I applied three years ago to the Garda Trainee campaign, I did extremely well in all stages placing in batch 1 throughout the process. However, when my application went into the vetting stage it stalled. I enquired several times since I finished all elements but I was always met with "suitability checks are ongoing" or " we are waiting for one thing back".
For the first year after I didn't go on holidays, I kept up training with a PT, continued with my voluntary work whilst also working and I returned to education while waiting to upskill in a degree that would stand to me in the job. I did this because I was told as I'd done so well I could get an offer any day and I should be ready. I really had my heart sat on joining the Guards it's the only time in my life I was sure about what I wanted.
Even to this day, I've kept up my fitness levels etc while I don't train specifically for their fitness tests as I had it done. I just kept improving my strength and fitness.
I get on well in everything I'm doing, I play sports and I'm active in my community but yet I received and email three years after applying saying my application is unsuccessful and thanks for the interest in An Garda Siochana.
I just think this is an absolute joke to have my application so long and not even give me a proper reason as to why I failed.
I have no convictions or any dealings with the guards in my past, I've never lived abroad or anything like that.
I was asked about certain people I'm related to in interviews but I don't know them. I have a big family so I just said it straight out I've no relationship to them. I wouldn't be able to point them out if I saw them! I feel like that's what is being held against me. Even though I did ask in my meeting with the Superintendent about it, he reassured me that I would be assessed on my merit and other people's dealings with them wouldn't be held against me.
I feel like such an eejit wasting so much time and money on it now. After three years waiting, I don't even think it's worth my while reapplying only to prob get the same outcome. I'm in my thirties now.
I read this in their FAQ's section
"Am I guaranteed an appointment if I pass the recruitment process? If you are successful in all elements of the selection and appointments processes, then you will be admitted to the Garda College as a Garda Trainee. Garda Trainees are attested as Members of An Garda Síochána following successful completion of Phase 1 Foundation Training."
I haven't even been told what I didn't pass!
Has anyone in this position appealed or asked for a review? If anything, I'd like to know why or what the decision was based on because I am someone that strives to do better and if it's something I can improve on I will but if it based on extended family there's absolutely nothing I can do about it.
Please don't reply with negative comments, I really don't need them. If you've been through the process and know a bit about it, I'd be grateful for some insight.