if i m not right now i will be in the near future.the price of milk is one thing but its costs that decide everything.we ve very little labour or contractor because we ve big land cost s running to 7+cent litres. increasingly milking margin is becoming the work of it especially if there is rented land in volved to some extent but i know you re not including that.
That's not hardship for fecks sake! Your going soft in your old age
hardship here this morning
6 fresh calved heifers
10 cows dried off
5 cows Ai
40 heifers injected with cidrs etc
No feeding done yet
Calves just finished with milk
really looking forward to a break when I’ve to do the school run later
Yes agree with you there the beef and sheep game is dodgy because it is low margin and low volume output and bank balance wise (you need a lot of lambs/beef to gather up a bundle of cash) and dairying because it'slow margin in comparison to most other businesses and it's also a high imput business in comparison to other farming sectors
As with all farming these days unfortunately
And depending on a big dollop of luck ......
What about a 3 year avrage 22,23,24..what would be the average price..40-45c/liter?
So 80-100 cows depending on production realistically?
true… but some people/families can just through an awful run of bad luck or accidents/tragedys that other people/families dont ever seem to be affected by
if you re margin is 10 cent ,500000 litres.forget about cow numbers.think margin by volume.edit if you really want to analyse it divide by hrs labour.
Entirely depends on performance of farm. We had an advisor years ago who maintained there was 100k profit between best and worst farmers on 100 cows
Where debt repayments are below €250 cow and decent production and over 50% land owned 80-90 cows should be able to do it comfortably
What year are you talking about ?
2022 bumper ,2023 the pits
votality in milk price is probably the biggest factor in the future of dairy farming .Fixed milk prices offer's by some of the dairy companies are 'heads i win ,tails you lose'
How many cows would it take for 1 person to earn a wage of €50k a year on good quality owned ground?..allowing €250/per cow yearly to cover investment to meet regulations and improvments..
The 50k would be strictly income before any personal or domestic exspences eg house esb,insurance personal car use..etc.
your becoming ceo of boards and head of moderation …..we’re a right sound bunch and funny as hell 😲😂
really sound and funny
Leaving aside the hours and wages, what are the people like that you'll be working with?
I’ve been offered a fairly lucrative 9-5 job with weekends off
It’s very attractive and the time off if tempting
Regulations are destroying my love of dairying
personally i think there s too much made of people finishing milking.its tough enough way to make a living while you may go on holidays or what ever you can never really switch off 100%.the healthiest scenario for the industry is have people coming and going and the bigger worry would be how unattractive milking has become relative to other available careers.
powerharrow not do a job on that?
Trouble is they were told all along they were doing the correct thing in buying straw and housing the same way their father did. Told they were correct by soil health gurus, animal welfare gurus, tillage gurus, organic gurus.
Now the dedicated tillage farmers lobbied with the green party in the last programme for government and got straw chopping into as a climate measure and put that they want multiples of the acreage down to meet climate targets set by the government.
So that's the market for selling to livestock farmers now gone to 18 thousand and only set to increase if they ever want a chance to compete with the chopping scheme and false claims climate targets of the measure. So that's ensuring it's slats and a lie back for calves from now on for sucklers if they want to stay in business and those that didn't keep moving this way when concrete was cheaper when it didn't have the mica and carbon levies will find it harder to finance thus.
Edit: would have been fairer calling it the slurry soil scheme.
There'll be a tillage and beef finisher now giving out about the price of suckler weanlings and petitioning the minister to do something about it.
The weanlings that is.. not the straw.
Funny world. And that's a yearly wage for some.
Life is as easy or as hard as you make it
Was chatting someone recently bedding 100 sucklers on straw. No slats at all. 18k on straw.
I was sitting in the car waiting on my father after a medical examination in which he couldn't drive the car for hours after.
I was noticing people just aimlessly wandering around and some disappearing behind a church to do drugs or drink for the company of others.
If any of ye become a dictator for this country, would ye bring in a national service that every young person has to do time on a farm as part of citizenship. Could chop half a little finger off if caught stealing.
Got word a dairy farmer in the next village is giving up milking cows this year and going at drystock.
He would have been around the same size herd wise as me and just a few years older. Seems the generational dairy farmers under 100 cows are just disappearing. Go on twitter though and you are told to shut up and it's the greatest farming enterprise going both by the women milking and those not milking. Team dairy has to be blindly enthusiastic about milking or else you are not representative of the "industry". I think the most enthusiastic though have jobs on the side and others doing the actual work. Farmer in question would have been a big buyer of straw for bedding of the cows. With all the costs gone up not just of straw, you'd imagine the good was going out of milking for them. Chance for a second life and lifestyle for them now though.
Still a bit of a downer but it's a personal decision for them obviously.
I've a neighbour who is a great man to celebrate Halloween. Not sure if he dresses up in a scary costume and goes trick or treating, but he lights a mighty bonfire to mark the occasion every year 😂
Burn them the 12th of July and say the unionists burned them. Or the the 21st of June and say your after turning pagan.
It's gas, the eating david above got for spreading slurry 12 hours early. The shite you would get for snaring badgers, or burning bush's.
And the funny thing is that it's farmers that are their own biggest critics. MEPS on 1/4 million/year don't have to worry about the laws they make as, its the fellow farmers that instead of supporting each other, will make an issue out of it. Not talking about you bass
Example of such
Hopefully won't get in trouble for the one picture. It's from a private group and if anything it's promoting the group as to what is posted in such. Very well moderated by a Ukrainian mod.
There's farmers on the facebook groups worldwide making their own from lignite and I think potassium hydroxide. More a southern hemisphere thing. If you can buy a bag of lignite for 15 euro and a drum of KOH for 40 then it shows how these others make money. Lack of volume in sales and lack of competition means they drive margin to the rafters.
Problem with pulling bushes and redding it is you can no longer burn the heaps. As well I'd you get pulled up on it it's harder to justify. Spray a few times with Grazon 90 of some one complains.
Mulched a few acres of mainly furze here as well last autumn, some of ot on rocky ground. Have to get the Jarmet sprayer certified fir March.
As well the P&K value of the Mmulched has to be factored in as well, yes it will strip N breaking it down but that will be returned, 20 units of Urea in a few weeks will help. A neighbour who bulldozed and burnt about 50 acres 20 years ago told me the land never recovered it was stripped of P&K
it’s expensive