they won't announce much until after they've started accumulating anyway.
If QE returns (jobless claims seem to have been more than anticipated, so this could be more likely if that's a trend) alongside some US states or even the country starting SBRs there'll be FOMO unlike anything in previous cycles. If Meta vote positively to allocate some funds to BTC as well (Zuck was at the inauguration) it should have a knock on effect for other companies.
Seems to be US crypto news incoming, this could be the beginning.
If corporate tax money leaves Ireland then we are instantly a third world country, we produce nothing, if incentives to stimulate growth in other areas are not created then we are on a ship heading toward an iceberg.
I have a problem paying it just on the basis of the 20 odd billion wasted in just the last 6-10 years.
quicker the corporate tax boom leaves Ireland the better.
Celtic tiger was the worse thing that ever happened here
What is the point of that strawman, it makes no sense as I haven't suggested eliminating CGT.
Also, how is that irony? Yes, I want to pay less taxes to fund less free **** for people who are entitled to these things that us in the squeezed middle are funding yet excluded from. So I can use my own extra money that would save me to improve my own quality of life. Why should anyone here accept a system that's made it increasingly harder for us to rent or buy homes while people who contribute the least towards the funding of the country hit the jackpot and get into brand new homes like the ones shown above? It is outrageously unfair.
.…oooh nice
https://cryptoslate.com/47m-bitcoin-wallet-linked-to-silk-road-founder-re-surfaces-after-a-decade/
Which would you think would be philosophically better for society? Tax incentives to invest in businesses that increase employment and economic output, or going to 0% CGT on Real Estate investments so that those who already hold it can get a massive jump from the artificial inflation, and the very wealthy can use it going forward as a vehicle to increase that wealth tax free?
If you have an issue with deemed disposal, you can easily avoid it by just having a diversified portfolio of individual stocks. You don't need to replicate the index exactly. Even if you want to track it somewhat you can rebalance somewhat without selling and buying while you are still paying into it. You may not want to track it exactly anyway as you might have your own views on certain sectors and want to take a strategic approach anyway.
The foregoing may not be applicable to everyone as many people will not have the overall pot to enable them to do that easily, but surely all ye crypto millionaires could do it easily enough if you wanted to cash out to evil fiat.
The irony is that you appear to be bitter at those who are getting things for free …….. but yet you want the rules to be changed so that you don't have to pay in (or at least don't have to pay in as much).
no evidence.
trump needs to free all the innocent people. shut the prisons and open mental health units and stop people with type 1 diabetes dying cuz they can't afford healthcare and stop talking shite about the border which he already used for 4 years and tax me arse.
was it found to be totally made up? I thought it did take place but was coerced, the police in the US have great fondness setting up crimes and coercing people to take part, doesn’t seem to happen in Europe much but they don’t seem to give a sh1t in the US that’s its entrapment.
I thought he put hits out on people but nope they made that sh1te up aswell.
Just trying to keep you outta jail dirk, they have no internet connection in there and you would be a great loss.
The dude is harmless, no threat to society, if you come around to the idea that the police pretty much coerced him into wanting someone dead then all he did was create an anonymous website.
We are talking hypotheticals and you are banging on about the current laws, if Trump scraps CGT on crypto there will be other changes no doubt.
The 3 of you suffer from some type of aphantasia and cant deal with hypotheticals 😂😂😂
Absolutely disgraceful. He's not good person. Just because his site used Bitcoin as payment doesn't mean he should be getting this god like treatment.
https://www.rte.ie/news/2025/0122/1492158-trump-pardons-silk-road-mastermind-ross-ulbricht/
Ross Ulbricht released, listening to the Bitcoin magazine talk he gave he should be quite interesting to hear from.
Every time Makhlouf opens his mouth I question how he made it in life. Reminds me of Ernest, Ernest saves the CBI!
https://m.independent.ie/business/technology/gemini-moves-hq-from-dublin-to-malta-in-blow-to-irelands-reputation-as-european-regulatory-hub-for-crypto-industry/a1004095595.html
It is absolutely a bad thing when we're being forced to fund bullshit like this
Individuals who either don't work or pay very little in taxes as lower earners hitting the jackpot and having brand new €700,000-€950,000 apartments given to them for token rents. How many here who are breaking their arses trying to get ahead can afford to buy or rent such places? You'd need to be earning €175,000-€237,500 to afford these places. We are being laughed at, and people are eating **** from the government with such sentiments towards these socialist ideals.
By all means, keep CGT and even threshold it so the average person doesn't pay the same as someone earning massive amounts, but 33% is complete robbery. Also, CGT is a relatively tiny tax bracket even with all of this, it annually contributes only 1-2% of the overall exchequer funds, so all these ideas of it being philosophically justifiable and sticking it to the wealthy elite are pointless. As it currently stands, it is a disincentive for a lot of people, along with deemed disposal and the atrocious taxation of ETFs.
I know! I'll be thinking in a similar way to Dirk!
The ease at which the 33% cgt is accepted on here by some folk is testament to the governments conditioning of Irish citizens.
CGT is definitely one of the fairest taxes you can have from a philosophical point of view. And I say that as someone who has accrued more CGT liability in the last year than income tax paid.
I wouldn't argue against an inflation index adjustment now, but apart from that it's philosophically fine.
You live in a country that is slightly socialist. Not a bad thing. There are loads of supports should you fall on hard times (hell even if you're thriving). There's a cost to that and I don't think CGT is a bad cost.
Ireland is arguably one of the best countries in the world due to a combination of socialism and capitalism. It works well. American opportunities with a European lifestyle. It's perfect.
I do think the threshold should be increased a bit. It's been a long time. Maybe 5K then index link it. However it's a small amount really.
They should remove deemed disposable and encourage better financial literacy from an early age though.
kisses